We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Did not enjoy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Abcoude

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Abcoude
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abcoude
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Did not enjoy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here because we wanted to be able to travel in to Amsterdam, but were distinctly underwhelmed by the hotel. The receptionist seemed reluctant to find us a parking space when we arrived. We were allocated rooms in 2 separate buildings; the outer door of my block was self-closing and I did not have a phone in the room, which made it hard for us to meet up. My room was OK, overlooking the canal, but my son's was up at the top and very hot.

The receptionist assured us we wouldn't need change to buy tickets to Amsterdam; we did, as our cards didn't work in the ticket machines and it's an unmanned station. Not helpful.

I had breakfast the following morning and it was very uninspiring.

Generally it felt as though nobody really cared about the hotel and the service provided; I wouldn't come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Myndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    29
    13
    5
    2
See reviews for
26
16
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
La Crosse WI
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel was well located for us to stay two nights and walk the village and dine. We also golfed at a nearby course and walked back to the hotel. The rooms were clean and check in was easy. Parking is limited.
We enjoyed the breakfast each morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
119 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012 via mobile

I have been here many times.
I love location, village and the hotel itself.
However, it has been recently renewed . The restaurant is no more as good as before. The dining room is modern and too easy . Food not same level as before. Plus I do not like fact that breakfast is not included. I will probably come back since I have customer closely and there are no other hotels in the area. But it is no more my top hotel in nl.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank VANBREDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

the hotel was not the cheapest but since we were six (4 adults and 2 children) during the tulip festival and only wanted to spend a night near amsterdam, i booked 2 rooms. the rooms were pleasant. amsterdam was just like less than 30 minutes. Abcoude is a calm and pictoresque town. the breakfast buffet at €10 per personne could be more generous. we had to always ask the receptionist to do refils(coffee, orange juice, breads and hams)

Room Tip: don't hope to find a parking slot in the hotel grounds
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swiss_dragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2011

We spent a cold February Monday night here at short notice, partly because other, more expensive, establishments in South Amsterdam were fully booked. The hotel is in the heart of a not unattractive village, close to the Utrecht - Amsterdam motorway. The bedrooms are in a separate block set back from the main road through the village, and thus quiet - you could sleep with the window open. The en-suite room we had was neither big nor luxurious, had a view onto the backs of houses, but was warm and perfectly satisfactory, if a bit drab by modern standards. The owner and his wife run the adjacent restaurant, where you have breakfast, were very pleasant, and made sure everything was kept topped up.

The hotel has some off-street car parking, but not enough for all the guests, and our car spent the night on a free public car park a few minutes away, where, however, most spaces would only allow 2 hours parking after 8 am. The hotel is ten minutes walk from Abcoude railway station with half-hourly trains to Amsterdam Amstel and Central stations and beyond. Since car parking in central Amsterdam is very difficult to find and very expensive when you do, leaving your car at the hotel or station and going by train is an interesting option if you are visiting the city that way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKexpat52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Abcoude for a couple of nights for business purposes in Amsterdam and look forward to going back. Its a small hotel with rooms with outside entrances- mine was right on a canal. The room wasn't four star but very adequate with a large bathroom, comfy beds, mini frig and fantastic view. Very clean and quiet. Great restaurant on the premises and excellent service. Great small walking village too.

Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Karrieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Exceptional restaurant with rooms in a lovely, quiet village on the outskirts of Amsterdam. The dinners were exceptional, both in flavour and presentation.
Very helpful staff.

Regular and reliable bus and train service into the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Worksop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abcoude
2.8 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#219 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
6.2 mi away
Volkshotel
Volkshotel
#42 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
2.8 mi away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#212 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Arena Towers
3.0 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam / Arena Boulevard
9.8 mi away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#162 of 361 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Abcoude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Abcoude

Property: Hotel Abcoude
Address: Kerkplein 7, 1391 GJ Abcoude, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Abcoude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Abcoude
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Abcoude 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Abcoude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing