We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Woolpack Inn What a joy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Woolpack Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
ottery st mary
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Woolpack Inn What a joy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I have just spent a two night break at the Woolpack for our wedding anniversary . We were greeted by friendly staff and a warm atmosphere. The room all tho small was clean and comfortable, creaky floors but as others have said it is an old building. The food was very good, and good value. Nice open fire in the bar, The staff led by Craig could not have been more accommodating or helpful and friendly. We felt that they meant what they said and made us feel good, would consider going back if in that area again. The menu was comprehensive and so was the wine list also the bar was well stocked with good beers and served good coffee

Room Tip: Maybe ask if the rooms are larger on different floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark55Ottery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted you enjoyed your anniversary with us. As always we do treasure all comments.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Woolpack again soon. Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    156
    63
    17
    18
See reviews for
69
226
8
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Broadstone
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

My partner and I have just spent 2 nights B&B at the delightful Woolpack Inn in Beckington, Somerset. From the moment we arrived,we were met with a warm, friendly atmosphere and, although we were very early at 1.0 pm, our room was ready for us. And, what a room - with a huge bed, comfy sofa and arm chairs, writing desk., big wall TV, roomy wardrobe and chest of drawers, it was more like a mini suite. With attractive decor, a spotless,beautifully warm bathroom and crisp white bed linen it was a room which could be really enjoyed for a longer period. We also had a beautiful old cast iron fireplace, which looked Victorian or even earlier.
The two breakfasts we had there were served by smiling waitresses and were varied, plentiful and beautifully cooked with nice warm toast and unlimited really good coffee. We had an evening meal there on the Friday, which was very good, chosen from a varied menu and accompanied by a bottle of wine at a reasonable price. We had booked the table for 6.0pm and by 6.30pm the dining rooms and bar were full, so we enjoyed our meal to the accompaniment of a happy buzz of conversation and laughter all around us.
The inn itself dates from 1851and was originally three cottages, later becoming a coaching inn. Many of the original features have been retained, such as slate flagged floors and open fires which really add to the cosy atmosphere in the bar.
The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful and, when we left on Sunday, the manager even brought our suitcases down and took them out to the car! This is an inn I would recommend to anyone and we shall certainly be staying again in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We had room 11 which is overlooking the quiet village street
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, All the staff were very pleased to read your comments. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon, Craig and all at the Woolpack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I only stayed one night, wish it had been more, the staff were very friendly and helpful, The room was tiny but clean, there is free wifi, which for me is an essential.It is an ancient building, the floors creak and there are turns and twists and low headroom, it's part and parcel of this place. The breakfast was probably the best I have had in an establishment of this type, there is a buffet and a menu, choices, and it was relatively cheap.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ceejay01Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you for your recent review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and appreciate the characteristics of the building. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely few days staying here, the staff really made us feel welcome.
Very helpful with places to visit, bus times etc.
The food was fabulous and such food value,
Ate here every night so much to choose from.
perfect base for a little girly shopping in bath will definitely book again in the very near future, well done!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krazeekate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We all look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Friendly, beautiful location with miles of character. Wonderful breakfast cooked to order. Would definitely stay again. The staff were very friendly, lots of country walks around the village. The bedding and beds were very comfortable and of a very good quality.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiadays906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, I will ensure they are passed onto the staff. We all look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed in the woolpack while working in Trowbridge , full of character and with friendly staff ,rooms were of a nice standard , loft rooms although full of character are head bumping if your not careful , breakfast in the price was really good and a good choice of hot n cold food , evening meals were also really good and good value , hope I work near there again soon

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mattys46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. We do work hard to ensure every guest feels the same. Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I came to your pub today. We had a garlic bread share thing with olives, the wife had the smoked chicken liver pate and I had the most tastiest burger with bacon and stilton.....oh boy. Washed down with a couple of pints of my favourite Stowford. Brilliant food, brilliant service(I find it somewhat rude when waiting staff come back to the table during a meal and ask if everything is ok? In my opinion if the customer is munching on then assume everything is ok and not intrude. A customer would soon let you know if something was wrong surely!)
Anyway this never occurred, good on you. Whats more my food was fantastic and enough to put me to sleep for a couple of hours when I got home. Food that can put you to sleep in my thoughts is worth the money. Your staff were polite and engaged with customers. See you next week.....haha

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smithfivezero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, I am delighted you enjoyed your food. Our burger is a very popular dish! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckington
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Frome Hotel
5.5 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.5 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Premier Inn Trowbridge Hotel
2.8 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#7 of 32 in Frome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolpack Inn

Property: The Woolpack Inn
Address: 2 Warminster Road | nr Bath, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Beckington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolpack Hotel Beckington
The Woolpack Inn Beckington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing