We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot be beaten” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oak Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Quay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Oak Lodge
Ranked #14 of 19 New Quay B&B and Inns
Bucknell
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Cannot be beaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

What a warm and generous welcome was extended by our hosts Angela & Mike upon our arrival having completed our 1st of 5 days walking the Ceredigion Coast Path.

We had booked a 4 day walkers break and as might be imagined we were ready for our dinner which was truly excellent and consumed with much relish by the four of us. Mike was the ever-attentive host whilst Angela worked tirelessly in the kitchen turning our fabulous dinners, beautiful breakfasts and sustaining packed lunches all topped off by the chauffeur service courtesy of Mike who collected us at the end of each day and set us off at the beginning of the following day.

Both Angela and Mike turned in a faultless performance and provided us with all we could ask for during our short break - it was a real shame we had to go home - thank you both for all your hard work. Hopefully we shall return later this year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Oak Lodge August Bank Holiday Weekend and what a stunning guest house it was. We stayed in the largest room over the garage with a king size bed and it was extemely spacious and modern. We had our own en-suite shower room will all the little extras that made it feel home from home. Angela and Mike were excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome during our 2 night stay there. Nothing was too much trouble for either of them and we were even offered an afternoon drink with them in their lovely summer garden. Angela's breakfasts were the best we have ever had and we would certainly give them a 5 star rating. There was a beautiful selection of cereal and fresh fruits to choose from the breakfast table followed by a hearty full english breakfast all made with fresh local produce and if you could manage it afterwards a warm croissant with home made jams to follow was offered. The guest house was only a short drive into Newquay which was ideal if exploring the west coast of Wales but you wouldn't be able to walk into Newquay as there were no pavements for at least half a mile and the main road became quite busy at times. I would certainly recommend this guest house to family & friends and would definately choose Oak Lodge to stay if we were to visit this area of Wales again!

Room Tip: There are two rooms to choose from and I couldn't comment on the second bedroom, however the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, Shropshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2011

They call Oak Lodge a B & B - but it should be a BB & BB, that's Big Bed and Big Breakfast! Mike and Ange welcomed us into their home for a short stay on one of the wettest weekends of the year and made a great break out of a bit of a damp squib. Mike and Ange are fun and friendly, but thoroughly professional - a great host and hostess. When we arrived Ange offered us the opportunity of an upgrade at a reasonable rate, Mike offered a beer and a glass of rose. All gratefully accepted. They sent us out each day with the benefit of a fabulous breakfast with locally sourced bacon and sausage to the fore on a picture of a plate - must be Mike's graphical training - while Ange - who used to be in tourism herself - set us on a tour that took in some of the prettiest sights along the coast between New Quay and Cardigan. Ask for the breakfast, ask for the Ange tour. You won't be disappointed. We had a great time and we have no hesitation in recommending Oak Lodge.

Room Tip: If the best room's available, Ange will let you know...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Wilfster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury Salterton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

What a fantastic B & B experience! Mike & Angela were the perfect hosts. They gave us superb breakfasts that it would be nigh-on impossible to better elsewhere - choice of cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt, plus 'full English' and more. In addition to this they provided a standard of accommodation that was exceptional (we had the en-suite bedroom). The house is just a few minutes’ walk away or a little over a minutes ‘drive from the picturesque seaside resort of New Quay and its visiting dolphins. It is also a great central location for touring this part of Wales, which we did - see photos, making it the ideal base for us. Unfortunately we could book for only two nights due to work commitments, but would have happily remained for more otherwise. Five stars for everything, especially the warm welcome and brilliant service we received throughout our short stay.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Woodypoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stayed for three nights and it was an absolute pleasure. The breakfasts were amazing we have special requirements because we are trying to slim. Angela & Mike ensured we were able to stay within our target foods. The variety of fruits and cereal were great including the home made items.

The en-suite bedroom was brilliant and I had the best nights sleep for a while everything about this stay was first class. We would definitely recommend this to anybody without exception.

Room Tip: Ask !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ibbo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2010

My hubby and I did a last minute trip to New Quay for one night. We travel quite a bit and I cannot praise this little gem enough. Mike and Angela made us so welcome we felt like family. I can honestly say the breakfast we had was the best we have had in a b & b/ guest house, and would put many 5 star hotels to shame. Angela went out of her way to book a table in the local resterant and a taxi down and back for us, as it was a Saturday, and many places in the middle of summer do get booked up early. The room was superb with many lovely touches. First class, will definatly go back there. Thanks both x

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulouaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2010

Hosts are wonderful, can't do enough and great company. Rooms spotless, Food great

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marktheshark88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Quay hotels
0.0 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#8 of 19 in New Quay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#3 of 19 in New Quay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Melyn-y-Gors
Melyn-y-Gors
#4 of 19 in New Quay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.0 mi away
Greenfields Holiday Park
Greenfields Holiday Park
#2 of 4 in New Quay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Swallows Guest House
#15 of 19 in New Quay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Lodge

Property: Oak Lodge
Address: Gilfachreda, New Quay, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Quay
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Oak Lodge New Quay, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing