We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just Go!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Johns of Appledore

Johns of Appledore
Ranked #7 of 11 Restaurants in Appledore
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Sheffield
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just Go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Just spent a week in Appledore and enjoyed John's offering every day - good coffee, great lunches and wonderful quiches and pies to take away. The staff are very friendly and the location on the quay is ideal. Don't pass by - go - and tell them we sent you! You will not be disappointed, this cafe and deli are well worth a visit

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SheffieldTravellers9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arjohns_12, Owner at Johns of Appledore, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Delighted that your daily visits to our deli and café were such an essential and enjoyable part of your stay in Appledore - thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    64
    27
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great lunch on quayside”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Visited Johns of Appledore and had a lovely lunch.

The staff were great and very attentive and helpful.

Food was lovely, locally sourced and very tasty, even the soft drinks were produced in Devon and were refreshing with bags of taste.

Very relaxing lunch in a lovely location. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kdr5358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arjohns_12, Owner at Johns of Appledore, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed delicious local produce served by our enthusiastic team. We agree that the Luscombe fruit drinks really are the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We had a top quality baguette and cake from the delicatessen. A real unexpected gem in Appledore and the staff were also really friendly- and happy for us to take two very hot dogs in the cafe; although we decided on the takeaway lunchin the end. The baguettes were probably the best we have tasted - and we have tasted a few !!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lucitess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arjohns_12, Owner at Johns of Appledore, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your comments and we're delighted you enjoyed your lunch made by our friendly team. As experienced baguette tasters, any ideas for a new filling would be happily received!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

what can i say ?lovely meal,lovely food, and a great shop.
we just went to Appledore for a little walk, we said we would just go in for a drink, but on seeing the menu you could not just have a drink, the hard bit was deciding what to have,
well worth a visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lynnEnglandSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arjohns_12, Owner at Johns of Appledore, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks, Lynn. Please tell all your friends and family about us! You may like to know that from Sat 20th July 2013 we'll be open 6-8pm in the evenings for drinks and planks of delicious quality sourced produce nearly all from the Westcountry. All available as a take-out if you want to sit on the quayside, beach or at home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic local homecooked food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I have been coming to Johns of Appledore for a long while, I wouldn't buy my bread, cakes and local food anywhere else. When I have visitors I always take them to this highly recommended cafe. Everything is local produce and prepared on the premises. The staff are always more than helpful and friendly. They do the best chocolate brownies I have ever tasted! And a limited edition every month, don't go without trying one! would whole heartedly recommend this pleasant and tasty deli/cafe.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Beanbag024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arjohns_12, Owner at Johns of Appledore, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thanks for sharing your comments - your experiences at Johns are what we want all our customers to have when they visit. Really appreciate your recommendations to others too. Just to keep you tempted, our brownie of the month for August will be raspberry cheesecake - yum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johns of Appledore also viewed

 
Appledore, Devon
 

Been to Johns of Appledore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing