We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“IONIAN STAR HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ionian Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ionian Star Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“IONIAN STAR HOTEL”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We are just back from staying at the Ionian Star Hotel. A new experience for us as we generally go self-catering. The hotel was lovely and clean, with the rooms being cleaned every day and fresh towels frequently put in the room. George and his mother Anna were really nice and very helpful. We met lots of lovely people as on the whole there are a lot of regulars that meet up and stay there every year. We had some wonderful conversations with people and also laughs. I have only one small complaint and that was the size of the shower which was tiny. I'm only small but I kept smashing my elbows on the concertina doors. The breakfast was basic but very nice - fresh bread, butter, boiled eggs, cornflakes, jam/marmalade, coffee, tea, orange juice and cake. We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this hotel and

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are quieter but difficult to get and the ones facing the road are not too noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogithecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    28
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
16
71
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Took a last minute booking with Jet 2 as a "surprise" meeting with friends and booked a large room this costing us about £220 each per week. On arrival met by George who was a bit surprised by the large room booking, but said that he would give us a sea view for as long as possible then would have to move us, explaining that Jet 2 would not pay the extra for sea view..So we a pleasant room for nine days the shower was a bit on the small size but the room was adequate with for some reason a large domestic fridge. Breakfast was the same everyday but strangely satisfying. and Anna was always around if you needed a drink though you may have to pay George for it sometime later.
When we moved to mountain view the rooms where the same size but being in an end room we had wrap round shower curtain which had a life of its own, the only drawback whereas before we could sit on our balcony after our days exertions at the front it far too hot to sit there. Noise very quiet sea view and not much more mountain view except maybe when the bars were emptying and you also enjoy the cacophony of the dawn chorus of the cockerels at 3am and again at 4am.
Got our money online would suggest that you take plenty of small denomination euros as 50 euro notes are difficult to spend, as food is cheap in resort and quite often the wine is free

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tobyjugwirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Just been to the Ionian Star,went 14 th May till 21st May and again 4th june till 11 june.
If you want peace and quiet,close to the beach and bars etc this is the hotel for you.
The hotel is spotless,the rooms are spacious the beds very comfortable.
You are made very welcome by George,Anna and family .Thanks for a wonderful holiday.

Room Tip: Sea view are best but all rooms are good.if its sun on the balcony its the front,sea view is only ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stuartbraysford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife & I have been staying at this hotel for the last 8 years and I have got to say it is the best accommodation we have stayed in Alikes.
The hotel is spotless, the rooms are spacious, great sea views if you are lucky enough to get one & well situated for the beaches, restaurant & bars.
George, Anna & the rest of the family are really nice, kind people who can not do enough for you.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrianS1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We returned for our 2nd consecutive year to the Ionian Star.We have stayed at many other places in Alykes and the rest of Greece ,and this hotel is our favorite. All 3 couples in our party agree that the rooms are clean,spacious and with lovely views.We find George and family to be friendly and helpful.Breakfast and pre/post dinner drinks in the lovely quiet garden overlooking the sea especially enjoyable.Already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NottinghamWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

My partner and I have just got engaged so decided to travel to the Ionian star on the strength of the reviews we read here only to be very disappointed. I'm not sure if it was because we arrived at the end of the season but that really shouldn't have made a difference. George, the owner was not the man described in earlier reviews, he didn't talk to us, wasn't in any way helpful, was sullen, grumpy and downright rude. I am not a complaining person but would hate anyone to spend their hard earned dollar in this 'hotel' - I saw probably 20 guests all week, some which were leaving the day after we arrived leaving just a handful of guests. When we asked if it were possible to have a room with a sea view we were told the hotel was full. The hotel was less than a quarter full. We had to ask on day 4 for some clean towels which were grey, grubby and freyed. The bedding got changed on day 5 (2 days before we were coming home) and our room stank basically of very poor sanitation in the loo. I couldn't have a shower the day we were travelling home because it was so bad and my fiance was retching brushing his teeth! The shower is less than a square metre and flooded, meaning everytime you got out of the shower you were wading around in an inch of water. The island itself is absolutely beautiful, the restaurants are fantastic, the beach is wonderful but this hotel is an absolute shocker. Sorry if this offends anyone but I would have rather had this information before we spent the money we did on the only holiday we'll have this year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Spent the 1st 2 weeks in August there. Didnt like our room as it was overlooking the main road and very noisey. George the owner was very helpful and relocated us to a room at the rear with a sea view. The only gripe I have about the rooms is the size of the shower, its tiny. The breakfast was continental,very boring, the same every day. Overall the hotel was spotless,staff were friendly and helpful, Georges mum was a great character,along with Socrates, his father who run the shop.There is no pool. Would defo stay again,great location next to beach,and a very short walk to shops and bars.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigSal1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
0.5 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#5 of 7 in Alykanas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
9.9 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
2.4 mi away
Porta del Mar Beach Hotel
0.2 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 27 in Alykes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ionian Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionian Star Hotel

Property: Ionian Star Hotel
Address: Alykes 29090, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionian Star Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quite resort of Alykes close to some of the most beautiful beaches of the island Ionian Star Hotel is ideal for a relaxing and enjoyable holiday Recently renovated the hotel offers 25 comfortable rooms All have private verandas with lovely view to the sea or the mountain as well as all the modern comforts - TV, Fridge, Telephone, Air condition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Ionian Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionian Star Hotel Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing