We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great simple b&b”
Review of Dolawel B&B

Dolawel B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Quay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dolawel B&B
Ranked #9 of 19 New Quay B&B and Inns
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great simple b&b”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Hostess pleasant and chatty, the room was comfortable and clean, it was a good breakfast , if in the area we would go again, it was fairly eary to find.......................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucy450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

Was not happy with our stay at the Dolawel, the headboard on the bed in room 1 was filthy, covered in fluff, the room was not serviced at all and when I asked the lady owner why the bed hadn't been made or the cups washed she said she had been busy and actually seemed surprised that I had expected my bed to be made for me! We had booked for 3 nights but cut our stay short and left after 2. This lady could do with a visit from the hotel inspector, as she doesn't seem to know what is expected of her. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Up the hill from the harbor. Somewhat elusive but pleasant enough hostess. Rather unhelpful as we arrived rather wet after walking on the Coastal Path. Surprised the lady of the house offered us no assistance at all. Nicely decorated room. Watch out for the very hot water in the bathroom. Hostess much chattier in the morning. Breakfast was the usual fare and plenty of it. There is a resident rabbit in the kitchen which makes a change. Nothing special but quite satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newagincourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmarthenshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hosts were very welcoming & friendly.

It's in a great location, only a 5 minute walk to the beach front.

The rooms were very clean, & they were cosy; if a little on the small size for the double bed room we had. The double bed was very soft; comfortable as long as you don't move about to much.

Nice breakfast, with a good choice, & the hosts were flexible in the breakfast times.

Overall a very pleasant stay & will certainly be going back

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Great B&B with a great location. Very fair rates for what you get.
The breakfast was great, fresh tomato and fresh mushrooms, good choice of cereal and drinks to order. Our 4 year old also was given a choice of what she wanted off the cooked breakfast.
The owners are lovely and I'm sure would sort any problems you may encounter.
Our only problem was the room being too warm, so we turned the rads off - no biggie.
The whole place was clean and well presented, will be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireyPurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for one night after travelling to New Quay on impulse. The location is just a few minutes walk from the harbour. The house is clean and tidy, the bed was comfy but the room was too hot for us and we had to have the window open which meant we heard traffic from early morning.
The breakfast had the smallest eggs and sausages we've ever had in a b&b, a better quality brekkie would have earned an extra star.
The hosts are friendly and welcoming and I would recommend Dolawel for a short stay in New Quay.

Room Tip: check your radiator before retiring!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swan2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in the family room which was nicely decorated and laid out. The double bed was not the most comfortable and the door into the bathroom had see through panes which is not ideal when you have your teenage child staying with you. Apart from that the Dolawel is a great place to stay, with a full breakfast and Mr & Mrs Evans are very pleasant hosts.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnwithah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
1.0 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#7 of 19 in New Quay
35 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#4 of 19 in New Quay
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Merwerydd Guest Accommodation
2.3 mi away
Melyn-y-Gors
Melyn-y-Gors
#5 of 19 in New Quay
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greenfields Holiday Park
Greenfields Holiday Park
#2 of 5 in New Quay
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolawel B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolawel B&B

Property: Dolawel B&B
Address: Dolawel Rectory Square, New Quay SA45 9RE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Quay
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Dolawel B&B New Quay, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing