We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walker friendly and helpful hotel”
Review of Black Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Black Lion Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hertfordshire,UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Walker friendly and helpful hotel”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had booked a triple room but when we arrived we asked for a single and a double. This was no trouble. I was shown to my room (which was not ready) where I had my bath immediately much appreciated after a long walk and when I finished, the bed was made immediately. The room was clean, nice and warm. The meal was excellent. Next day there was a problem with one of our walkers and we had to change plans. The landlord put up Google earth to show us the shortest way to our destination and offered to print maps etc. He offered a lift to our destination too. The whole experience was absolutely brilliant - thanks!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliki51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    24
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
34
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We had an overnight stop with our mobile home in the large carpark at the rear. Very quiet area, but it was a stormy evening! It was a Wednesday, and we were told that normally the restaurant is closed at this time of year, open weekends. Draught cider was off, so opted for red wine with the meal. Restricted menu. Warm welcome, but dining room only warming up slowly on cold evening. Lovely area, toilets clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ckbotanica, Owner at Black Lion Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review, We are pleased to offer free overnight parking to britstop members and there camper vans, we can also offer water fill up and electric hook up for those that need it. We are open all year round, but do close on some mid week evenings in the winter.
We also have wide selection of bottled beers and ciders etc.
All our food is home made, and produced fresh, this does mean that when we are in a quiet period we have to limit the menu from 20+ item s to half a dozen.
Thanks again for your custom.
Kind regards Dominic
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I stayed here with a few friends for two nights. The room was nice and warm and the shower was amazing. Breakfast was great with good quality sausage and bacon and filter coffee too. We ate in the bar/ restaurant each night great homemade food and a really good choice of beers. Dominic was the head guy and so warm and welcoming. He is really good at what he does and makes your visits personal. The area is lovely with lots too see in the area. We were 4x4 but there is the abbey near by the massive lakes with damms and buetiful scenery for walkers too. I think I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomi4G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Lovely part of Wales. Very much enjoyed my 2 night stay here and thanks to Dom for the friendly banter and excellent food. The rooms were very comfortable. Highly recommended and very, very good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I recently stayed at the Black Lion with a group of mates. From the first contact with Claire on booking to arrival some weeks later and meeting Dom, it was a first class experience. All the rooms were good, spacious clean and plenty of hot water. The bar area was first class and the food very good and great value. A hidden gem and happy to recommend .

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manoross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

A warm, friendly and genuine welcome as well as excellent value is at the heart of this historic inn just a mile or so from Strata Florida Abbey. Warm, comfortable rooms in converted buildings, close to a bubbling brook make for a great night's sleep. Waking to wild Wales and a hearty breakfast sets you up for the day if you're walking, cycling or just taking some time out in this characterful village. Rates are excellent, it's quiet and friendly and the tiny bar is extremely cosy. If you're seeking haut cuisine and hand plumped pillows strewn with petals then the Black Lion is not for you. Alternatively if you're after honest, hearty food, a quiet spot in an outstanding landscape and a great base from which to explore then this could be it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CADCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

It would be very hard to find a more relaxing and peaceful place in this area that has all the ingredients to make you feel content and happy. Dominic and Claire have a unique charm and ability to make you feel at home and to feed you well. The outside appearance belies the virtues of a lovely welcoming establishment with separate accommodation that offers you all the comfort that you could require. Within eighteen months I have stayed there three times and each visit has been a delight.
Michael White. Derby

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michael w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontrhydfendigaid
5.3 mi away
Y Talbot
Y Talbot
#1 of 1 in Tregaron
312 reviews
9.6 mi away
George Borrow Hotel
George Borrow Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ponterwyd
143 reviews
11.3 mi away
Conrah Hotel
Conrah Hotel
#4 of 13 in Aberystwyth
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
The Falcondale Hotel
The Falcondale Hotel
#1 of 2 in Lampeter
698 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Black Lion Royal Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Pontrhydfendigaid
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Lion Hotel

Property: Black Lion Hotel
Address: Mill St | Ystrad Meurig, Pontrhydfendigaid SY25 6BE, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Pontrhydfendigaid
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Pontrhydfendig...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Black Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welsh country inn with seven tastefully decorated rooms and great food. Near Strata Florida abbey, Cors Caron and the Hafod estate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Black Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing