We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value”
Review of The Woolpack Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Woolpack Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed for just two nights on a short break offer. We had an attic room which was quaint with beams but no head injuries. Staff were all capable, and friendly and helped make it a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Stairs are steep to the second floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomtite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    168
    66
    19
    19
See reviews for
79
235
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Looe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 20, 2012

After enjoying a mini break at the sister property in Devon, Buckfastleigh, we booked a two night break in February at the Woolpack.

The location is ideal for exploring bath with a convenient bus just 40 mins journey.

The room was not easy to access, as it was in the roof space, and the bathroom small - that said, it was clean and comfortable.

The welcome, staff and food were all excellent.

Room Tip: If you are elderly, ask for a room on the first level as the roof-space rooms have steep stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2012

I stayed at the hotel with my wife last week on a newspaper deal, and what a fantastic deal it was.
A wonderful breakfast followed by a lovely stroll around the village in the sunshine.
The staff were friendly and helpful with bus times into bath, a real credit to the business well done, and good luck to Craig and Jilly with their application you certainly deserve it.
Will definitely be back and will be trying other old English inns, hope they all live up the standard we experienced here.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pickypete11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 22, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

We stayed here through an offer in the paper. Lovely room. Bathroom could of done with a little more of a rub down, but that might just be me. Was rudely awoken by the telephone at 615. Informed staff but they weren't sure why it happened. Breakfast was lovely. Staff were very friendly. Bus service into bath is really good service. 2 bus companies running hourly buses.£10.40 for 2 returns with fairsaver buses. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PuddingElephant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, we always appreciate all your feedback at Old English Inns and constantly work hard to deliver service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Inns soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We stayed at the Woolpack for 2 nights break, the staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and clean, the towels were huge and fluffy! We had the 2 for £9.95 bar meals...excellent value. Breakfast was wonderful, so much choice and as mentioned in a previous review, the toast was out of this world!

Will definetely return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel. At Old English Inns we really value every one of our customer’s comments. Thank you for taking the time to post your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 2, 2012

My sister and I stayed in room 7 last weekend and found it warm and comfortable - we loved the old beams. Breakfasts were excellent and the staff very friendly and helpfull, especially Jacqi. Thankyou. We caught the bus each day into Bath but still made time to explore Beckington - an attractive village full of history. The village web site is very interesting - 7 pages on the history! We would certainly visit again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7 on a saturday and Sunday night and found it quiet and restfull.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karenicklingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Totally agree with Tracku2 comments. Everything was good, very pleasant and helpful young staff and good atmosphere in the bar and restaurant. Same difficulties with similar room in the eaves. We are both less than 6' tall but the sloping roof over the bath made showering very awkward.

Room Tip: just be aware that the headheight is very restricted in certain rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank splatterscreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Owner at The Woolpack Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Thank you for your feed back on your recent stay at our Old English Inn. We value all your comments, and take them on board to offer the best service and value. We look forward to welcoming you back to one of our Old English Inns in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beckington
5.5 mi away
The George at Nunney
The George at Nunney
#1 of 1 in Nunney
466 reviews
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Beckington
Travelodge Beckington
#1 of 2 in Beckington
174 reviews
5.0 mi away
Travelodge Warminster
Travelodge Warminster
#2 of 3 in Warminster
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Centurion Hotel
5.8 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Parsonage House
Old Parsonage House
#1 of 4 in Beckington
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Woolpack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Woolpack Inn

Property: The Woolpack Inn
Address: 2 Warminster Road | nr Bath, Beckington, Frome BA11 6SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Frome > Beckington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Beckington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Woolpack Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Woolpack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Woolpack Hotel Beckington
The Woolpack Inn Beckington, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing