We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable but could be better with small improvements”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Penwig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Penwig
Ranked #3 of 20 New Quay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Reasonable but could be better with small improvements”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

3 of us had food.

Pate starter - menu said 'grilled bread' so we expected the bread to be toasted or have marks on it suggesting it had been in a grill or grill pan. It was perfectly nice baguette but in no way 'grilled'. The chunk of pate was very generous and tasted good, but the whole thing was served on a narrow 'plank' of wood - which looked really attractive but was totally impractical as there was no space on which to cut the bread or spread the pate on the bread - we ended up using a. Napkin as a 'plate'.

Mixed grill, pretty good value but the steak was very small, and the pork chop and chicken pieces had both been cooked until 'dry'.

Wild boar and chorizo burger had a good flavour, but again had been cooked so much that it was dry. My personal preference would have been to have the burger bun toasted.

A little more attention to cooking times, and a plate to go with the pate, and this would have been good rathe than average.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank goodysidno2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    109
    39
    20
    23
See reviews for
76
199
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Had a great Saturday late afternoon drink....the bar is well decorated and has great views out to sea. The staff were friendly and helpful.
The wine is excellent value and a good selection for a chain pub. We had some nachos which were perfect as were able to have another bottle of wine.
Lovely place and will be back in the summer to enjoy the terrace for drinks.....

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Exceptional hotel.
Fantastic location, impeccable standards of service, and really kind, friendly staff. We have stayed in two of the rooms, and everything in both was faultless. Comfortable beds, quality bed linen, nice decor, generous with the heating and delicious food. Lovely choice of breakfasts - imaginitive alternatives as well as the full English.
We went with an elderly relative and they couldn't do enough to help. They were also extremely kind when we left something behind. This place is well worth a stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rog m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Brilliant location views fab lovely hotel staff excellent and very we'll run.food very good plenty of choice great weekend break. Rooms very clean and I'm fussy although bathroom in room 1 was extremely small only complaint, booked again straight away for another weekend in one of the other rooms,I'd recommend.car park as we'll a definite plus and safe .

Room Tip: Bathroom in room 1 small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed one night in the two bedroom coach house to the rear of the hotel. Passed by New Quay during a motorcycle tour of Wales and decided to stay the night. Cracking decision. Beautiful accommodation. Modern, spacious and spotless. Safe car park for bikes. Plenty of character pubs within walking distance. Fantastic breakfast eaten overlooking the harbour. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank STGLNewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Lovely Pub right on the front. a couple of real ales to choose from; The Reverend James was lovely! Usual sort of choice of food. The lasagne was delicious.Our room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. We were told we wouldn't get our sea view, though it was viewable through a side window. I guess a room on the front would have a fantastic view. Bed was the only let down which was a little small for us, and a little on the hard side. Great full English, though my wife's was on the cold side. All the staff were very friendly. They have a car park at the back, but with limited space.

Room Tip: Go for a room on the front with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria_n_John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

we booked fairly last minute via an online booking site and added a rider that were prepared to pay more should a seaview room become available but on arrival were given a free upgrade to the best room in the hotel - which turned out to be a suite occupying the whole of the top floor with magnificent views over the bay. service, room decor and cleanliness were exceptional, the bed very comfortable, the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful and the food well up to standard as was the beer. all in all a memorable experience we shall be repeating in the spring.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Countrylover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
4.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#7 of 20 in New Quay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penwig

Property: The Penwig
Address: South John Street, New Quay SA45 9NN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in New Quay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penwig 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Penwig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penwig Hotel New Quay
The Penwig New Quay, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing