We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of real England”
Review of Holbecks House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holbecks House B&B
Ranked #1 of 6 Hadleigh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Earlier this year we spent one night at the charming 18thC Holbecks House whilst visiting Ipswich.
The house and gardens are exquisite with wonderful views of Hadleigh village and the Suffolk countryside.
The owner was very friendly and helpful and made us feel relaxed. The old house is lovely and peaceful and filled with antiques. Every bedroom/en suite is unique with original features. You may need some warm clothes in the winter.
The lounge had comfy settees around a blazing log fire.
The breakfast was outstanding with plenty of choice. The ingredients were fresh and locally sourced. The Suffolk sausage was to die for.
Tourists and Brits who want a taste of what England used to be would love the experience.

Room Tip: Each room has its own unique character
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
There are newer reviews for Holbecks House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 275 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

We did a last minute long weekend when we both felt exhausted by a very busy summer and wanted to escape. What an escape it was! Fabulous environment for both us and the dog. Lovely gardens which we could wander in, a terrace for a relaxing drink or even a picnic, and well maintained footpaths in the area. We really liked Hadleigh too. Have now booked a few days in the Garden Flat in January, and are taking our friends with us. It will be our regular 'get away' place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Su S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

what a amazing property ,a perfect place to unwind , nice comfortable rooms ,amazing large garden ,surrounded by nice country side, the staff are friendly and the breakfast is excellent , i hope to go back again soon, thank you family holbecks peter garlick

Room Tip: i stayed in the constable suite very comfortable with nice views of the large garden .
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank peterpike2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

we had a very pleasant couple of days staying in the suite. We look forward to returning to enjoy a few days escape for rest & relaxation. Hadleigh itself has however little to offer by way of restaurants etc.Nothing much happens on a Sunday.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank julian f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

From even before our stay we had excellent communications from Perry with a very warm greeting on arrival with tea and biscuits in the study.Our suite (Constable) was enormous with every you would expect from a 5 star hotel! We prebooked dinner which was amazing as was the service, friendly not familiar to perfection. The grounds are an absolute delight, so good for walking off the fantastic English breakfast. We cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go the extra for the suite!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank katzhaus17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

A 2 night stay. The first night in the Munnings room was unsatisfactory for our needs but we were upgraded to the Gainsborough the moment it became available and this was an excellent move! We loved the house, the food, the gardens and the conviviality that stemmed from the host's personal attention and the company at breakfast of other interesting guests. Its location close to Constable country was very attractive to us.

Room Tip: We would recommend the Gainsborough room because of its size and outlook on to the garden. The Munn...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Maggie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

So far we have stayed twice at Holbecks House and have also booked a third weekend early next year. It provides a complete sanctuary of peace in our busy lives and also -to some extent -a trip back in time, as the beautiful classic surroundings give one the impression one is spending a country house weekend back in the 30s or 40s.

The landlords are very friendly and happy to give advice on restaurants and sights to see and, if you visit more than once, you gain the impression of meeting old friends. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We only stayed in two, but both have their own unique charm.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 270MartinCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hadleigh
4.1 mi away
Hintlesham Hall
Hintlesham Hall
#1 of 1 in Hintlesham
1,024 reviews
9.3 mi away
Salthouse Harbour Hotel
7.9 mi away
Swan Hotel & Spa Lavenham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Ufford Park Woodbridge Hotel, Golf & Spa
9.3 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sudbury
1,150 reviews
11.8 mi away
Bays Farm Country B&B and Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holbecks House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbecks House B&B

Address: Holbecks Lane, Hadleigh, Babergh District IP7 5PF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Babergh District > Hadleigh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Hadleigh
Price Range: $135 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holbecks House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbecks House B&B is run from a historic 18th century country house surrounded by its own parkland. The house is filled with antiques and is extremely comfortably furnished. The 3 rooms included a twin bedded room with 2 large singles (or 1 Emperor sized bed) with its own sitting room and en suite bathroom with majestic views over the terrace and gardens. The 2nd room is a large room with a king size bed and en suite bathroom. The 3rd room is a double with separate private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holbecks House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbecks House B&B Hadleigh, Suffolk

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing