We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth going out of your way for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Schorta's Hotel Alvetern
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardez
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Worth going out of your way for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

Though it is a UNESCO World Heritage site, the town of Ardez isn't widely known. That means it's not overrun with tourists and remains a gem for those who love the mountains and hiking and historic towns. The stenciled house exteriors are remarkable, and what gained it the UNESCO status, but the setting is also spectacular. You look out at a small national park and have easy day access to hiking trails that we were not there long enough to take advantage of.

Shorta's is the first main building on the left as you enter town, and parking is right next to it, so it's very easy to find. It seems to be the center of town life, as there were a few locals having a drink in the bar area when we arrived as well as after dinner. However, it is a quiet place--not noisy. Clean, comfortable, modern rooms with traditional mountain pine decor. There is also a little Internet desk and a lovely small library and rooftop terrace--plenty of places to relax.

We had stayed three nights in Grindelwald before Ardez and were rather disappointed in the dinners we got at the place we stayed there. I realize that Swizerland (unlike France and Italy) is not known for its cuisine, but Grindelwald was rather dull for palate. Shorta's Hotel Alvetern also prepared regional food, but the quality and presentation were far nicer. The fresh salad bar was especially appreciated. Breakfast buffets are also of very good quality. The dining room has big picture windows so you can enjoy sunset light on the mountains.

The owners are friendly, and Roger speaks several languages, so this is altogether a comfy, friendly, quiet, special place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SantaFean-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
35
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

I chose this town based on it's driving distance from Munich and Interlaken. And I chose this hotel because it had a good Internet rate and decent reviews. But I had no idea it would be my favorite stop on a ten day trip from Munich to Geneva nor that its owner would be so earnest and endearing. The room was spacious, spotless and modern. Our room opened to a small terrace on a grassy yard shared by a couple other rooms and looked west to the sunset over the mountains. Downstairs, a small cozy bistro/bar serves delicious beer on tap and hearty local fare. Our full Swiss style breakfast (huge buffet of cold cuts, cheeses, fruit, breads, cereals, fresh yogurt, juices, coffee and more) was served in the somewhat more formal dining room across the entryway. Our host was everywhere at once it seemed and his language skills were extraordinary in this tiny hamlet in the Romansch-speaking region.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarVarTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

This has been a long overdue review. We only stayed one night in this hotel but would love to go back there for a week. The village is lovely, of course, and there are many hiking options but it is the owners that make this place stand out. Mind you, the bedrooms have been nicely renovated and are extremely comfy and warm. I would stay there over staying in Scuol, it is easy enough to get there during the day for the spa but an after dinner (in the hotel, very good) stroll through the lovely village of Ardez is a peaceful, quiet way to prepare for a good night sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roudoudou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ticino
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Ardez is a beautiful small village, with typical Engadina houses, close to the Swiss National Park and the Spa in Scuol. Shorta's Alvetern offers large and nice room with balcony, free WIFI connection, free making tea facilities and water available in a commun area, a beautiful terrace lounge, very friendly and helpful staff, free parking, great breakfast. We did not eat at the restaurant. We will for sure go back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TicinoMoLo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

We stayed at the Alvetern hiking along the Via Engiadina (on a package with our luggage being transportet from one hotel to the next). The Schorta family made us feel very welcome and we were almost sorry to leave the hotel the next morning. We had the lowest room category (C), but they were good standard size, clean and comfortable, even if the decor was very simple. Services far exceeded our expectations of a Swiss mountain hotel: free internet station in the hall, good library with books, magazines and papers, a lounge on the upper terrace with free tea making facilities. Excellent breakfast buffet, they even provided us with everything we needed to make a lunch package for ourselves (even free bottles of mineral water and cling film and sandwich bags to pack whatever you wanted from the buffet. Believe me, that is QUITE exceptional in a Swiss hotel). We had dinner in their restaurant, too: The food was fabulous, the wine excellent and the prices moderate. But best of all were the owners and their staff: I haven't met hosts like the Schortas in a very long time. They seem to love what they do and that is make you feel welcome and at home at their place.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank zurich67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

This was such a lovely surprise! Firstly Ardez is captivating - such a sweet little village with great access to hiking trails. The hotel was very comfortable and we were immediately made to feel right at home. The one outstanding feature - aside from the wonderful family who run it - was the food. It was some of the best i've ever eaten. Beautifully presented and with such thought going into each course. The wine list is extensive and the dining room beautifully decorated. We would very happily come back for longer.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harold6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUMBLE, TEXAS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2007

I stayed there for a night (02/24/07) with a group of friends and the whole staff was very helpful and friendly. I strongly recomend this hotel. Gloria D (Humble, TX)

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank GDIAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ardez
0.3 mi away
Aurora
Aurora
#2 of 2 in Ardez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
7.8 mi away
Guarda Lodge
Guarda Lodge
#1 of 4 in Guarda
5.0 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Paradies
Hotel Paradies
#1 of 3 in Ftan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel Meisser
Hotel Meisser
#2 of 4 in Guarda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Altana
Hotel Altana
#5 of 16 in Scuol
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Piz Buin
Hotel Piz Buin
#4 of 4 in Guarda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schorta's Hotel Alvetern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schorta's Hotel Alvetern

Property: Schorta's Hotel Alvetern
Address: via Maistra 122 | Hauptstrasse 171, Ardez 7546, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Graubunden > Engadin Scuol > Ardez
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ardez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schorta's Hotel Alvetern 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Schorta's Hotel Alvetern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schortas Hotel Ardez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing