We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic spot”
Review of Wellington Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Quay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wellington Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 New Quay B&B and Inns
Jamberoo, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic spot”
Reviewed July 8, 2011

After a booking made through a major online booking site didn't eventuate (didn't think it could happen, did you!) we had to find another hotel in New Quay, on what was a very busy afternoon in the town. Wandered into the Wellington Inn, tempted by its ocean views and old world charm. Warmly welcomed and luckily one room left. Real old world B&B charm and I suspect it has a regular clientele. Wish we had dined there as it is obviously a fabulous restaurant but did enjoy the great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindazyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    12
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
47
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Just stayed there for a few nights, outstanding service for the money accommodation superb, food was to die for and hospitality is second to none, I wish Richie and his family all the best and thank you for a great stay at your wonderful Inn. Paul & Gill Ambrose.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tosh2037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester England
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Sometimes you find a gem and you want to keep it secret, but this would not be fair on Diana and Richard. Hosts of the Wellington Inn. We arrived as two couples to spend five days, Monday to Friday. The Wellington has three bedrooms, all en-suite each with its own lounge, TV and coffee making facilities, two rooms are at the front and one at the rear. We also had exclusive use of a large balcony overlooking the sea, ideal for Dolphin and Seal watching. Richard even provided a set of binoculars. The entire premises were spotlessly clean.

The Wellington also has an excellent restaurant where we ate a full English breakfast, to call this hearty would be an understatement, we were set up for the day. There is also a large dinner menu to suit all tastes. The cooking and presentation of the food was very good, the portions are large, and the deserts were to die for.

New Quay is an ideal position for exploring mid and west Wales, It is also within a short drive to the Brecon Beacons.

Richard and Diana were the perfect hosts, they had a good knowledge of the area and gave us some good suggestions as to where to visit. Richard kept the bar open at night so that we could have a drink when the restaurant had closed. Nothing was ever to much trouble for them, we shall certainly return.

Room Tip: Try to book a room on the front iff possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterM3039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2010

amazing food! would recommend the smugglers chicken without a doubt! huge portions! room very nice and cosy, perfect place for a romantic getaway!! will definately be back!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank becs280785
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 28, 2010

On our many visits to Newquay over the years we have always been drawn back to the Wellington Inn. The food has always been out of this world and we do not think it gets better than this, we have tried many dishes on the menu from steaks to their lovely sunday lunches - even their seafood platters are a must if you go there. The stowfords cider is always flowing. Thanks again Richard for making our families welcome.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattelite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

On our 3rd visit to New Quay after eating at the wellington on the 2 previous visits we finally managed to get a room here this time and can now see why they are always booked up. The room was fantastic, we had a sea view room with acres of space, Richard the owner was always on hand with his whitty banter which made us feel so at home.
On our second night we ate at the restaurant with a menu so big i had to have ten mins to read it all, Eventually we chose i had the chicago ribs and my fiancee had the juliets chicken with a cheesy garlic bread to start, the garlic bread came out and was enough to feed four, the meals shortly followed the biggest rack of ribs i had ever seen, it was a huge challenge to eat it all, we then thought about sweets but then had to decline as we were so full. so all in all a fantastic stay with great service great food and a very clean place to stay and eat.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzmann048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhyl
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

my wife and i had a meal in the wellington last night september 8th 2009.we had gone to new quay for a well deserved break and booked the meal for our last night,We eat out probably far to much ,but i can tell you this place is as good as it gets,the food is magnificent,the varied menu is awesome,and although it did take some time coming which gave me more time to drink the best draught cider ive tasted,which made me more hungry,I and my wife had a top 3 meals of all time,we are coming back,and so will a few of our friends ,recommendation is this best advert WELL DONE

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vegas2Rhyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Quay
4.6 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberaeron
171 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
The Cliff Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Cardigan
804 reviews
13.0 mi away
Emlyn Hotel
Emlyn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newcastle Emlyn
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Cambrian Hotel - B &B, Pub and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Penwig
The Penwig
#4 of 19 in New Quay
348 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beechwood House
Beechwood House
#5 of 19 in New Quay
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wellington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wellington Inn

Property: Wellington Inn
Address: Sa45 9nr, New Quay, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > New Quay
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in New Quay
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wellington Hotel New Quay
Wellington Inn New Quay, Wales - Ceredigion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing