We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schorta's Hotel Alvetern
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aurora(Ardez)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Guarda Lodge(Guarda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
74
14
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent hotelbreadi highly recommend this hotelhigh qualitybeautiful villagebottled waterpicnicregionrogerdinnerdeskproductstrainmountainsmeatssnowbalcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 88 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Though it is a UNESCO World Heritage site, the town of Ardez isn't widely known. That means it's not overrun with tourists and remains a gem for those who love the mountains and hiking and historic towns. The stenciled house exteriors are remarkable, and what gained it the UNESCO status, but the setting is also spectacular. You look out at a small national park and have easy day access to hiking trails that we were not there long enough to take advantage of.

Shorta's is the first main building on the left as you enter town, and parking is right next to it, so it's very easy to find. It seems to be the center of town life, as there were a few locals having a drink in the bar area when we arrived as well as after dinner. However, it is a quiet place--not noisy. Clean, comfortable, modern rooms with traditional mountain pine decor. There is also a little Internet desk and a lovely small library and rooftop terrace--plenty of places to relax.

We had stayed three nights in Grindelwald before Ardez and were rather disappointed in the dinners we got at the place we stayed there. I realize that Swizerland (unlike France and Italy) is not known for its cuisine, but Grindelwald was rather dull for palate. Shorta's Hotel Alvetern also prepared regional food, but the quality and presentation were far nicer. The fresh salad bar was especially appreciated. Breakfast buffets are also of very good quality. The dining room has big picture windows so you can enjoy sunset light on the mountains.

The owners are friendly, and Roger speaks several languages, so this is altogether a comfy, friendly, quiet, special place.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I chose this town based on it's driving distance from Munich and Interlaken. And I chose this hotel because it had a good Internet rate and decent reviews. But I had no idea it would be my favorite stop on a ten day trip from Munich to Geneva nor that its owner would be so earnest and endearing. The room was spacious, spotless and modern. Our room opened to a small terrace on a grassy yard shared by a couple other rooms and looked west to the sunset over the mountains. Downstairs, a small cozy bistro/bar serves delicious beer on tap and hearty local fare. Our full Swiss style breakfast (huge buffet of cold cuts, cheeses, fruit, breads, cereals, fresh yogurt, juices, coffee and more) was served in the somewhat more formal dining room across the entryway. Our host was everywhere at once it seemed and his language skills were extraordinary in this tiny hamlet in the Romansch-speaking region.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarVarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

This has been a long overdue review. We only stayed one night in this hotel but would love to go back there for a week. The village is lovely, of course, and there are many hiking options but it is the owners that make this place stand out. Mind you, the bedrooms have been nicely renovated and are extremely comfy and warm. I would stay there over staying in Scuol, it is easy enough to get there during the day for the spa but an after dinner (in the hotel, very good) stroll through the lovely village of Ardez is a peaceful, quiet way to prepare for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roudoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Ardez is a beautiful small village, with typical Engadina houses, close to the Swiss National Park and the Spa in Scuol. Shorta's Alvetern offers large and nice room with balcony, free WIFI connection, free making tea facilities and water available in a commun area, a beautiful terrace lounge, very friendly and helpful staff, free parking, great breakfast. We did not eat at the restaurant. We will for sure go back!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TicinoMoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed at the Alvetern hiking along the Via Engiadina (on a package with our luggage being transportet from one hotel to the next). The Schorta family made us feel very welcome and we were almost sorry to leave the hotel the next morning. We had the lowest room category (C), but they were good standard size, clean and comfortable, even if the decor was very simple. Services far exceeded our expectations of a Swiss mountain hotel: free internet station in the hall, good library with books, magazines and papers, a lounge on the upper terrace with free tea making facilities. Excellent breakfast buffet, they even provided us with everything we needed to make a lunch package for ourselves (even free bottles of mineral water and cling film and sandwich bags to pack whatever you wanted from the buffet. Believe me, that is QUITE exceptional in a Swiss hotel). We had dinner in their restaurant, too: The food was fabulous, the wine excellent and the prices moderate. But best of all were the owners and their staff: I haven't met hosts like the Schortas in a very long time. They seem to love what they do and that is make you feel welcome and at home at their place.

Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
1  Thank zurich67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews