We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to go back to an old favourite”
Review of Barrenjoey House

Barrenjoey House
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Palm Beach
Price range: $19 - $75
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great to go back to an old favourite”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I havent been back to Barrenjoey house for a while. Last time a few years ago, it was a 2 hour wait for food on mothers day! Anyway we went there for a couples mid-week escape for lunch. The food was great, the atmosphere fantastic, the staff warm and friendly. It reminded me what a great place this is. Relax, chill and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FBendall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    97
    38
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I were looking for somewhere to have a coffee at 11.25 am last Sunday. A staff member at Barranjoey House (which claims to be a cafe as well as a restaurant) said they were fully booked as it was Fathers Day. We pointed out that we only wanted a coffee and would be finished well before the lunch bookings arrived. He told me that "the world doesn't revolve around you". I see that a number of other reviewers have found the staff to be rude and I would have to agree. I was also puzzled that somewhere claiming to be a cafe didn't open earlier than 11.30 am for morning coffee/tea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cracking little Restaurant”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are going for a day out along the beaches of Sydney stop of here, sit outside and order up yourself some superb seafood. Once again I could resist have half a dozen oysters to start. Had a wonderful mixed seafood grille washed sown with a couple of beers. We sat outside on the not too busy road and watched the world go by, this kind of experience could almost persuade me to move there permanently. Staff were very efficient too, what a great place to stop off and eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkMac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, amazing location”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First time to Barrenjoeys but hopefully not the last. Service was excellent as was the food. To top it off the views from the restaurant were beautiful, helped by lovely warm sunshine. Highly recommend a visit whilst exploring Palm Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wez240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 427 helpful votes
“Picturesque & Tasty....”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I were driving around the Whale and Palm Beach area and happened upon Pittwater and Barrenjoey House where we had the pleasure of lunch 18 July.
is a wonderful spot to stop. The view from the restaurant is picturesque, the service good and the food quite tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YYZGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrenjoey House also viewed

Palm Beach, Pittwater
 
Whale Beach, Pittwater
Palm Beach, Pittwater
 
Avalon Beach, Pittwater
 

Been to Barrenjoey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing