We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An excellent holiday home, great for all the...”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Appledore, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
183christ...
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Views over the Torridge Estuary”
Reviewed September 22, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed at The Yardarm many years ago so decided to visit it again, and it is still a very charming open plan cottage with beautiful views across the Torridge Estuary. Three good sized bedrooms, two doubles and one twin. Downstairs is a room (without windows) which has a bunk bed which is OK for children as long as you leave a light on or door open otherwise it can be very dark. Beds very comfortable, both over bath showers very powerful. However, the cottage is in need of some TLC, wardrobes didn't close properly and there was damp and mould in the downstairs bedroom by the patio door.
For a property that sleeps 8 (plus a dog) there is very little cupboard space available in the kitchen for your own food/supplies, this is because of the abundance of equipment supplied, i.e. wine glasses, mugs, plates, etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The constant changing views and comfort of the cottage.
Liked least: Lack of cupboard space in kitchen.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
144honest...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent holiday home, great for all the family”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Situated in one of Appledore's historic streets, with riverside views and within walking distance of all of Appledore's pubs, restaurants, car parks, museums etc.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: river view
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maggi988
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“comfortable with excelent accomodation for the extened family,with a great view”
Reviewed March 1, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Appledore has more than you might think with some tea shops and other shops of interest which you can walk to. We had a delicious breakfast on Monday morning. Although the heating wasn't working properly when we arrived . Somebody came out within 30 minutes. Just a minor point.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: enough space and facilities so we did not neeed to be all in one room. There were a few toys books and games which was helpful
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dirtmothe...
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good decision”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We live in a landlocked county and it was on this basis - that our primary need on holiday was for the sea - that we decided to bust our budget for what might be our last nuclear family holiday (teenagers growing up). It turned out not just to be an 'investment in memories' but a sound financial decision too as the house and location was so good that we spent less on other aspects of the holiday.
We had been concerned about the parking situation but a week's parking in the nearby carpark was a reasonable price and we could see our car from the house (and were able to park a little nearer for unloading) The only time we had trouble parking was when we arrived back in Appledore smack in the middle of the World Crabbing Championships. There are also regular buses from this car park.
Plenty going on in Appledore. The best chips we have ever eaten - we are still talking about them a year later. Lots of little shops to poke about in. The local shop and deli are useful and we enjoyed their takeaway platters... eaten in prime location ie back at the house.
We were also a little anxious about a place with no garden and a dog but there was a suitable 'beach' a few doors along and first thing in the morning and last thing at night were some of the most pleasant and sociable times I've had with other dog owners.
A nice relaxed unfussy house - not lots of notices. There are few caveats. Firstly the internal bedroom - we took a relative who was getting a free change of scenery to write and run in return for dog sitting so we could do a boat trip and he was forewarned about this but there are no windows in this room, so some might like to take a nightlight, and the washing machine is in this room. There was also no tumble dryer which can be useful for an English seaside holiday.
We disliked the agency, Helpful Holidays, through which we booked and we were pleased to see that The Yardarm is no longer with them.
When I encounter stressful times since our holiday there, I close my eyes and imagine myself back on the balcony watching the tide go in and out.

Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
144honest...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An excellent river side holiday home”
Reviewed August 11, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A well appointed and comfortable house situated on Appledore's most famous street overlooking the river estuary and within easy walking distance of pubs and restaurants

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A house with a view - and so much more!”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Appledore Yardarm is a great property and is probably the best holiday rental I've ever stayed in! The overwhelming first impression is the fabulous views of the constantly changing estuary. Having said that, the house is beautifully presented and extremely well-equipped and furnished both inside and out. We were an extended family (three generations) and the layout on three floors admirably suited us. It would work equally well for two families.
Appledore is a charming village with plenty of places to eat plus a small supermarket, deli, pubs and cafes. There are also many art and craft shops to visit. There are no cashpoints in the village but money can be obtained at the the post office in the deli and cashback from the store. There are plenty of banks in Bideford which is only 10 minutes on the bus. We did not use a car, there are three buses an hour to Barnstaple and beyond, but you would need to drive to explore further afield
The best thing about the house is being able to go crabbing from the terrace, our grandson loved this. There was nothing I disliked.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing