We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great trip to see the Wildlife of New Quay”

SeaMor Dolphin Watching Boat Trips
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in New Quay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Join us on a one and a half hour guided Bottlenose Dolphin Watching Boat Trip, leaving from the picturesque fishing village of New Quay, West Wales. Learn about the local history, geology and wildlife from our marine biologist guides and knowledgeable skippers. Trips run daily at 11.00am, 12.30pm, 2.00pm, 3.30pm & 5.00pm. Experience the wonders of under the water as we lift a lobster pot, allowing you to see close up and handle all the creatures that we catch. Kids (and adults) can have a supervised experience at steering the vessel if the weather is suitable. Our vessel can only carry 12 passengers, so a personal experience is guaranteed. Our marine biologist guide will be with you the whole time to answer any questions you have, and fill you with facts on not just the dolphins, but the seals, the seabirds, the birds of prey, the jelly fish, the porpoise and anything else that happens to come along. Book early to avoid disappointment, as our trips have become very popular we fill up early. Call us on our mobile number, or email.
Heathfield
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great trip to see the Wildlife of New Quay”
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We've been on this boat trip around the waters off New Quay several times over the years and have always enjoyed the experience. The 'Islander' takes you along the coast out to the reef. We've seen Lobster, Crabs & Dog fish close up in the lobster pots. You also get to see the Guillemots, Razor Bills, Shags, Cormorants & Fulmars (plus other birds) along the rocky coast. There is always the chance, but no guarantee of seeing Bottle-nosed Dolphins & Grey Seals close up!
Booking has always been easy and the crew of the 'Islander' have been fantastic. They are very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly. Being on a small boat, the experience is very personal. Every trip has ended with some great photos.

We're looking forward to our next trip with Seamôr!

Helpful?
1 Thank Leidenfrost42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    433
    28
    5
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bit of confusion at beginning but wonderful boat trip! Saw dolphins and more....”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We tried to book in advance for the trip after reading other reviews on trip adviser. We did have a bit of confusion with seamor when we were trying to book and pay but it all got resolved and off we went on the 1.5hour trip on Sunday. There was only a few of us on the trip which was great!
The weather was slightly cool with cloud but the sea was very calm and flat. My 4 year old (and in fact all of us) were fascinated when we stopped at the first lobster pot and they dragged it onto the boat for us to see what was inside and we were not disappointed with what we saw. The first pot had 2 crabs in, which the guide got out and we could get up close to. The second pot had 2 lobster, a crab and a mermaids purse inside! Amazing! They seemed quite knowledgable and the story of the mermaids purse was great.
We then set off in search of the dophins- not easy when there is a rowing race on but we spotted them quite a few times. A mother and her baby. Lovely!
I would recommend the trip but wrap children up warmly because my son did get slightly cold even though I thought I had dressed him appropriately! They did offer him a spare jacket which was a nice touch. The crew are great definitely worth it in my opinion.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Scrumbledee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“dolphin tour??”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visited New Quay yesterday specifically to take the dolphin tour. We had previously researched on trip advisor for the best and most informative and Sea Mor came top by a long way. We know that you are not guaranteed to see the dolphins but we paid £15 per adult for Sea Mor as it was suggested they had the best boat which could stop in better areas and would actively research the area for dolphins. This was not the case, as we just followed the other boats which were priced from £8 per adult but, granted, just for the hour. The actual guide seemed more interested in the wild birds than the sea wildlife and pointed out birds which I had seen up close and personal in abundance yesterday as we walked around Dinas Head at no cost! As we drifted back into harbour our guide told us it was not the best time of year to see dolphins as the winter fish were leaving and the summer fish hadnot arrived! Had we known this at midday when we booked the 2pm trip I would not have bothered. I have found out today from a local who is a qualified vet and is familiar with the local animal community that the summer/winter bird tale is rubbish and that your best chance of seeing the dolphins is about 7am or 7pm directly from New Quay peir when the unsellable catches of the day are returned to the sea! Not somethng that the tour companies advertise I'm sure! We all have a living to make, but please dont assume that we are all gullible tourists who will fall for any old line just to keep us happy! Sea Mors response is more than welcome.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank jason3066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarsIBM, Owner at SeaMor Dolphin Watching Boat Trips, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear jason3066,

We are very sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your trip. We strive to provide a highly informative and interactive trip and feel that most of our reviews reflect this. We would first of all like to say that by no means do we knowingly provide inaccurate information just to keep people "happy". The dolphins in Cardigan Bay are a completely wild population who can come and go as they please, so nobody can guarantee when they will be seen. Knowing this, we try to give information on the other wildlife that can be seen in the area, so that the trip does not rely on you having to see dolphins for it to be interesting. We have our lobster pots, which allow us to see some of the species found on the sea bed, and we point out the other animals that can be seen from the boat, including sea birds such as guillemots and razorbills. Many people have not had the opportunity to see these fascinating birds up close, and we have had countless comments on how much people enjoyed finding out about them. It is well known and researched that these species spend the winters offshore and migrate in in the summer in order to lay their eggs. We do not know why your friend would say that this is rubbish.
Our route is different from the other companies as we are the only company that include going over to the reef, which is known to be a dolphin feeding 'hot spot'.
In terms of the best time of year to see dolphins, at the time of your trip it was known that there was already one large group of dolphins in Cardigan Bay. During previous years there have been several large groups of dolphins and we expect that it will be the same this year. Many of the dolphins here are semi-resident; that is, they spend the summer here in Cardigan Bay, and then migrate elsewhere during the winter. This information was provided to us by the local scientific researchers at The Sea Watch Foundation, who have been collecting data on the dolphins in Cardigan Bay for over 20 years. Part of what governs when the dolphins arrive in Cardigan Bay is the availability of food. During the summer, there is an abundance of North East Atlantic mackerel in Cardigan Bay which will be a large part of the dolphin's diet. This species of fish is known to migrate into the bay at the beginning of the summer, and over the years it has been noted that they are closely followed by the dolphins. Our guide that day, Brett, was told by the local fisherman that the mackerel had started to arrive, but were not quite back 'in full force' yet. Therefore during your trip, Brett was simply commenting that it may be that you did not see dolphins in that hour and a half because we do not yet have the number of dolphins here that we expect there will be after the mackerel have migrated in. The previous day we had had dolphin encounters on almost every trip, and we did see them again later in the week, but obviously when there are more groups of dolphins in the bay, the chances of seeing them will increase. And when the mackerel have migrated in, we expect that there will be more groups of dolphins.
Your friend was right in that there is a very slightly higher chance of seeing dolphins early in the morning or in the evening (we do run a sunset trip where we do have a very slightly higher encounter rate) and we do give this information to anyone who asks. However, there will be days when we see dolphins on every trip. And there will be days when we don't see them in the morning at all, and then on one trip in the afternoon, and then not at all in the evening. As mentioned before, these are wild animals that are free to go wherever they please, and during the day your chances of seeing them are as good on one trip as the next.

We hope that this clears up some of your concerns. Thank you for your three stars, we appreciate that you did not find the trip to be below average.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“fantastic”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

What a fantastic trip, Seamor were recommended by several people and boy were they right.

You can either book by telephone or take the risk of turning up and hope to get a ticket to go on the trip - you are provided with life jackets and families with small children can take their pushchairs and you are even allowed to take your dog

We would highly recommend taking a camera and binoculars and something warm to wear as it can get a bit chilly, however, you might not get a chance to use either as Brett the skipper is extremely engaging and the knowledge and history that he has of the area and the coast line is amazing.

Brett, ensured that the whole group were included and took his time to answer the questions that were asked however many times he was asked the same ones. Whilst we were out we were taken to the lobster pot, we were shown how they worked, and we saw several dolphins. They swam along the boat and we were able to ask questions about them, they all have names !

Overall the trip was pretty amazing, the boat went at a leisurely pace and we had the chance to enjoy the wildlife.

Brett – thank you very much for an informative and enjoyable trip, we have already recommended you to all our friends

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissybow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great trip with SeaMor”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I thoroughly recommend SeaMor. We were lucky enough to spend a very enjoyable time watching Dolphins and Seals at close hand. The booking staff were very helpful allowing us to be very flexible in selecting a trip that suited us and the crew were equally friendly and informative. We benefited from the small trip numbers, which gave us all opportunities to ask questions and participate. The crew were ready to provide answers and we're very patient when responding to enthusiastic children's questioning. Value for money and a great experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MAW_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SeaMor Dolphin Watching Boat Trips also viewed

 

Been to SeaMor Dolphin Watching Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing