We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enough”
Review of Hof Beverland

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hof Beverland
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ostbevern
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not enough”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was the overnight stay on the outward and return legs of a trip from UK to Sweden.
I had underestimated the journey times and so we arrived for both visits past 11 at night and left around 10 the following morning. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and the late arrival diod not seem to phase them at all. However it meant that there was not really enough time to do the venue justice.

The rooms are themed, some with internationally recognizable themes some that are more germanic. We stayed in the Zimmer Frei and Star Wars themed rooms. Both were comfortable with similar lay outs. My 2 boys were thrilled by the Star Wars theme, not so sure of Zimmer Frei but liked the neon lighting.
The showers were excellent, the massage facilty very welcome after many hours driving.
The rooms were a little stuffy and hot, we had to borrow a fan on the first occasion. That said if we had arrived at our intended time there would have been ample time to adjust this aspect.

Breakfast was excellent, with a wide selection of foods both hot and cold.

The hotel is a little off the beaten track but very close to a railway station, which of course means a railway line with freight trains. Something to be aware of, but it did not disturb us.

It was very well priced and if we repeat the journey we will probably visit again.

Room Tip: Specify the themed room you require when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JGGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    45
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
31
18
4
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
132 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed there for one night on our way home so we didn´t have the chance to explore the surroundings, but it must be the cutest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The hotel has different themes for the rooms, we got the Lilly Fairy room and our kid loved it because the design was so kids friendly.
My wife loved the style of the breakfast room with its high original steel beams, masonry and even of the rest rooms.
A chapter alone could be written on the originality of the rest rooms, but I’ll stay with that they are the only restrooms I remember in a hotel, ever.
The whole place had a kind of design that was old/new and especially my wife loved it.
Breakfast was great and the staff was very friendly and service minded. You wanted eggs, they’d ask you how you want them? You looked like you was searching for the strawberry jam, they’d bring it (not just point it out), you get the picture.
We probably wouldn’t go there for vacation because where it is situated, in the middle of nowhere, but we would definitely choose it for an overnight stay again!

Room Tip: It’s well off the beaten tracks, but worth the detour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjorn_J73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barseback, Sweden
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

On our way back home we found this little place out of the blue. It turned out to be a good hotel with a very good restaurant. The family ended up in the Camping room which is rather quaint - you literally sleep in a camping wagon. Rooms are simple but clean. Compared to the Movenpick option - different league.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulf P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned from what was one of the best weddings ever which was held in the hotel but it have been more to do with the guests than anything else. OK good things, its outside Munster beside the railway - just 2 train stops and your there, so there is plenty of room for walking the country side, the hotel also has bikes which you can hire. The hotel is a beautiful open plan refurb, has a large reception area, and a bar/restaurant, function room and then a courtyard with seating, a pool at the back with a sauna and other bits. The themed rooms were very good, not sure if they had air con but have to say our room was very comfortable.

On the bad side was the flies, it was terrible, could/would not eat my breakfast on the final day. I mean it was serious, empty used bowls could have 10 flies in them - not joking !

Had my first ever run in with a receptionist- a brown haired girl on the morning of our departure, there was one computer available for guests which was not connected to a printer, we asked if we could print off our boarding passes which was met with no assistance, and an ice cold response as she informed us we have the great honour to use her computer quickly, the website was in German which required constant requests from our host to assist who would mumble something and point at the screen - seriously dampened a great wedding and impression of the hotel.

So - can I suggest you

sort out the flies

remind the young receptionist that when guests pay 360 euro for three nights they have to get every assistance - with a smile,

sort out the printer to the computer that is meant for the guests.

Finally we had the pleasure to witness one of the best barmen we came across in some in Stefan, he ran the show with a smile, knew everyones drink quickly - excellent, and a working example to others on how to conduct yourself in a professional and friendly manner.

Room Tip: they are all good - but ask for the medeival room looks like its on 2 stories
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pdoogon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dirk B, Manager at Hof Beverland, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give a rating here. I am very sorry that you were not completely happy and would like to apologize for any inconvenience.

I would like to respond to your criticism:

The many flies are a problem that is really very difficult to solve. The flies are due to the warm weather and the rural location. We use a lot of UV lamps with electricity at night. Unfortunately, in gastronomic used rooms it is to not allowed to use chemical substances for eliminating flies.

Sorry that you were not happy with the service at the reception.
The public computer can only be used for internet surfing. Our receptionist supports if something has to be printed, but it is certainly understandable that the pc of the reception cannot be used alone. Unfortunately, parts of the group have done this alone and without permission.

Wiht kind regards from Landhotel Beverland
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langeskov
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were very surprised how nice this hotel was. Very good food, nice people, nice rooms. The breakfast was amasing, you could get omelet, scramble eggs made on the spot , super .Everything was perfect, except wifi(minor problem). We can only say positive things about this hotel. We would defenately stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luxork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norge
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Very nice personell, that was helpfull and kind. Very good dinner and a lots of food on the plate. Good prices, even for the food to the children. Nice room that had a theme of camping. The room was over two floor. Children upstairs an the adult downstairs in the campingwagoon. Very roomantic enterior. Nice and clean bathroom. I will recomend this hotell for every one.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miljorypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This is a good quality hotel which appears to focus on conferences and corporate bonding events but it is still worthwhile using if you need to stay in the area. Being a Sunday it was very quiet (it felt like there were only two or three guests) but even so the staff were helpful. The hotel rooms are themed (we were in the asian themed room) and was quite large with good en-suite facilities. The only moan about the room was that there was no Wi Fi - but you could connect free to the internet using a LAN line). Most of the TV stations are in German - there was only CNN in English. Being in the 'middle of nowhere' we thought we thought they might charge high prices for meals but we were pleasantly surprised by both the quality and cost of the food. Parking facilities are good and being opposite the local train station you can get to the main towns.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ostbevern
3.3 mi away
Hotel zur Bever
Hotel zur Bever
#1 of 3 in Telgte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
11.6 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Muenster
6.2 mi away
Ringhotel Landhaus Eggert
Ringhotel Landhaus Eggert
#9 of 49 in Muenster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Best Western Premier Seehotel Krautkraemer
7.1 mi away
Romantik Hotel Hof Zur Linde
5.4 mi away
Gasthaus zur Post
Gasthaus zur Post
#1 of 3 in Ladbergen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hof Beverland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hof Beverland

Property: Hof Beverland
Address: Beverlandplatz 1, 48346 Ostbevern, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Ostbevern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Ostbevern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hof Beverland 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hof Beverland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing