We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room with a beautiful view”
Review of The Penwig

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Penwig
Ranked #3 of 19 New Quay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Lovely room with a beautiful view”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We arrived in New quay late afternoon and found the hotel easily. Parked in the car park round the back, but had to leave the car on a very steep hill with a brick under the wheel ( warning need a good handbrake) as the car park was practically full.

Welcoming- it was very chaotic in there which is expected in a peak eating time and didn't know where to queue so just went to the bar. Waited to be served to be told to move to the other side of the bar which is frustrating considering we had luggage and the bar was very busy.Another wait. Finally we were attended to more confusion as they couldn't find us in the system as they put in the extra guest person as a the booking person. Finally we were found on the booking system , but we was not told where our room was- we had to ask. Overall the service was friendly, but rather confused and chaotic.

Accommodation itself (room) was decorated to suit the environment , was very tasteful and attractive. Very impressed with many attributes of the room; had it's own entrance which reduced the pressure to come back at a certain time as there was no locking up time, blackout curtains and blinds (reduce street light coming in), dressing table and sitting area. Loved the fact it was light and airy due to so many windows. View was amazing! Suggestions- could do with a fridge and a new radiator in the bathroom.

Breakfast was very nice and was impressed with the friendly and welcoming service. Nice there was an option as well.

In New Quay there is not much choice in eateries unless you want to pay excessive costs at the Hungry Trout, but if you want reasonably priced , big portioned pub food then the Penwig is spot on. Gammon is recommended!

Food and Accommodation is spot on, but service could be improved (younger staff). Also if you have a room above the bar don't expect much sleep if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Room four is stunning,large and great views, but not recommended on a weekend night if your a light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    110
    39
    20
    23
See reviews for
76
201
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Llanrwst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Cross Foxes on the 13th and 14th of August as part of our honeymoon (short trip to west wales) We stayed in one of the lowest priced rooms £50 (incl breakfast)
The room was lovely with 3 windows all with sea views, the room was spacious and also included a small table and two chairs.

We had breakfast twice in the restaurant and this was ample and to be honest more than I would have expected for the price we paid. We also ate in the restaurant on the Tuesday night, the service was quick and efficient and the portions were large and tasty.

We received a warm welcome from Mike and Jemma, and both were keen to ensure everything was ok with the room.

Parking is a little tight around the back, as we pulled in there were no spaces, but Mike came out and advised us to pull in as there were various staff members we could block in.

Location was fabulous and we couldn't have asked for a better spot.

The prices have gone up now to £70 incl breakfast, but this is still value for money and I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 which has 3no windows with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
338 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

whist visiting the area we stopped off here for a cool drink i had a pimms one of the best ive tasted we sat outside in the sunshine we diddeent eat here as the food seemed to be all ping food u know micro food for a good fishing harbour i thought the y should have had fresh fish on the menu

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueflintshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

we didn't stay here, but ate twice here while we were visiting the area, the food was lovely and portion sizes were very good, nice menu and although a busy establishment, the service was good.
would reccomend

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

My Partner and I stayed at the Penwig in 2010 and returned in July of 2012. We found the Hotel to be under new Management having recently joined the Brains Chain. We stayed in the same room (7) and found that it had been refurbished to a very high standard, even though the Price had actually dropped! Very Pleasant surprise. The View from our room was excellent, with an almost 180 Degree Panorama over both the Harbour and the Beach. We did not eat at the Penwig as the outside tables were quickly filled, instead having a quick lunch at the Dolau Inn, just 10 Metres from the Penwig Car Park and a Michelin Standard Evening Meal at the Hungry Trout Restaurant again just 25m from the Penwig front door. An all round excellent overnight stay in New Quay, we will be back before the Summer ends, if it ever starts!

Room Tip: Views from 7 outstanding, a little noisy above the outside tables though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z0la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

we booked two rooms last year after eating in restaurant, food was & still is first class, we found latter that the hotel section had very poor rateings!, then we heard that "Brains" had taken over & had done a complete refurb. we arrived on 14july & were shown into two well appointed, clean rooms with new furniture & sea views from both rooms. we had room 4 which was a good size, couple of niggles, shelf over basin is far too low, i head butted it few times!!! & our tea cups were never cleaned/changed. our friends had room 3, much bigger, but same silly shelf, there tea cups were changed! noise from people drinking late outside may bother some, (only saturday).plenty of choice for breakfast & plenty on plate. the managment were friendly & helpfull, a totally enjoyable 3days,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We booked one night last minute in this hotel. We were so glad we did. We had room 7: a superior double and it was great. We had the whole front of the building on the top floor, sea view's a plenty. It was a suite with a separate bedroom and living room. Very clean and modern. The staff were wonderful and couldn't have been more helpful (especially with my food intolerance's). The food was great too. All the chefs were so willing to please. The night we stayed there were people queuing up for a table for meals. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and we certainly will look forward to staying here again. Let me see was there a downside.... I am struggling to find one., Maybe the risk of being blocked in when parking at the back but hey your not in a rush to go anywhere when you have such stress free accommodation and staff are you.

Room Tip: Room 7 is the only superior double and well worth the extra £10 a night. Best views in the whole bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liveinhope26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
4.7 mi away
Feathers Royal Hotel
Feathers Royal Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
4.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#7 of 19 in New Quay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
8.7 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#1 of 2 in Tresaith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Penwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Penwig

Property: The Penwig
Address: South John Street, New Quay SA45 9NN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Quay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Penwig 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Penwig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Penwig Hotel New Quay
The Penwig New Quay, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing