We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, little pricey.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jeremiah's - CLOSED

Jeremiah's
Cuisines: Canadian, Fast Food, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, little pricey.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stopped at Jeremiah's on our way to Halifax as we wanted to see the Hartland Bridge.

We were there quite early on a Wednesday evening for dinner and at the time we arrived there were no other people in the restaurant. The place is really nicely done though we were a tad disappointed to find that our table was surrounded by fruit flies almost the instant we sat down. Apparently this is not a normal thing and they had been having some problems for a few days. None the less there isn't really anywhere else to eat in this town so we decided to take our chances.

We ordered Fish & Chips, Pulled pork and a burger. All 3 of us enjoyed our meals. They were absolutely fantastic, perfectly prepared and very tasty. The waitress indicated that the burgers are hand formed and the fish is hand battered and it showed. Our little one could not stop raving about how tasty the fish was. If we find ourselves in this area again we will definitely go back there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank koldriana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stopped in at Jeremiah's after reading the Tripadvisor reviews and seeing its write up in the Official 2014 New Brunswick Travel Guide. Hartland was bustling that particular day, with the Potato Festival in full swing, but there was no one in the restaurant. How is it possible to have such lousy service when there are only two souls present in your establishment? Our server seemed to be very inexperienced ("Awesome", "Amazing".) I am not sure she was old enough to be serving alcohol. When we asked what came on the nachos, the answer was "chicken or cheese". Followup question… What else comes on the nachos? When we asked her about the history of the building; "I think it was an old church." My lunch partner had to track the server down to ask for more napkins. I also think the "B" team was in the kitchen, as our lunches were mediocre for the price. They were served in a plastic basket lined with paper. Too bad. This is an absolutely lovely little venue. It is very clear that someone sank some big money into these renovations. There is even a seriously tricked out little board room in the basement for executive meetings. While we were eating, another employee entered the restaurant and asked our server how many dinner reservations had been made for that night. The answer was one (1).... (We were there on a Saturday.) Note to owners: Your write up at page 27 of the New Brunswick Tourism Guide says 'reservations required'. Did you ever stop to think that those two words are bad for business? Particularly when it is Saturday in tourist season and your restaurant is empty?

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ReginaCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant little suprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We were heading back to Ontario from Newbrunswick as our trip was cut short due to Hurricane Arthur so we were taking the "scenic route" rather than the main highway. We were going to stop in Woodstock for a bite to eat but didn't see anything that suited us so we continued on to the next town and thank goodness we did! We came across this cute little restaurant and walked in to find a fine dining atmosphere! It was a very pleasant suprise after seeing the other restaurant in town where we sat down and got up about 30 seconds later... We walked into Jeremiah's and instantly felt relief as it was somewhere I could eat and enjoy a meal! The entire old Church has been turned into a quaint little spot - even the basement has been completely renovated and has a little conference room.

The service was good but there was only one waitress working - I can understand in a small town like that sometimes they might now have any patrons. This night there happened to be at least 3 or 4 tables at a time

I would definetely reccommend to anyone passing through or lives close - a spot to stop for sure!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We had a great lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This cozy restaurant comes with a bit of history. We had the Lunch special of the day, which was well prepared and tasty. Our enjoyment of the food was complimented by Julieanne ( co-owner), who told us the history of the building, and the renovation process. She may also tell you of the past and current characters who frequent the building. The next time we stop in, we will try the Steak on a Stone, which is only served after 4 pm. Note that Jeremiah's is closed on Sundays.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ronway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great sevice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

hosted a party of 10 and everyone really enjoyed the meal and service. the atmosphere is awesome and the service very welcoming.

you have to try the steak on the hot rock - it is amazing.

Highly recommended, will definitely be back again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Covey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jeremiah's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing