We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food lover's heaven”
Review of Johns of Appledore

Johns of Appledore
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Appledore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food lover's heaven”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

If you love good food at a good price - John's will make you very happy. We called in for a late lunch at the weekend after visiting the town, the service was great, the staff were happy and welcoming and the food was fabulous - in quality, portion size and presentation. I had the Smoked Trout Pate and haven't stopped thinking about it since. It was a highlight of the holiday. There are lots of places to eat in Appledore - we only visited John's, so I can't compare it to others, but if you do go you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arjohns_12, Owner at Johns of Appledore, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Still thinking about the local smoked trout pate?! Thank you for your compliments about our food and our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    72
    28
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just Go!”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just spent a week in Appledore and enjoyed John's offering every day - good coffee, great lunches and wonderful quiches and pies to take away. The staff are very friendly and the location on the quay is ideal. Don't pass by - go - and tell them we sent you! You will not be disappointed, this cafe and deli are well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldTravellers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arjohns_12, Owner at Johns of Appledore, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Delighted that your daily visits to our deli and café were such an essential and enjoyable part of your stay in Appledore - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch on quayside”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Visited Johns of Appledore and had a lovely lunch.

The staff were great and very attentive and helpful.

Food was lovely, locally sourced and very tasty, even the soft drinks were produced in Devon and were refreshing with bags of taste.

Very relaxing lunch in a lovely location. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kdr5358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arjohns_12, Owner at Johns of Appledore, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed delicious local produce served by our enthusiastic team. We agree that the Luscombe fruit drinks really are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What gem”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a top quality baguette and cake from the delicatessen. A real unexpected gem in Appledore and the staff were also really friendly- and happy for us to take two very hot dogs in the cafe; although we decided on the takeaway lunchin the end. The baguettes were probably the best we have tasted - and we have tasted a few !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lucitess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arjohns_12, Owner at Johns of Appledore, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments and we're delighted you enjoyed your lunch made by our friendly team. As experienced baguette tasters, any ideas for a new filling would be happily received!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

what can i say ?lovely meal,lovely food, and a great shop.
we just went to Appledore for a little walk, we said we would just go in for a drink, but on seeing the menu you could not just have a drink, the hard bit was deciding what to have,
well worth a visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnEnglandSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arjohns_12, Owner at Johns of Appledore, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks, Lynn. Please tell all your friends and family about us! You may like to know that from Sat 20th July 2013 we'll be open 6-8pm in the evenings for drinks and planks of delicious quality sourced produce nearly all from the Westcountry. All available as a take-out if you want to sit on the quayside, beach or at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johns of Appledore also viewed

 

Been to Johns of Appledore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing