We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,Quiet & Wonderful Hosts.”
Review of Raleigh House

Raleigh House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appledore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Raleigh House
Ranked #4 of 4 Appledore B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We were looking for a place to stay out of season in Appledore and after reading the reviews on this site Raleigh House seemed to fit the bill. And it was a good choice - the reviews are spot on with a very cosy and private bedroom, ensuite and separate lounge area on the 3rd floor (stairs may be a bit steep for the older / less mobile visitor) ensuring we had a very comfortable stay. Val and Paul made us most welcome - they were friendly & helpful without being obtrusive - and the breakfast they serve up is great. and kept us going all day. Perfect hosts!
The house location is great for wandering off around Appledore on foot and as a base for exploring further afield was great.
A short drive to Instow and a hot Pasty fresh from the village store eaten on the beach was ace. A bit further afield to Braunton and the wide open spaces and massive sand dunes was worth the hike from the car park. Just a short drive out along the North Coast toward Clovelly - we stopped at Buck Mills on Val's advice - and had a great walk through the small village and down onto a deserted beach where we watched dolphins in the bay. Fish and Chips from the chippy on the Quayside in Bideford are also worth a go. Raleigh House with Paul and Val - Thoroughly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkSteveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 20 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is exactly as described by other visitors on tripadvisor and was the reason I chose this place instead of other b and b in the area. The room was exceptionally clean, comfortable and relaxing. Having the whole floor to oneself, including the extra room with settees, TV and fridge gave extra privacy. The breakfast was excellent, all fresh ingredients and expertly cooked.

The location is great, a very short walk to the quay, shops and galleries. Will definately return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2010

What can I say, my wife and I wanted a couple days away at the last minute, we found Raleigh House on the internet and sent an email asking about vacancies, we were lucky they answered straight away having a vacancy for the dates we wanted.
You have the converted attic space to yourself in immaculate condition with a comfortable lounge as well as the en suite double bedroom. the breakfast was one best we have ever had and nothing was too much trouble.
We will be booking again and look forward our next visit

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrandmrsheard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2010

Excellent place to stay, great location, quiet and clean, perfect in every way. Owners extremely friendly and helpful. Breakfast superb fresh fruit platter, cereals and full english freshly cooked to our liking, Choose this place for your stay in Appledore you will not be disappointed. Amanda

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amandacaroleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

We decided to take a short break in Appledore to 'get away from it' for a couple of days and saw Raleigh House on tripadvisor. Commensurate with the previous reviews, this B&B is immaculate, warm and very friendly. Paul made us feel so comfortable and his breakfasts were, 'the best'. All locally sourced, fresh and cooked to perfection. This B&B is more like a small flat with a very comfortable bedroom en-suite and a sitting room with Bang and Olufsen TV, fridge, tea and coffee and a selection of books. If you are looking to stay in North Devon, look no further than Raleigh House..

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2009

We simply can't say enough good things about Raleigh house, visiting family in Appledore we couldn't have picked a more perfect place to stay. Very central and easy to find. Paul & Val were the perfect hosts, breakfast was execellent and the suite homely and welcoming.

We look forward to staying here again next year.

Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank ruth048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2009

Raleigh House is a one couple B&B which occupies the upper floor of the dwelling with views of the Appledore estuary. The spacious bedroom and modern en-suite bathroom would, taken alone, qualify this B&B as first class, but there is the added bonus of a separate living room with two sofas, flat screen TV and full tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast consisted of very generous servings of fresh fruit salad and yogurt as a prelude to an excellent full English. Valerie and Paul could not have been more friendly or gracious hosts. Raleigh House is situated close to shops and to several excellent restaurants which, not suprisingly, specialise in fresh fish. One word of warning; we drove to Padstowe, specifically to sample Rick Stein's famous fish & chips. However, consuming a Rick Stein fish & chip lunch on top of a Raleigh House breakfast was not the smartest move we've ever made. Best to delay the fish & chips until dinner. We greatly enjoyed our three night sojourn at Appledore, due in large part to the comfort and hospitality we found at Raleigh House. If there is a better B&B in the UK we would love to hear about it!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill_Lynda_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Raleigh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raleigh House

Address: 9 Myrtle Street, Appledore EX39 1PH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Appledore
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Appledore
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Raleigh House Appledore, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing