We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mudgee overnight”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Apple Bar - CLOSED

Apple Bar
Cuisines: Australian, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Mudgee overnight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Returning from a two day ride out to Mudgee, we stopped in at the Bilpin Apple Bar for a late lunch. Booked in advance. Table for 8 ready and waiting for us at 2pm when we arrived. Ordering of drinks then delivery of drinks before food order was taken, meant that food took noticeably longer than we would have preferred. But once the food arrived everyone forgot about the delay and got stuck into it. Service was good and delivered with a smile. Always a pleasure to see a genuine smile on the face of waitresses. Meal, deserts and coffee were all good. Nobody complained and everyone enjoyed their meal. Well done.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SimonWild_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    49
    23
    22
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bathurst Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Keep driving by!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband, daughter and myself visited in October 2012. We decided to stop off on our way to Sydney and I wish we'd just kept going up the road. We waited patiently at the door to be seated while the staff fluffed over each other. There was one other set of patrons sitting inside and one set outside. They handed us A4 paper print out menus that were creased and we ordered drinks and a pizza to share. The cappuccinos are supplied in the worlds smallest cups and wasn't really worth writing home about. After a 15-20 minute wait, the pizza (which cost over $20) finally came to our table. It was cheese and pepperoni on a crust which was burnt at one end. The dough would have been nice if they cooked it properly but this was the only compliment I can give.

I like the idea of the juice cocktails that they do, but if what I experienced is reflective of their their portions and performance with alcohol - count me out! The decor is all very nice, but means nothing if the meal is no good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank missell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best steak over the mountains...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Be prepared for what could be two polar opposite experiences at Apple Bar. The week day experience where service is excellent, the food competent and the setting lovely - best enjoyed on a Friday at lunch time while travelling through the mountains on to the central tablelands.

The second experience involves a packed, frantic weekend lunch or dinner. Service can be slow and there is more chance of hit and miss with the food. But it is to be expected that the most popular place in Bilpin with excellent wood fired Pizza's and even better Steaks.

So my suggestion is go in a quieter time, not during the weekend if you can.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DanaDrury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service terrible - food great”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

An interesting experience - food very nice but the service was a disgrace - served warm water when we asked for water, 50 minutes after ordering one member of the party received their main course - another member of the party received theirs 15 minutes later and they forgot about mine - apologised and we then waited another 15 mins before receiving it - after the other two of the party had finished their meal. The waitress did not bring pepper or salt - it has to be asked for and was noisily plonked on the table. When it came to pay the bill we were given the wrong one. They charge Sydney two hat restaurant prices but do not know how to look after guests. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank brushford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Food great but prepare for the wait”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We visited Apple Bar on the recommendation of our B&B. There is a pretty consistent theme in many of the reviews of Apple Bar and we'd have to agree. The food is lovely. We started with some excellent mussels, which we shared (you'll struggle to eat the serve on your own) and they were delivered promptly. We then had the pizzas, but there was a very long delay for them to arrive. This could have been lessened by the waiters who walked past us on many occasions letting us know how long they would take, or by suggesting that our empty glasses could be recharged if we liked (it does mean more income after all) but no, we just sat there. We knew it was busy, you just don't want to be ignored. As I said above, the food is worth it when it arrives but you are very hungry by the time it gets there.

By all means go, the food is worth it and there is a nice vibe, but be prepared for a long wait and pretty ordinary service. We didn't complain at all about the wait, we complimented them on the food and we left a tip as they were kind enough to put our left-over pizza in a takeaway box, but as we left our waitress ignored us as we walked right past her. It's a service industry, but it's the food that keeps people coming here I would suggest.

Helpful?
2 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Apple Bar also viewed

Bilpin, Blue Mountains
Kurrajong Heights, Hawkesbury Valley
 
Kurrajong Heights, Hawkesbury Valley
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing