We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality lacking”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Swan at Iver

The Swan at Iver
Ranked #2 of 6 Restaurants in Iver Heath
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Staines, England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Quality lacking”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Went here with my wife for lunch on a Gourmet Society deal. Attentiveness and service were excellent but the quality of the food was poor. Apart from the scallops I had for a starter the rest seemed to be out of packets: the seabass fillets stuffed with crab sounded nice but in reality appeared to be deep frozen, pappy and tasted old. The accompanying mediterranean vegetables were verging on cold and probably microwaved. The salad my wife had with her meal was very old with some leaves not far from being rotten. Pity the calves liver was off - at least this might have been cooked from fresh. The meal was barely worth the 50% Gourmet Society discount. We would have been livid to have paid the full price for such a disappointing meal.
Not surprisingly we were the only people in the restaurant. If they want people to eat here the quality of the food must be improved.
Music too loud and selection very dubious for a restaurant - not at all soothing!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Denbutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    34
    13
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sunbury-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly polite staff & delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

I live practically next door to the Swan but have never visited for food until today when my housemate suggested having Sunday lunch there. The only disappointment was the fact I've never been there before!

My housemate is a vegetarian and they had a good selection of food to choose from. The waiting staff were polite and helpful despite being incredibly busy.

We started with the muffin and hash cake both of which were a good-sized portion and absolutely delicious. I had the rib eye steak which was cooked to perfection and melted in the mouth, the peppercorn sauce was also lovely. The vegetarian Sunday roast was nearly too much to eat, but we both had enough room for the really light and tasty treacle pudding.

The menu is very fairly priced: just make sure you book as the restaurant is very popular (doubtless due to the quality of the food and service). We'll definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Consistent Quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

I go to this restaurant about once a month. The ambience is relaxed, the service is good, and the food is always well prepared and plenty of it. The restaurant cuisine is basically Italian, plus the sort of English food you would expect at a country pub. There is also a bar food menu, but I have not tried that.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbd47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I made a reservation for four of us for Sunday lunch at this lovely country pub. On arrival we were seated immediately and the waitress took our drinks order which then arrived very promptly. Although they had a very extensive menu we all decided to have a roast dinner, reasonably priced at £10.95. All four meals arrived after about ten minutes, very large portions and piping hot. We were also given two dishes of freshly cooked vegetables and a separate large gravy boat of hot gravy. We all agreed that the four roast dinners were excellent, lovely tender meat, large Yorkshire puddings, some creamy swede mash, broccoli, carrots, cauliflower cheese and plenty of succulent roast potatoes cooked in goose fat. The atmosphere in the restaurant was excellent, very family orientated with low background music playing. The service was great; the waitress was very attentive, efficient, polite and courteous. The drink prices were reasonable and there was adequate parking at the rear of the pub. We all enjoyed our visit, and will definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJC1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iver, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Another excellent Gamberino or Gamberoni or something like that”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Great game of football accompanied by an excellent pizza, nice one Adrian, lots of king prawns and anchovies and chillies, ok so I smell like a drain this morning but hey it was worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GriffterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Swan at Iver also viewed

Iver Heath, Buckinghamshire
 
Iver Heath, Buckinghamshire
Stoke Poges, Buckinghamshire
 
Iver Heath, Buckinghamshire
Iver Heath, Buckinghamshire
 

Been to The Swan at Iver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing