We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back in Zakynthos -again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oscar Villa & Studios
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Back in Zakynthos -again”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Once again, we found ourselves captivated by the simple pleasures of sun, relaxation by the pool, lazy mornings and pleasant company. We have been to Alykes in Zakynthos many times and keep returning to Oscar Villas for the same reasons.

Katerina, George & Denis are the perfect hosts who can't do enough to please their guests. From meeting at the airport , to the daily routine of "kalimera" as you meet & chat by the pool to the welcoming evening in Oscar's Bar for a few relaxing drinks both before & after popping down to Alykes town to one of the friendly and inexpensive local restaurants.

The room we had was both well laid out, comfortable and value for money. A good sized balcony, a small but serviceable 'kitchen' area and a spacious bathroom all compliment the overall room size, which had more than adequate storage for our holiday baggage.

We value a holiday where we can relax, do what we want and when we want to. Oscar Villas fit the bill perfectly. Chill by the pool in a sunlounger, walk down the road or hire a car and go over the mountains to some spectacular scenery on the other side of the island.

Thank you Katerina, George & Denis. We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
16
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went on a family holiday in August 2012 to the Oscar villa and Studios and had the best holiday ever. We landed at Zakynthos airport,we were meet by George the owner for our free transfer to Oscar Villa Alikes.
On arrival at Oscar Villa we received a warm, friendly welcome from Katrina and family that set the tone for a fantastic stay. The accommodation was pure luxury it had a fully fitted kitchen, Air con, Jacuzzi bath and much more (bearing in mind the basic standards in Greece). The apartments were cleaned on a daily basis along with the fantastic pool area.
The main heart beat of Alikes is approx 15 minutes away with plenty of tavernas and bars to sit and relax. The whole resort is geared up to cater for the traditional English family. Definitely worth walking to the near Alikanas beach for the shallow waters that are ideal for the kids and a cool breeze to take away the scorching heat.
All in all the best family holiday we have ever had, At the end of our 14 nights George transfered us back to the airpot free of charge.George and Katrina were the perfect hosts i cant recommed them enough, A fantastic hoilday all round. So we have already booked with George and Katrina for 2013. If you want the party life then you need to go to Laganas, if not then get yourself a relaxing holiday break at Oscar Villa and Studios Alikes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ben d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Oscar Villa and we really recommend the accommodation and location of the villa. We have stayed in the junior suite and it is like a home from home. The room is beautiful and very modern. Katerina and George do their up-most to make you feel welcome as do all the family. This villa has the advantage of having its own exclusive pool, bar area and terrace but should you want something to eat you can walk across the lime trees and order food at a bar that is part of another complex (but run by by the same family). The location of the villa is stunning, there are fruit trees and a beautiful backdrop of a mountain. The Villa hosts a weekly quiz and BBQ which is excellent value but should you want a change the center of Alykes village is a 10 minute walk . The walk to the center is quiet and and here you will find an excellent choice of restaurants and bars that cater for families and couples. The food is excellent value and my children love eating out in Alykes as you can cater for any diet no matter how fussy the eater. We will definitely be returning again this summer as it is just a perfect place to keep adults and children entertained. We always hire a car and the island has lots of lovely places to visit. The windmill in the North is a must. You will definitely not be disappointed with the high quality of this villa and it is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank L0u74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2007

We arrived at Soula Studios on Thursday 19th July for a 2 week stay and the weather was incredible for the whole 2 weeks, it's hard to believe that Zante and the UK are on the same planet. Soula studios, Sellini studios and Theo studios all being part of one complex. You are about a 20 minute stroll from the centre of Alykes and the beach where you can find numerous places to eat and drink and find a supermarket to suit your needs.
The best supermarket is about a 20 min walk in the opposite direction, turn left out of the complex, up to the t-junction, turn right and it's up the hill on the right, it's where all the greeks go and it's cheaper overall then the shops in the resort and a lot cheaper than the on site shop.
I have to totally agree that the the pool bar prices are totally unreal, 2.90 euro for a portion of chips!!, burger and chips will cost you just short of 7 euro!!, a bottle of mythos 2.50 euro!!, the list goes on, it's cheaper to eat in the Uk. You can buy a bottle of mythos from the on site supermarket just across the pool for anything between 1.10-1.25 euro depending on who serves you, so how can they justify the price of 2.50 at the pool bar which is 20 seconds away across the pool. If they dropped there prices far more guests that we spoke to would have been happy to spend their money there including us.
The location is great, beautiful scenery, the complex is kept nice and clean and you can spend your day relaxing by the pool, go down to the beach or go on one of the many trips, I recommend you book your trips in the resort, a lot cheaper than your tour operator and just as good. If you're a light sleeper take some cotton wool for your ears as the cockerel across the road can start as early as 3.30am and doesn't know when to stop which then seems to get all the other cockerels crowing.
We hired a scooter to get about, 85 euro for 10 days, we went up to the blue caves on it and paid 7 euro for the boat trip which was really enjoyable, well worth a visit as is the shipwreck which we did another day. The beach at the shipwreck is rough shingle so take something to protect your feet.
Overall we had a really good two weeks and were upset to be leaving, if anyone wants to know anything don't hesitate to ask as there's probably lots that I think of once I've posted this review. Alan. alan_biker1@yahoo.com

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanHopkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2006

Just got back from two weeks stay at the Theo Studios with my boyfriend . The studios themselves are part of a complex run by one family, it also consists of the Soula studios (which i think are the same as Theo) and the sellini (which seem a bit nicer). Our room was basic but ok, it consisted of a small (slightly smelly) bathroom, a tiny kitchenette, bedroom and balcony. As we were self catering we had expected the kitchen to comprise of more than just a hob as it really was impossible to cook anything other than soup so be prepared to eat out every night! Also we got given two single beds which couldn't be pushed together as one mattress was higher than the other which was slightly annoying. Be warned that the cockerels outside have no concept of time, making noise literally all night and building work was being done next door so we didn'g get many peaceful lie ins.

The pool is really nice and clean and the whole complex is set a bit out of town (about 10 minutes walk) surrounded by the mountains which makes it a really beautiful place to stay. If you don't like walking perhaps you'd be advised to book a hotel more in the centre but we personally like being further out as it was far more scenic and relaxed. The Complex also consisted of a bar (Oscar Bar), a snack bar and a mini market. Be warned that you these places are a massive RIP OFF but given as we were in resort prices were all extortionate. We paid 6 euros for milk and cereal one morning and tuna was 1euro 80 cents which is ridiculous. You're probably better off eating meals in the local tavernas, you can get a lovely english breakfast at Fantasia for 3 euros 50 cents which was certainly alot more value for money than a bowl of coco pops at the same price!
Fantasia, a restaurant with 36 years experience, also did lovely evening meals, I can recommend the sea bass and the service is friendly (although be prepared to wait a while for your food to be prepared, which is fine considering we got given a free caraffe of wine both times). Saying that we ate so well, all tavernas did food of high quality. The set menu at the indian/chinese was good value for money and the service was friendly and decor was good.

The owner of the hotel, a man named Jimmy seemed to be loved and loathed in equal measures. Most of the guests we spoke to seemed to think he was a good guy although I had to say we personally found him unapproachable, arrogant, rude and did not seem at all welcoming, he never asked if we were ok and when we asked him questions he was abrupt and unfriendly. Other guests we spoke to found him aggressive towards there children, pushing a young boy back to his bedroom at one point as he thought it was too late for him to still be up (even though his baby is up till all hours). Also I sympathised for his poor Niece Anna who literally gets shouted at constantly all day by the family asking her to do things for them. Don't expect a smile form the girl who runs the snack bar either. His mother who runs the shop was very friendly , as was the guy who ran Oscar Bar.

In general I would recommend Theo Studios as a place to stay if you are happy to put up with it being quite basic and want to eat out every night (which we were). The general location of the hotel was great and we met alot of people who return every year.

The Resort of Alikes itself, is very small, if you don;t like lairy drunks and are a couple or family its perfect. But with only a few Tavernas/Bars there is not alot to do. Luckily if the weather is good (it was still boiling at the beginning of september), the beach is clean and beautiful and so you can spend alot of time there and is very good for children. It costs 7euros a day to hire 2 sunbeds and a parasol. The resort uses horse and cart instead of taxis which was sweet. You can easily take one (or walk) to the neighbouring resort of Alykanas for a bigger selection of tavernas and bars. The Beach offers watersports, costs around 40 euros each for paragliding, 30 euros each for jet ski hire, 15 euros for banana boats etc. You can also see the island of Kefalonia on the horizon which you can visit for around 37 euros by ferry with a local tour operator.

The Resort was typically very english so any culture vultures would have to look a bit further afield for that kind of thing. For 10 euros each you can take the Trainaki, a train that takes you into the mountains to show you a museum with pieces from the old Zakynthian way of life, you get treated to some raisins and local wine and the tour guide was lovely, would deff. recommend!

We would also reocmmend taking some tours, although do not book with your agent, they give guests welcome talks the morning they arrive so they don't have a chance to go into the centre and find a cheaper one locally (half the price). Dionisos Tours were good, the shipwreck cruise is deff. worthwhile, although we were fine they dont tell people that if the weathers bad they cant dock by the wreck so just be warned. We did a half day tour which was more than enough, i think a full day on the boat would have been too much. (Cost about 17 euros each) We also did the Turtle Trek, we failed to see any turtles and apparently this isnt unusual so dont get too excited , its a nice trip anyway as you get to take a boat around the south of zakynthos and swim in caves.
I'd also recommend a trip to Zakynthos Town, it cost us 7 euros each through Dinoisos Tours (well actually 10 each because the guy didnt give us our change but nevermind) The port is lovely although i wasn't as impressed with the shops on offer. Make sure you check out the Monasteries which are absolutely beautiful.

Also you have to go horse riding with Yiannis, its run form the family farm and you get taken round olive groves and local countryside. His family are all very friendly and he is a charming and pleasant man. One of the highlights of our trip!

In all we had a great time, perfect for people who want to relax and enjoy good food and good wine in a nice setting. Make sure you account for how expensive food and drink is, although we managed to eat out every day and do tours for about 400 pounds each for two weeks.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
12 Thank simmondsanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
1.3 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
247 reviews
1.1 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
228 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Alykes
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
0.4 mi away
Clio Hotel
Clio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Alykes
407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Montes Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Villa & Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Villa & Studios

Property: Oscar Villa & Studios
Address: Alykes, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Oscar Villa & Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oscar Villa & Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Villa & Studios Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing