We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tremendous cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
View from the private garden, 11th century church
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the private garden, 11th century church
View from the private garden, 11th century church
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
View from the private garden, 11th century church
View from the private garden, 11th century church
huge garden
Lots of light from the french doors and cosy open fire
Lots of entertain dvd, free sat, net flicks, wifi and some good old traditional board games
Separate bathroom, with sink, shower, toilet and bath
Large kitchen with all amentities
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
St Avit, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
StuFlinne...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tremendous cottage”
Reviewed June 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My wife and I stayed at the cottage in May for one week. What a wonderful stay! The cottage is in a beautiful rural location with a lovely, spacious garden and well maintained pool. St Avit is well located for day trips to Bordeaux, Bergerac, Brantome, St Auberre and countless medieval villages. The cottage itself was impeccably clean and wonderfully well appointed; from an extensive DVD and book collections and coffee machine, to tasteful decor thoughtful touches throughout.

This is a cottage where the owner Sarah and her parents really care about the quality of your stay, the charming welcome hamper (baguette, wine and other basics) is just one touch, but their effort and care is evident in every room. We stayed with our dog Otis and the cottage was ideal for him too - a well secured garden and even dog walking recommendations in the extensive welcome pack.

Would recommend without hesitation and can't wait to stay again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillian P
Pickering, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic cottage in quiet location”
Reviewed September 14, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

St Avit is a very quiet village if you want a get away from it all relaxing holiday. Short drive to ammenities and local attractions. The cottage is beautiful. The photographs do not do it justice. Much larger than we expected and decorated to a very high standard. The linen, towels, pillows etc are of a high quality and the cottage is spotless. Sarah has thought of everything even down to a picnic basket and blanket. Toys and games provided as well as the table tennis and above ground swimming pool. The welcome pack was the best we have every had. Sarah replies to e mails and calls immediately and nothing is too much trouble. we would highly recommend this cottage, and wish Sarah success in her rental business. We especially liked the decked area outside the main bedroom, sun loungers provided.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: decking area outside main bedroom and table tennis
Liked least: garden could be made more private
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mrs Rebec...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for families and fur-babies!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We booked this house for a family holiday with 3 kids and 2 dogs, it was more than roomy enough and very comfortable. Everything you could possibly need is there for you and the house is beautifully decorated with thoughtful touches throughout. The children loved the pool, and so did I. The grown up's favourite was the decking outside the main bedroom, perfect for an evening vino to watch the sunset and listen to the crickets.
The local area has some fantastic leisure lakes with free canoes at nearby Lac Jemaye. Loved Chalais town and Riberac market on Friday morning is well worth a visit.
All communication with Sarah was helpful and very prompt, we wish her all the best with her venture.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen P
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely, well-equipped house in a beautiful, peaceful hamlet.”
Reviewed August 23, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had a fabulous week at St Avit. The house was lovely. Very thoughtfully equipped with board games and inflatables for the pool etc. It is in a beautiful and peaceful setting, but close enough to several swimming lakes and rivers so there's a lot to do, although we enjoyed just staying at the house and relaxing some days. Our boys particularly loved playing in the pool.
The owner has been extremely helpful with quick responses to any questions and left a generous welcome basket. Altogether a lovely place, just what we wanted for our family holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unexpected en-suite shower room for main bedroom, loads of lovely towels. Beautiful area
Liked least: Slightly leaky shower in en-suite..but not a major problem.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew C
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent rural house close to all amenities with everything you need”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just arrived back from our 12 night stay in St Avit a very lovely house we arrived to find a spotless property and a much appreciated welcome basket full of goodies the house is only 5 minutes from a lidi store and 10 minutes from la chalais by car. The house is much bigger than we thought all the fixtures and fittings are all modern as our weather temperatures we up in the high 30 the pool was a added bonus we would definitely recommend it to family and friends ,thank you Sarah for your prompt reply 's to emails etc when booking . And to Christine your mum who delivered clean bedding and cleaned the pool ,we are sure your rentle property will be a success. Helen& Andrew carter Trowbridge Wiltshire .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet but still close to everything
Liked least: The view could be better maybe
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amy k
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful little cottage”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

After a very long drive we arrived at the cottage and were blown away with how lovey it really is, the pictures do not do it justice. the owner Sarah had provided us with a welcome bastket that was perfect for us (wine, bread, cheese and coffee) . There were also added extras guide books, french dictonary and plug adptor that helped us with our stay.
Iam lookin forward to returning to this cottage very soon and would reccomend it to everyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CTH&PGR
Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Stunning, peaceful & great location!”
Reviewed May 11, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful short stay in this beautiful property. It had everything we needed for a comfortable stay and the garden is private, well kept and really relaxing. We're already looking forward to staying again when the pool is ready - it will be great on a summers day!!! We only had a short stay on the way through but we're pleased we picked this property and area and now wish we'd stayed a bit longer!! Fully recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing