We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”
Review of The Candied Walnut Eatery - CLOSED

The Candied Walnut Eatery
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Candied Walnut Eatery is a new Dining establishment situated in Kilnacourt House, Portarlington, Co. Laois. Proprietor/Head Chef Barry Hayden serves Lunches & Dinners at affordable prices. He uses only the finest ingredients to create his signature dishes. Fresh Coffees, Daily Lunch Specials, Evening Dining. Our Customer Service is second to none. Our aim at The Candied Walnut Eatery is to have every customer leave satisfied & with a smile on their face!!
Edenderry, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a gem”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Passing through Portarlington recently and saw the sign for Candied Walnut - had a light lunch, the place was buzzing and no wonder. Good food, good value, great staff - will be back for Dinner!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eugene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Eugene O,
Thanks for your great comments. Appreciate you taking the time to post them. Glad you enjoyed your lunch with us.
Hope to see you again soon for a nice relaxing dinner!!
Best wishes,
Dawn Hayden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

430 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    55
    22
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Portarlington, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“tasty”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

we got a voucher for the restaurant for xmas and used it around new year.it was fantastic.cant say i've enjoyed a meal in a restaurant as much as this one.not a fan of mushroom soup usually but theirs was gorgeons.keep up the good work and we'll keep coming for the delicions food

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Dave R,
Thanks for posting your great comments!! We really appreciate you taking the time to post them.
The soup is so good think i'm gonna go on a soup diet!!
Hope to see you again very soon.
Best regards,
Dawn Hayden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Dined here one cold November evening with the other half and our 2 year old. From the moment we got in to the moment we left it was enjoyable. Nobody giving awkward stares even though it was probably after 6 i think and we had the only child in the place, important that the vibe in a place makes the other punters child friendly i think :) People with kids will know what i mean :D
Friendly staff, great food and a great bill at the end (if there is such a thing) :)
Can still taste the butternut squash we had, starters were lovely, mains weren't too big to fill you before desert either which was great, just the right amount on the plate.
If i'm ever passing or heading down that motorway again i'd detour specially for a meal again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Niall M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi Niall ,
Thank you so much for your amazing comments. We really appreciate the feedback.. I totally understand where you're coming from regarding child friendly restaurants.. We have two children ourselves so know the stares we parents get when entering a restaurant. So for that reason The Candied Walnut is very child friendly!! Glad you enjoyed all the courses.. Isn't that soup amazing!!!
We hope you are in the neighbourhood again very soon.

Best regards,
Dawn Hayden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little gem and well needed restaurant for the midlands.”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have been to this restaurant twice- lunch and dinner. I am very critical yet it was hard to find fault. Reasonable prices for very good food . The fish cake starter and the cream brulee are definitely worthy of a mention. The amuse bouche was a welcome treat. 2 starts 2 mains 2 desserts 2 teas 3 minerals and 1 side 70.80. My only criticism was we were charged two euro for bread which i feel should be complimentary and provided with the starter. Might sound fussy but still. All in all good value for great food. I will return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi mjc_10,
Thanks for your feedback. We really appreciate that you took the time to post it. Really glad you enjoyed on a couple of occasions. Will pass on your comments regarding the bread..
Hope to see you again soon
Best regards,
Dawn Hayden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic staff!”
Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

By far one of the best restaurants that Lapis has had to offer! I cannot get enough of this place, the food is Michelin star quality, as are the friendly and accommodating staff. Highly recommend a visit, even if just to taste the steak!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LeanneandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DawnDaisy46, Owner at The Candied Walnut Eatery, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Hi LeanneandAndrew,
Thanks you guys for your great comments!!
'Best Restaurant in Laois'
'Michelin Star Quality'
Please say you are a Food Critic/Food Mag Editor!! ha ha..
Hope to have you dine with us again in the near future..
Best regards,
Dawn Hayden
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Candied Walnut Eatery also viewed

Portarlington, County Laois
 
Portarlington, County Laois
Portarlington, County Laois
 
Portarlington, County Laois
Portarlington, County Laois
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing