We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience the old West and an amazing Gold mine tour for family”

Eldorado Canyon Mine Tours
Ranked #2 of 4 things to do in Nelson
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Experience the old West and an amazing Gold mine tour for family”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was the highlight of our trip to Nevada and Arizona. It is an easy 45 minute drive to the mine and a most interesting town. It is in the middle of nowhere and feels like you are stepping into the past.
Tony and Bobbie, the owners, have gathered artifacts and amazing stories of this area and the people who mined this site. They keep this at the main building at a museum that is easily viewed.
Call ahead for a reservation as it was busy when we visited the mine. We took the walking mine tour and highly recommend this easy and interesting tour. Our tour guide had amazing facts and stories as we toured the underground mine, making this our most unusual activity and most enjoyable.
Get out of Vegas, if you are in NV and experience the amazing beauty and history of this part of the southwest US.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CanadaKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    20
    1
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“fun time”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a fun time and enjoyed not only the tour but the trip through the desert to get there, as well. Not sure about how accurate all of their geological information is, but overall they provided some good information. They also have lots of unusual items that have been collected, as well as lots of stories about famous people and movies that have been there. I would definitely recommend this trip, and don't forget to stop and explore some of the desert on the way. There is Lake Mead National Recreation Area on one side (Lake Mojave) and some BLM land on the other side.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Lance G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City, Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Experience The Old West!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013

What a way to spend a day away from Las Vegas. Beautiful scenery and history along with an entertaining and knowledgeable tour guide. Right from our approach I was in complete awe! can't wait to make a return trip and try out some off-road vehicles and canoeing. Neat place.
Thanks Joe B., you made our trip very special and one we'll always remember.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael1116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury Center, Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Who needs the National Parks go here”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The advantage of having been locked out of the National Parks was that we discovered this wonderful place and the great people who run it. The El Dorado Canyon Mine Tour was a great experience; the tour guide was knowledgeable, funny and a delight to be with. The price is reasonable and the site is full of very interesting items and entertaining history. Going into the mine was awesome. It is a very easy drive from Vegas, just be sure you map it out in advance and watch for the turn because Nelson is a very small place.
Our additional thanks to the staff that came to the rescue of a member of our party that stumbled into a cactus patch and needed some serious assistance.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank patty h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Gold!!!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was such a great place to visit when you just need to get out of vegas for the day. The family that owns the mine runs the entire place. Every time I got out there they have added something new or just improved some things. Allot of movies have been filmed out here as well so some of the movie props are still there for you to see and enjoy.
There is also a lot of tour companies that have this as one of the things you can do or even add to another part of a tour you already have. So go and check them out and tell them Chet sent you.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Chester D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eldorado Canyon Mine Tours also viewed

 

Been to Eldorado Canyon Mine Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing