We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovlely quiet hotel Great Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Mesquida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in MAY we arrived late dinner was over but the staff arranged some food for us our room was a garden room in block three very clean and comfortable .
The gardens and pool area was very well kept we enjoyed the afternoon archery target shooting etc and took a trip with hotel guide to joan march gardens we enjoyed it very much well worth a visit.
Not much to do around the resort very quite but that suited us as we were there for a relaxing week went to Cala Ratajada lovely harbour stopped at a resturant called Es Port we had the best apple strudle we have had better than italy it was beautifully served the staff were really helpfull well worh a visit.
The food in the hotel was good always plenty of choice really enjoyed the breakast .
We will go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dreabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (798)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 798 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

Like most other reviewers, we came here as a couple, for peace and relaxation (but above all, for sunshine and warmth, after a very long cold winter in northern Europe), near a nice beach and far from the crowds. Unfortunately we were rather unlucky with the weather and had a week of very variable, chilly, windy, British-style weather, which was a little disappointing to say the least (but not the hotel's fault of course!), as we could hardly use the beach, the sea was too rough and cold to swim in and we never managed to use the hotel pool. I imagine this is unusual weather for Majorca in May (though I don't really know, as I've never been there in May before).

That said, the hotel, as others have said here, is very good, with lovely, spacious suites. We were pleased with our room (ground floor, with a little private garden), though, unfortunately, it was a little cold (the hotel has no heating) and we had to spend some afternoons under the blankets or in a hot bath to keep warm!

We found the staff (at reception and in the dining room) very welcoming, polite and friendly and willing to help out whenever they could, which is very important in a hotel, so well done to them, especially to the kind receptionist who lent me some contact lens solution when I had forgotten to bring mine and the local shops did not sell any.

We were on half-board and found the breakfast buffet to be excellent, with a wide choice of food, fresh fruit and fruit juices and something for everyone, be they health freaks or people who like a good fry-up (try the crêpes and Nutella, too - they're really delicious!!).

The dinner buffet also had a very wide choice and I would call the quality good, though not excellent. When catering for such large numbers of people it is quite difficult for quality to be excellent, in any large hotel. There were one or two vegetarian dishes, which were labelled, and there were others, which appeared to be vegetarian but which were not labelled as such (sometimes labelled as being local, Majorcan cuisine). I did not like the desserts, most of which were very 'industrial', more chemical than natural. Some of the local pastries on the dessert table looked very nice, but unfortunately it was impossible to know whether they were suitable for vegetarians or not (I think they might possibly have contained lard).
The chefs behind the counter did not always know whether the dishes were vegetarian, when asked (though they were always very polite and willing to help) and we felt uncomfortable asking about every dish every time, so perhaps the labelling could be a little better.

So, although on the whole the hotel was great, there were one or two things we appreciated a little less:

- The swimming pool, which we found a little small for the size of the hotel. The sunbeds were placed in a tight circle around the pool, extremely close together, meaning there is no privacy and there are no little tables to place drinks on (although there are some nice-looking, 'romantic' day beds strewn around the lawns).

- The doors at the end of the corridors on the ground floor of our building were always left wide open, even at night, and as the weather was cool and windy during our stay, the corridors became wind tunnels, especially on our last night when the doors were banging all night long during a storm.

- We did not like the system for coffee and tea in the rooms. You have to pay for a (rather expensive) week's supply of coffee and/or tea, if you want it. I do not necessarily want a cup of coffee and/or tea every day, but only when I feel like it, so I do not want to pay upfront for a whole load of coffee capsules or tea bags I might never use. I seem to recall, too, that the only tea on offer was Earl Grey, which I do not like (I prefer normal black tea). It would be much better to have a simple kettle with some nice tea bags and instant coffee (or even better - a coffee machine, as you have now), included in the price of the room.

- On the Thursday of the week we were staying, we went to dinner quite late (8.30 p.m. - the latest you can go is 9 p.m.) and were looking forward to eating our dinner when a lady came to give us a questionnaire about our stay in the hotel. Now, I always fill in questionnaires in hotels, as I like to give feedback, but I don't like to be disturbed when I'm eating. We were apparently expected to fill in the questionnaire there and then. I asked the lady if we could not take it back to our room and fill it in when we had more time and she said no, they needed the forms by 9 p.m. So we were basically expected to fill in a form at the dinner table, instead of eating our dinner in a relaxed manner. That is not right and needs to be changed. You should leave questionnaires in rooms and people will fill them in if they want and when they have time, not when they're trying to eat their dinner.

Obviously, these are all little 'faults' which did not detract from the general good service, professional staff and well-maintained rooms and gardens. We were given some complimentary apples in our room on the second day and a small bottle of cava on our last day, which were very nice gestures and were much appreciated.

So, to all the staff of the Vanity Suite - thank you for making our stay a very pleasant one (it's not your fault the weather was bad!).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppylovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viva h, Gerente at Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Poppylovestravel,

I would like to thank you very much for your extensive and kind review and then simply comment on a couple of points you raised. We are extremely sorry the weather was not particularly pleasant this May, it was indeed colder than in previous years but we certainly do not expect this to repeat itself again. In regards to the heating and air conditioning operation I would like to mention that we have had to continuously switch one system on and the other one off on several occasions to try and meet the requirements of the majority of our guests. Sometimes we would be required to have air conditioning during the central hours of the day and heating later on in the afternoon and early hours in the morning. At some point we even had two different guests requesting simultaneously air conditioning and heating, which we sadly cannot provide at the same time.
I would also like to apologize for the way in which the guest satisfaction survey was presented to you. This survey is carried out by a specialized company which handles the questionnaires independently and then provides us with the results. I will report the incident to the director of this company so that we can prevent this from happening again and continue to use this survey as a tool for improvement.
All the other useful comments have been duly noted and those which cannot be addressed immediately will be considered for the following season as part of our Integrated Management Policy and process of constant ongoing improvement. We sincerely hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

Vicente Requena – Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

A very nice hotel in an unspoilt part of Majorca. We enjoyed our stay here.
Food is excellent, quality, quantity and choice. Small touches like complementary Cava and freshly squeezed orange juice at breakfast make this hotel stand out.
Hotel grounds very well kept.
Rooms are very large and well equipped albeit a little dark due to mature trees which are probably more welcome in mid summer than spring.
Hotel staff all seem to try hard to make guests stay pleasurable.
Outdoor pool very attractive with excellent bar service although a bit cold for us in May so only went in once. Heating would be good.
Made good use of sauna and steam room which were good but could have been hotter and indoor pool / jacuzzis.
Musical Entertainment every night except Wednesday, mainly good although a bit strange that the entertainment is indoors while most of the guests outside.
Guests mainly German, Brits few and far between.
Little irritating that they charge extra for the safe when they provide so much else in the price.
Nice beach but a bit of a fishy smell from the seaweed

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank awe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

My wife and I really love this hotel. It's the best place to relax and enjoy the surroundings. Unfortunately, the hotel only wants adult guest, so unless I find a way to secretly take my newborn with me, last year was my last visit to this little paradise. We came here three years in a row and always enjoyed the Royal Superior rooms (with a private roof terrace with jacuzzi). Hotel is spotless, great food, nice location (rent a car to explore Mallorca) and very nice staff and gardens. Must visit.

Room Tip: Always pick the Royal Superior and book with the hotel (and seperate flight).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeTulp050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

This was a trip for two people without kids lasting a total of 10 days. We rented a car and drove to cala mesquida (one of the best calas in Mallorca - with sand dunes and a nice walking corridor) where the hotel is located. The hotel is at walking distance from the beach.

Installations:
Really nice and relaxing with plenty of optionality. At our arrival they offered us some drinks and several rooms to choose from according to their availability. Nice swimming pool with beds, a Jacuzzi with bubbles, a bar by the pool serving food, cakes, drinks. Parking can be an issue but with a little patience it´s just fine. The main restaurant is big enough with really nice staff. Rating 9.2/10

Staff:
The staff at the hotel were really helpful, friendly and spoke lots of languages. Rating 10/10

Food:
Good variety and quality. Every day there is a theme for dinner (Mexican, Italian, cheese night, etc) so you don’t get bored. A good idea though is to take your car and go to town, where you can find more variety, but the hotel has good things to offer. Breakfast is really good!, specially the hot chocolate  Rating: 8.9/10

Entertainment:
While we waited for dinner-time we could go and have a drink while we played billiard, chess, Nintendo Wii or scrabble. After dinner, there was always a great show: singers, dancers, etc. So we could drink a digestive and watch or continue an unfinished game of chess (which I always lost). Not a lot of dancing those days we were there, but I think this was just coincidence.
In the morning, there are many things to do. We got a list of activities delivered at our room every day: from yoga to spinning, from going on a bike trip to visiting the marketplace, there was always something interesting to do. The gym was a default for me (especially after eating so much every day).
Rating: 10/10

Overall, it was a great experience and we are definitely coming back to this hotel. It is important to say that this hotel is more suited to people without kids as it is very relaxing, no noise and no kids around. Since we booked with travelgangster.com, we got a box of Chocolates waiting for us at home!, that was a perfect ending for this trip, cannot wait for the next one.

Room Tip: Depends, if you rented a car, by the road is better :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Javy1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We were rather put off by the naff name but so glad we went. It was perfect for our needs, we went en famille and had two rooms in the same block, ours a duplex with a roof terrace overlooking the pool complex and the sea in the distance, our kids had a big room on the ground floor with a terrace leading down into the gardens. Despite being full of Germans (we were I think the only Brits in the hotel and probably in the whole of cala mesquida) we never had any trouble finding a sun lounger. Food was great! Buffet style morning and evening, waiter service at lunchtime or (what we did most days) poolside snack bar. The main restaurant has a lovely big terrace in the open air looking over the pool area. Great gardens. Short walk to a sandy beach in a big wide bay with restaurants and cages close by. Staff were friendly and welcoming. Great spa . In short a super, relaxing family holiday.

Room Tip: The duplex apartments with views over the pool area are great - sun decks with hot tubs and great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ian096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed in June this year and I thought this was a great hotel. It's run like clockwork , the team are so professional and know what to do and when to do it.

Rooms are very nice, they're spacious and we had a top floor room 4312 and it was great with a lovely double balcony and space to get away from each other! Food was good and the Gala diner exceptional- the effort to get the event set up was phenomenal . We had a great week and I would return to this hotel. The facilities on offer were just what we wanted, a gym spa and tennis - and no kids. Loved it !

Room Tip: Block four is the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeordieJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cala Mesquida
17.7 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
2,437 reviews
17.2 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,166 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Illa d'Or
Hotel Illa d'Or
#3 of 28 in Port de Pollenca
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
Vanity Hotel Golf
Vanity Hotel Golf
#2 of 50 in Port d'Alcudia
591 reviews
11.4 mi away
Protur Biomar Gran Hotel & Spa
27.3 mi away
Melia Cala d'Or Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa

Address: Diseminado Sa Mesquida s/n, 07589 Cala Mesquida, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Cala Mesquida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Cala Mesquida
Price Range: $155 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa, an only adult hotel, is very close to the Cala Mesquida beach. It's ideal for those want a holiday where exclusivity, harmony and wellness are the most important things. Enjoy all facilities of our spacious rooms, exclusive and delicious cuisine by our chef and the excellent relaxation area offered at our Balneum spa & Wellness Center... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vanity Hotel Suite & Spa Cala Mesquida, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing