We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rude Staff”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Barrenjoey House

Barrenjoey House
Reserve with
Barrenjoey House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Palm Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
338 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Rude Staff”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I were looking for somewhere to have a coffee at 11.25 am last Sunday. A staff member at Barranjoey House (which claims to be a cafe as well as a restaurant) said they were fully booked as it was Fathers Day. We pointed out that we only wanted a coffee and would be finished well before the lunch bookings arrived. He told me that "the world doesn't revolve around you". I see that a number of other reviewers have found the staff to be rude and I would have to agree. I was also puzzled that somewhere claiming to be a cafe didn't open earlier than 11.30 am for morning coffee/tea.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amp-qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    94
    36
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cracking little Restaurant”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

If you are going for a day out along the beaches of Sydney stop of here, sit outside and order up yourself some superb seafood. Once again I could resist have half a dozen oysters to start. Had a wonderful mixed seafood grille washed sown with a couple of beers. We sat outside on the not too busy road and watched the world go by, this kind of experience could almost persuade me to move there permanently. Staff were very efficient too, what a great place to stop off and eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkMac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service, amazing location”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

First time to Barrenjoeys but hopefully not the last. Service was excellent as was the food. To top it off the views from the restaurant were beautiful, helped by lovely warm sunshine. Highly recommend a visit whilst exploring Palm Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wez240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
153 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Picturesque & Tasty....”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and I were driving around the Whale and Palm Beach area and happened upon Pittwater and Barrenjoey House where we had the pleasure of lunch 18 July.
is a wonderful spot to stop. The view from the restaurant is picturesque, the service good and the food quite tasty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YYZGuy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains National Park, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“fantastic food, excellent service and beautiful atmosphere”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

hello

There were three of us celebrating a birthday with lunch. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome. The service by Jenny, obviously very experienced , was helpful and thoughtful. We really appreciated her calm, relaxed and attentive service. This service was not overly pretentious ..for which we were grateful. ( personally the pretentious style makes me feel uncomfortable..as if the restaurant is doing the client a favour by simply allowing them to enter their hallowed portals). Now for the food, we had the pork slider which was amazing..creative presentation, scallops..delicious and scampi an absolute knockout. The seafood platter was obligingly adjusted for us with extra fish. The restaurant including the chef appear very flexible in allowing variations to their dishes. Deserts - we had the blood orange sorbet which was delicately tasteful, afogato ,and pear and rhubard crumble. The crumble on top needs a bit of attention..not cooked long enough and a bit soft and doughy. But considering the food over-all I did not feel this a sufficient issue to stop me rating food as five!

Others have written about the wonderful setting.

Once we decided we were going to have champagne (moet was on special and it was one of those significant birthdays!!) I didnt really have a good look at the wine menu so cannot really comment..though there seemed a good choice except for sticky desert wine (not so popular now I imagine so only a minor point).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ozsolo53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrenjoey House also viewed

Palm Beach, Pittwater
 
Whale Beach, Pittwater
Palm Beach, Pittwater
 
Palm Beach, Pittwater
 

Been to Barrenjoey House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing