We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Switzerland as we remember it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Schorta's Hotel Alvetern
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardez
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Switzerland as we remember it!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

A wonderful place for alpine walking with a comfortable and hospitable hotel to return to!
We only stayed one night on our way through from France to Austria but will be back.
We were greeted by a very charming English speaking host and shown to a very comfortable,modern room on the top floor with a wonderful view.
We ate in the hotel... The food was good and simple... The host's mother very charming also.
The surrounding area is very beautiful and uncluttered by the inevitable detritus of progress.
Australians take note this region is Perisher on steroids for walkers!

Room Tip: Top floor with balcony... No lift but host more than happy to help with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank europhileSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
225 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a lovely hotel towards the top of a very pretty village. We had a type A room, with a small sitting area outside and a view of the mountains on the other side of the valley. The room was a good size, with simple but stylish design, especially in the bathroom with its grey, black and silver. The walk-in shower was excellent. The lighting was good enough to read by, the flat-screen TV worked well and the sound insulation from other rooms was almost perfect (and next door had a toddler, which was a good test). We liked the communal tea corner, the supply of fresh fruit in a bowl on the landing, the library with comfortable tub chairs and the free computer (although the WiFi seemed to work very well in the room). Breakfast was a very good Swiss buffet, with fresh fruit salad, a selection of teas and boiled eggs. As other reviewers have said, you are positively encouraged to take stuff for lunch. Staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, although only the owner speaks more-than-basic English.
Only downsides: very soft pillows (we've come across this before in Switzerland) impossible for us to sleep on and the fact that every Thursday evening seems to be Italian night, which means soup, cold antipasti and a selection of pasta dishes. For most people this would not be a problem but I am wheat-intolerant and would have been hard-pressed to make up a satisfactory meal. At it happens, I was not feeling particularly well that night and made do with a soup anyway.
Oh, and if you arrive on the train, the climb up to the hotel with luggage is a test of fitness, especially since there are many cobbles - best to phone the hotel beforehand and they will happily collect you.

Room Tip: It's worth paying a bit more for a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walking_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We were hiking in the mountains above Ardez and there was too much snow in the pass to continue to the SAC Hut Tuoi, so we made our way down to Ardez. We were soaked to the skin, muddy and unhappy! Fortunately, the Alvetern Hotel had two double rooms available and we arrived on their doorstep to the MOST wonderful welcome! We had our beers outside on the small terrace, and then were offered the best possible welcome: newspaper to put in our sodden boots and the best table in the restaurant! The manager and staff couldn't do enough for us, and despite the fact we were in hiking gear, and not dressed smartly, we were made to feel no different to any other guests.

Dinner was delicious, with a good choice of dishes and wines. The bedrooms were extremely well equipped - I was able to dry my trousers with the aid of the hairdryer! Good showers, comfortable beds and bottles of water.

Breakfast was the usual brilliant Swiss buffet, and we were invited to take food away with us for our lunch - plastic bags, kitchen foil and small bottles of water all provided!

What wonderful service. We would recommend this hotel to anyone walking in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GP432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Though it is a UNESCO World Heritage site, the town of Ardez isn't widely known. That means it's not overrun with tourists and remains a gem for those who love the mountains and hiking and historic towns. The stenciled house exteriors are remarkable, and what gained it the UNESCO status, but the setting is also spectacular. You look out at a small national park and have easy day access to hiking trails that we were not there long enough to take advantage of.

Shorta's is the first main building on the left as you enter town, and parking is right next to it, so it's very easy to find. It seems to be the center of town life, as there were a few locals having a drink in the bar area when we arrived as well as after dinner. However, it is a quiet place--not noisy. Clean, comfortable, modern rooms with traditional mountain pine decor. There is also a little Internet desk and a lovely small library and rooftop terrace--plenty of places to relax.

We had stayed three nights in Grindelwald before Ardez and were rather disappointed in the dinners we got at the place we stayed there. I realize that Swizerland (unlike France and Italy) is not known for its cuisine, but Grindelwald was rather dull for palate. Shorta's Hotel Alvetern also prepared regional food, but the quality and presentation were far nicer. The fresh salad bar was especially appreciated. Breakfast buffets are also of very good quality. The dining room has big picture windows so you can enjoy sunset light on the mountains.

The owners are friendly, and Roger speaks several languages, so this is altogether a comfy, friendly, quiet, special place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I chose this town based on it's driving distance from Munich and Interlaken. And I chose this hotel because it had a good Internet rate and decent reviews. But I had no idea it would be my favorite stop on a ten day trip from Munich to Geneva nor that its owner would be so earnest and endearing. The room was spacious, spotless and modern. Our room opened to a small terrace on a grassy yard shared by a couple other rooms and looked west to the sunset over the mountains. Downstairs, a small cozy bistro/bar serves delicious beer on tap and hearty local fare. Our full Swiss style breakfast (huge buffet of cold cuts, cheeses, fruit, breads, cereals, fresh yogurt, juices, coffee and more) was served in the somewhat more formal dining room across the entryway. Our host was everywhere at once it seemed and his language skills were extraordinary in this tiny hamlet in the Romansch-speaking region.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarVarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This has been a long overdue review. We only stayed one night in this hotel but would love to go back there for a week. The village is lovely, of course, and there are many hiking options but it is the owners that make this place stand out. Mind you, the bedrooms have been nicely renovated and are extremely comfy and warm. I would stay there over staying in Scuol, it is easy enough to get there during the day for the spa but an after dinner (in the hotel, very good) stroll through the lovely village of Ardez is a peaceful, quiet way to prepare for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roudoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticino
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Ardez is a beautiful small village, with typical Engadina houses, close to the Swiss National Park and the Spa in Scuol. Shorta's Alvetern offers large and nice room with balcony, free WIFI connection, free making tea facilities and water available in a commun area, a beautiful terrace lounge, very friendly and helpful staff, free parking, great breakfast. We did not eat at the restaurant. We will for sure go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TicinoMoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardez
0.3 mi away
Aurora
Aurora
#2 of 2 in Ardez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
2.3 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Paradies
Hotel Paradies
#1 of 3 in Ftan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Meisser
Hotel Meisser
#2 of 4 in Guarda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Altana
Hotel Altana
#5 of 16 in Scuol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Piz Buin
Hotel Piz Buin
#4 of 4 in Guarda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schorta's Hotel Alvetern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schorta's Hotel Alvetern

Property: Schorta's Hotel Alvetern
Address: via Maistra 122 | Hauptstrasse 171, Ardez 7546, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Ardez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schorta's Hotel Alvetern 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Schorta's Hotel Alvetern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schortas Hotel Ardez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing