We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Good Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mama Rosa

Mama Rosa
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Cullercoats
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really Good Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Birhday meal with 7 adults and 4 kids on a Sunday night in January. Warm welcome, good table and good service. A cross section of starters, mains, and desserts to include specials and vegetarian all perfectly cooked and served well. Even the kids ate all theirs which is unusual for kids these days.
OK it was happy hour and for the first week in January there were quite a few other diners.
One of the best tasty meals I've had for ages and would not hesitate to go back again. Not easy to keep 11 varied diners all happy but Mama Rosa's did with flying colours.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    35
    12
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The food is really good, the staff are friendly and very helpfull. OK, the table cloths are plastic, but dont let that detract from the experience. We love having half/half for mains, both pizza and past, very tasty.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TYandAY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not bad if you have no other option”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have visited Mama Rosa's (along with the other restaurants on the seafront at Cullercoats) before on a number of occasions and they are all pretty consistent in quality and menu. Mama Rosa's I would say is aiming at the happy hour market even though they are fairly successful at keeping the restaurant full after happy hour. The food is a typical English take on Italian food and although tasty tends to be fairly standard - pizza's caked in cheese and slightly overcooked pasta. The staff are friendly and the tables laid out cleverly so you are not closer to the person on the next table rather than the person you came with! I visited in Christmas week and opted for the special starter Bruschetta with horse radish cream cheese, smoked mackerel and marinated peppers which was large and really tasty, for main course I had 50/50 pizza/pasta which was fairly bland. I would recommend here for a quick (or local) pizza if there are no other options, its tasty but nothing really special outside of happy hour.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bokafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food,the best Italian in the area!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Visited Mama Rosa yesterday. Cant praise the restaurant highly enough really. The food was absolutely delicious, excellent in taste & value.

The staff were really friendly & extremely helpful when my son decided to change his order after we had already given it to the waiter.

My husband & I shared an Antipasto starter & it is by far the best ive had in any italian restaurant. Loads of fresh seafood & cold cuts of meats & the most beautiful pate (really yummy), Too much on the plate for one person, it was ideal to share.

I ate half pizza,half risotto & again the flavours were fantastic.

I would really recommend this place to anyone who wants quality flavoursome food in a cosy nice atmosphere with fabulous staff!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank youngy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pretty good, but not as great as we had hoped.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

This is popular restaurant overlooking beautiful Cullercoats bay; the service was very friendly and the dessert menu brilliant. The main menu was, however, rather generic, which was a shame. Some fabulous sounding specials we had noticed a couple of days prior to our visit were not being served, and the replacement choices were unexciting. Having said that, the food was well prepared. Our visit turned out to be a good one, but not the great one we were hoping.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Rosa also viewed

Cullercoats, Tyne and Wear
North Shields, Tyne and Wear
 
Cullercoats, Tyne and Wear
Cullercoats, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Mama Rosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing