We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited the pub, not the hotel. Very good.”
Review of Black Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Quay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Quay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Visited the pub, not the hotel while on a holiday in New Quay.

A lovely pub at the top of the hill in New Quay, reputed to be Dylan Thomas' favourite watering hole in the town.

Excellent pints, lovely decor, absolutely huge beer garden and very good entertainment on the first night we visited.

Would have easily been a 5 star review, but there the bar staff were exceedingly slow in serving our drinks at the bar, which resulted in a wait of 15 minutes per round.

Other than this, the pub was absolutely excellent. Will visit again when we return in the Autumn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank algorithmandblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
There are newer reviews for Black Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 212 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just back from a great 3 days, stayed in room 9 with view over the gardens and bay. Recently been refurbished to a high standard, room was very smartly decorated with great en suite. Lovely big white towels which are replaced when requested. Good breakfast but could have been a bit more organised. The gardens are lovely to sit and take in the view with a drink or snack. There was a guitarist/singer on the Friday night but think a group would be more entertaining. There is a short downhill walk to the Quay but great view on the way. Newquay is an unspoilt quaint place still and we watched the Dolphins from the Quayside. The owner should be congratulated for the superb refurb and making the most of the position the Black Inn has. Free Wi-fi from the downstairs but due to the thick wall you cannot get it in the rooms but the owner is working on this. definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rom 9 is the most sought after but cannot comment on other rooms and didn't see them. Understan...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitez4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed in room 8 and room 9, the overall stay was good and the quality of the rooms excellent. Room 9 being the better, with views out across the bay, Room 8 only has a view of the road ! Both rooms were clean and tidy, with every thing you would expect. The breakfasts were lovely, but the evening meal though generally good, could have been improved. The staff are friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: If you like views, it's gotta be room 9
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndnjnkns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed whilst on business in New quay and was impressed with this hotel
Stayed in room 2 which is a ground floor room at the front of the hotel so does not have a sea view but at £70 inc breakfast was good value
Staff were friendly and efficient and the Welsh breakfast was very nice.
On arrival a couple coming out of the hotel said the food was very poor which put me off eating at the hotel. So we ate in the harbour area.

Refurbished to a good standard I would and will stay there again.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
Thank KimDavid24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Loved it here, fantastic views from the beer garden and just a short walk down to the harbour. Great atmosphere in the pub. Our room was a cheaper one, quite small but decorated beautifully, and you could really tell it was all done to a high spec. The bed was really comfy. I would recommend staying in a sea view room though as I saw one of them and it looked even nicer and bigger. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and the breakfast had good variety, they made whatever we asked for, and again there were lovely views from the restaurant.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Whilst the pub itself has been recently refurbished the weather was so sunny on our last visit that we only used their large, well appointed garden which has great sea views. Although the menu was not that extensive both my wife and I found something to eat from the specials board. The food was absolutely fine, as was my beer ('Doom bar'), and we will definitely return next time we are in the area. Well done.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank thebarnesfamily78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a place, could not fault it great beers,food and coffee with smart attentive staff. A credit to the owners for the refit. Will be back next year. Great outside areas for kids in a beer garden with views to die for. Great for dolphin spotting

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
4.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
225 reviews
4.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
172 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.6 mi away
Plas Morfa Hotel
Plas Morfa Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanon
65 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Gwbert Hotel
The Gwbert Hotel
#2 of 2 in Cardigan
451 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Address: New Quay SA45 9PT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Quay
Number of rooms: 119
Also Known As:
Black Lion Hotel New Quay, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing