We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a find! What a gem!”

Review of Well Cottage

Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Woodburner in the living room Well Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Living room
Woodburner in the living room
Well Cottage
Kitchen
Kitchen with seating for 4+
Double bedroom with king-size bed
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Twin bedroom
Bathroom
Courtyard garden
Courtyard garden
The well in the undercroft
White Horse at Westbury
Feeding the deer at Longleat
View north from Cley Hill (NT)
Scuba Diving at Vobster Quay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Beckington, Frome, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jane S
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find! What a gem!”
Reviewed November 18, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We came across this cottage late and booked a weekend. What a find! If you want to stay self-catering in this area this is the place. A cosy, two-bedroomed cottage with a log burner (some logs were provided though we did buy some more locally) so well equipped that it was more than a home from home!
We weren't there long enough to enjoy all the boxed games provided, nor watch the dvds nor read the numerous books. After two days out and about in the beautiful surrounding area we were happy to curl up in front of the fire, i-pads in full use courtesy of the provided wi-fi, and let the dishwater do its work. Think we will just have to go again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was warm on arrival! Uninterrupted wi-fi! Well-equipped kitchen.
Liked least: Arriving in dark and not realising there was a torch provided to see to unlock the boxed key. Took a few minutes to retrieve it. Our fault.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZippyNaom...
Newport Pagnell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming well equipped cottage in lovely village”
Reviewed October 13, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

My husband and I stayed here with another couple for 3 nights. The cottage is tastefully decorated and well equipped with thoughtful touches like a few store cupboard items, free wifi and iPod docking stations. Autumn arrived while we were there but the cottage was cosy and there were extra duvets available (which we didn't need). The beds were very comfortable. It's an easy drive to Bath and there are plenty of nice places to walk nearby. The cottage has a personalised OS map which is really handy.
The village of Beckington is beautiful and both the Foresters Arms and White Row shop, cafe and restaurant are recommended.
The owners were really flexible about check in and out which is a nice change - no rush in the morning, and allowed us to make the most of our mini break.
We would stay here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully presented and well equipped
Liked least: Nothing it was all good
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vickilou
Wolverhampton
2 reviews
“Perfect !”
Reviewed August 30, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed at Well Cottage for 3 nights, cosy, very comfy and full of character, cant wait to go back. Perfect home from home.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajenni53
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautifully warm homely cottage”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I stayed for the week with my daughter and grandson. My grandson is autistic and staying away from home can be a challenge. As soon as we walked into the cottage he responded to the sense of peace that the cottage has and remained settled all week......a first!
The cottage is set in a little village which has its own well stocked farm shop and has a great restaurant on site (grandson loved the play area). There are many attractions within an hour/hour and a half drive. Ones to suit children like Longleat and Cheddar caves and ones for the adults such as Glastonbury and Wells.
The cottage has everything you could want and more. It has been renovated to an outstanding level and retains its original features. The beds are very comfortable and there are little touches everywhere that make all the difference such as stock cubes in the kitchen and Sellotape in the lounge........very handy. There was a problem with the heating when we stayed but we contacted the owner who sorted it out swiftly and efficiently.
I would love to come back. It felt like a home away from home.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda_123...
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A lovely cottage expertly renovated in a great location,very well equipped with everything you need and excellent quality.It really felt very warm and cosy and can imagine nights in with the log burner going.The owners were very accomodating with arrival and depart times and nothing was too much trouble,would stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
janetbris...
Addlestone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A lovely cosy Cottage”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 for a stay in September 2013

A truly lovely and cosy Cottage. It has easy acess to lots of locations around the area.
We have stayed there twice, once in the Summer and again last October as we wanted to experience the burning of the log burner and it certainly didn't disappoint it was lovely.
We like it so much there and the Countryside we are going again this year not sure at the moment which month.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R M
Herefordshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed December 1, 2013 for a stay in November 2013

Stayed at Well Cottage for the weekend 29/30 November with our teenage daughter to visit Bath Christmas markets. A wonderful cottage in a lovely village, 20 mins from Bath. Owner has thought of every little detail to make your stay enjoyable. Very cosy, lovely decor, comfortable beds and wifi included. Visited The Woolpack one evening, which was OK for pub food. Would totally recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The woodburner & wifi
Liked least: Nothing we didn't like!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing