We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Black Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Quay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Quay
Certificate of Excellence
Wrexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

absolutely beautiful hotel and pub in an amazing location overlooking the sea .We stayed in room 9 which was the most expensive room in the hotel as it has views to the sea from both sides of the room and has a very high spec interior.Breakfast was amazing except there were no croisants as stated in the breakfast menu,with no explanation or alternative supplied.We had dinner at the pub,unfortunately i have to say we felt a bit let down.W felt a little bit of attentiveness from the staff at dinner would have been nice,however we might as well just walked in from the street.We ordered at the bar nservatory/restaurant bit was lacking in ambience, it felt like a echoey school hall considering how well the rest of the pub has been refurbished it was a shame.The evening meal we ordered arrived lovely and hot and very tasty no fault there ,but no body came to aask how it was or ask if we wanted another drink ,when we had finished eating our plates were whipped away and no one came to ask if we would like a dessert,we waited for a while but no one came back to our table and there was no menus around in the room so it meant walking through the busy bar to get the menu then find someone to order it,we felt insignificant to think we were paying £120 a night for a room upstairs.We left and went down the road to the rival penwig for a couple of G AND T nightcaps and decided to have the aero hot chocolate and biscuits provided in our room as our dessert instead.We had stayed at hotel with sea views at a nearby resort the night before for £70 per night and although not as plush as the black lion the staff made our stay feel special a table is reserved for dinner in there best place unless you dont want it and they couldnt do enough for us.Im really sorry to sound so negative about the black lion but i felt it needed mentioning as it truly is a lovely hotel it would be a shame for their standards to slip and especially at the price of their best rooms it makes ones ecpectation higher.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haffi2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    51
    9
    6
    8
See reviews for
54
91
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We stayed in Newquay as a family group this weekend and whilst there we called in to the Black Lion a couple of times for drinks and lunch. The menu is short but what we had was lovely. Plenty of choice at the bar drinkswise though! The refurbishment looks fantastic in the public areas and if that is repeated in the guest accommodation then it will be a complete success. Looking to book a room soon. Newquay is simply gorgeous with the added bonus of the wonderful wildlife (dolphins, porpoises and seals) on show most days in the bay!! Enjoy it, if you can.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Casablanca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Took my husband here as a surprise for his birthday as he spent a lot of time in Newquay as a child. We were not disappointed, the refurbishment is excellent, rooms fabulous. Had a hearty fresh cooked breakfast. Would definitely recommend it and look forward to going back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel has been beautifully decorated throughout. We stayed in room 7 which is stunning, great views of the sea and coast....lovely comfy bed and plenty of space in the room. The bathroom is also well equipped and well decorated. My only moan is on the windows a net curtain would be very useful.
I cannot fault the quality of the room and it was very clean, The staff are very laid back and Mike was a great host... friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was lovely with the perfect sunny morning view.
Enjoyed the stay and will be returning as its a stunning location and the hotel is perfect,
Thank you to all the staff

Room Tip: Room 7 or 9 big rooms with stunning views
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautifully refurbished hotel. The rooms are clean and modern with all the usual facilities. The location is wonderful with superb views of the bay. Breakfast was well cooked and tasty. Stake friendly and helpful

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HDR363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst we were visiting family in Newquay. It was fantastic!

We had room 9 which is right on the top floor and is the best room in the hotel.

Gorgeous sea views, sumptuous bed linen and towels. The room was a great size with space to sit and read. Plenty of room in drawers and wardrobe too.

As well as having gorgeous bed linen the bed was so comfy! Mmmm
There's not many beds that beat your own and this one did.

Breakfast was lush with everything cooked perfectly & ample portions too.

Afraid we didn't eat here in the evening so cannot rate that.

Overall fantastic stay and would recommend and shall be going back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We needed a place to stay for one night and booked this as a result of the other comments on here. Although the room was small, it was very tastefully decorated and spotless, as was the bathroom with the automatic light. was worried it might be noisy as we were at the front, we didn't hear any noise until the morning, doors banging from those going for an early breakfast. Food was lovely and the staff were brilliant, would definitely stay here again, but would only pay extra for the sea view if we were staying longer. the walk into town was no effort...what a place to have a hotel, what a lovely place New Quay is.

Room Tip: Our room was right behind reception (bottom left as you look at the front of the hotel) perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
4.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
4.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
18.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#3 of 19 in New Quay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Property: Black Lion Hotel
Address: New Quay SA45 9PT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Quay
Number of rooms: 119
Also Known As:
Black Lion Hotel New Quay, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing