We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful views and rooms”
Review of Black Lion Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New Quay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Black Lion Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Quay
Certificate of Excellence
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and rooms”
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Loved it here, fantastic views from the beer garden and just a short walk down to the harbour. Great atmosphere in the pub. Our room was a cheaper one, quite small but decorated beautifully, and you could really tell it was all done to a high spec. The bed was really comfy. I would recommend staying in a sea view room though as I saw one of them and it looked even nicer and bigger. The staff were so friendly and helpful, and the breakfast had good variety, they made whatever we asked for, and again there were lovely views from the restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    51
    11
    6
    8
See reviews for
56
93
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Whilst the pub itself has been recently refurbished the weather was so sunny on our last visit that we only used their large, well appointed garden which has great sea views. Although the menu was not that extensive both my wife and I found something to eat from the specials board. The food was absolutely fine, as was my beer ('Doom bar'), and we will definitely return next time we are in the area. Well done.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thebarnesfamily78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

What a place, could not fault it great beers,food and coffee with smart attentive staff. A credit to the owners for the refit. Will be back next year. Great outside areas for kids in a beer garden with views to die for. Great for dolphin spotting

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
288 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I was amazed at the changes that have been made at this historic Pub recently.

It is so light and airy with excellent accommodation and food.

I stayed not long after they re-opened as a hotel so there were a few finishing touches to be made but could see that the product was of a high standard so I am assuming the rest will follow in the same vein. this is definitely the best place to stay in New Quay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kymosavvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
w.yorks
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stumbled upon this hotel by chance after travelling around for just under 2 wks and sleeping in our van we decided a hotel was in much need.
So we turned off the main rd and headed down to New Quay, not realising what a lovely little seaside town it was and found this hotel.
We were offered two rooms, one on the ground floor and one on the top floor with sea views. As soon as I saw the views I knew this was the one for us, number 9. Slightly more expensive but well worth it. The room was immaculate along with the bathroom.
The hotel has ample car parking along with a very large beer garden and childrens play area. They also allow dogs into the beer garden and are quite happy to supply water troughs for them.
We had our eveing meal in the restaurant. Starters were lovely, however, we ordered two steaks, aberdeen angus sirloin and a welsh ribeye and asked for them both to be cooked rare. The ribeye was cooked perfect but the sirloin was medium, I informed the staff but also told them I would eat it and they offered us a free drink for the mishap.
Breakfast was great, you could order what you wanted and nothing was too much for the waiting on staff.
Overall, a great location with very good staff. Would definately recommend this hotel and would stay again if ever in the area.

Room Tip: No.9, sea views. On the 3rd floor but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed on the first really sunny weekend in June this year, and New Quay itself looked stunning in the sun. The Black lion has been wonderfully refurbished, the room (8) we had was beautifully decorated, with the most comfortable king sized bed in it, and wonderful bathroom facilities. I have certainly had much worse rooms and facilities in supposedly much grander and more expensive hotels.
The breakfast is lovely, freshly cooked when you decide what you want, again to a high standard.
Remember this is an INN, so the menu in the restaurant is predominately pub grub, but very good pub grub with a few specials on boards, which were again very good.
Overall an excellent place to stay with accommodation and food of an order much higher than you would expect.
The only issue some might experience is that the Inn is a few hundred yards up a steep street from the harbour, and there are stairs within the Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webbers54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We called into Newquay with the purpose of meeting our family who were caravaning locally. I initially booked for 1 night but because the accommodation, service and location were so good we decided to stay for a further 3 nights leaving only because of prior commitments at home. I find it hard to fault, apart from it's probably not suitable for a person with limited mobility (the hotel is a listed building on about 9 different levels, with several internal staircases). The owner and his staff deserve every credit for their dedication and effort. We will revisit again this season ( the dolphin spotting is addictive).

Room Tip: West facing rooms are the best, sea view and are charged at a small premium. Our room was at ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
4.7 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
4.8 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Gwesty Cymru
Gwesty Cymru
#1 of 13 in Aberystwyth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
12.8 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
4.5 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#3 of 19 in New Quay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Property: Black Lion Hotel
Address: New Quay SA45 9PT, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Quay
Number of rooms: 119
Also Known As:
Black Lion Hotel New Quay, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing