We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault it”
Review of Clio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Alykes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed at the Clio in July. For us the location was fine as it was quiet at night. It is located behind the salt beds and is about a 10 min stroll which was fine for us but some might find it hard in the heat. The apartments are spotless and modern, with a shower cubicle which is fairly rare on the Greek Islands. There is a lift which was nice when taking our cases to the room. The owners are very nice to the repeat stayers and those who spend their evenings and day around the pool Each to their own but we like to go out and try different places although the prices there were reasonable for an hotel. Breakfast was included in our price and it was a buffet. Really nice to be fair. Cereal, fresh bread rolls with cheese, ham, tomatoes. There was greek yoghurt, boiled eggs, juice and tea/coffee, and cakes. You could buy a cooked breakfast at a very reasonable price. We couldn't fault the place and would highly recommend the apartments to anyone thinking of Zante. The resort was wonderful, really enjoyed our stay. The beach is lovely but very crowded. There is a lovely walkway along a river which goes into the next resort. Great place to relax and unwind. Would most certainly go back and stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tigerfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (431)
There are newer reviews for Clio Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 431 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at Clio the first week in October as my sister and brother in law recommended this highly. The holiday started off ok. The hotel is very clean, well situated and the owners are friendly.It was the last week of the season though and unfortunately from the second day the weather took a turn for the worst and we only had one other day when it didn't rain, thunder or lightening. It was very cold, we were not fully equipped for the weather with wellies and thick jumpers and socks and there was no where in the hotel except bed where you could go to get warm. Silva apologised profusely for the weather which was beyond his control but it was so bad we were hotel bound for most of the time. The scenery was overtaken by low mist and torrential rain . On the one dry day we went on the Trainaki trip to a museum and tavern and had a lovely time . Most restaurants were closed though those open did provide nice food but again because most eating was outside it was cold. We may go back to Zante eventually, the people are genuinely friendly and I'm sure when the sun is turned on it must be a very nice place. Those lovely sunbeds we only remember as very wet and soggy. We were exhausted when we arrived home and both of us had colds.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 999HelenF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Not storms or power cuts could dampen the spirits of the guests and staff.
As darkness descended and the power over the whole area failed the resilience and fortitude of the staff came forth. A "Blitz" spirit crept over all of the guests in the full dining room and as candles and emergency lighting were distributed there was a credible buzz amongst the guests.
Nothing was too much trouble for the ever attendant staff.
Booked independently of tour operators we were given a fantastic deal.
Although the weather was a little unpredictable this was more than made up for by the family who again made us so welcome.
We devastated their stock of Port which was soon replaced and even special glasses produced.
We were able to reciprocate by including the family in our Scottish themed evening where Haggis and tartan was the order of the day. We dressed for the occasion in tartan trews and tie and the ladies wore dresses with sashes. The haggis and oatmeal biscuits were enjoyed by Greek and Welsh alike and gifts were exchanged.
Just a small token of the esteem in which we hold the entire family and staff of this fantastic and intimate hotel.

Room Tip: Any room will fit even the most choosey customer.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank purrr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked my parents into the Clio as we were staying next door in the Roulla and could not get them in with us. Our flights were with Olympic and were on time. We were getting a taxi to the Roulla my parents had an included transfer by the Clio. Fortis turned up at the airport and we all remembered him from our previous visit and he offered to take us all despite us not booking him and staying in a different hotel. What a great guy and didn't want any money.

The Clio is a spotless well maintained hotel with lifts so my parents had no problems. The staff are the best and Silva does some great food very simple rustic dishes. Ask him to do the Village sausage in 3 types of peppers as a side dish WOW.

He was always giving us something new to try. I can't praise them all highly enough best sunbeds in all of Greece. They are the nicest family you could wish to meet. I can't wait to meet them all again. We were staying at the roulla next door and his first words were 'welcome back I will look after your parents as if they were my own and please make my hotel your home this week'
This was in his basic english/greek but thats how much they care.

Free Air con and safe if you book direct and free transfer and breakfast.

See you all next year. Missing you all.

Room Tip: The higher the better try Room 20 good view of the mountains and you could just see the sea.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pocketpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Clio for a week and this family-run hotel was a great choice. Attention to detail, clean rooms and a quiet setting. The location was a 5 minute walk to town and the beach. We rented quads for 15 Euros a day to get around and explore the island. Thanks Lionitius for putting up with all of us for the week.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 0210murphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just got back from 2 weeks at the Clio. Rooms were excellent, and unlike many other places we weren't bothered by the cleaners at 9am. Most days they didn't appear til after 12, which was great for a good lie-in, which after all is what a holiday starts with. Service is excellent, Food is good too, and the portions are huge, which can be a problem if you don't eat a lot, staff are inclined to think there is a problem when there isn't.
Only problems I had was when I asked for a mini english breakfast at 1.30pm, and was told it wasn't served in the afternoons, which is fair enough, so we went to the hotel next door and got one, and ended up staying for a couple of hours there instead and spent another 20 euros, so maybe they could look at that as lost trade.
Also when I ordered a cheese ommelette for my wife and asked if she could have a spoonful of beans with it, again no... yet beans on toast was on the menu too?
Apart from that, faultless.
I would recommend it to anyone as an example of good greek hospitality.

Room Tip: Try and get off the ground floor, the gardens are well kept, but all grass has mozzies and other ins...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed at the Clio from 1st to 12th September on a room only basis. The apartment was the best we have had in Greece, we were in room 15 on the first floor. It had fantastic views looking out to the hills...perfect! The apartment was a good size and very clean. The pool area and gardens are kept to a very high standard and the best sunbeds I have ever come across and the location of the Clio is spot on. It is owned by a lovely family who all work very hard to make your holiday perfect. During our stay we had some excellent breakfasts, lunch time snacks and evening meals all at a very reasonable price. This was our first time to Alykes and I'm sure it will not be our last. Best wishes to you all at The Clio and we'll hopefully see you again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Debs848e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
10.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,253 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
700 reviews
6.7 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
The Bay Hotel & Suites
The Bay Hotel & Suites
#1 of 18 in Vasilikos
620 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clio Hotel

Address: Alykes 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alykes
Price Range: $46 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clio Hotel Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing