We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Clio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Alykes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The rooms are clean, the food is fantastic and the owners brilliant. Everything from the bar is reasonably priced and a long list of cocktails available at request (which my partner and I took full advantage of!). The hotel is ideal if you are looking for a quiet relaxation holiday and not if you are of the lively variety. The location has a number of restaurants and bars which all seem to serve both Greek and English food. Everyone is very friendly and
The hotel's Greek night is a must and always good fun. On the whole a fantastic holiday and would recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    38
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
135
180
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Have never stayed in any hotel where the owners cared so much about their guests.
The whole family are so kind and caring and can not do enough for you nothing is to much trouble .
We stayed half board and all the evening meals are prepared by Silva (Dad) he makes sure you have enjoyed every last mouthful always offering more which is impossible as the portions are so generous.
He will happily cook you something else if you don't like the special of the day .
The rooms, pool, restaurant and gardens are immaculate and its hard to resist the sunbeds by the pool so comfy more like something you would find in a 5 star hotel.
Can understand now why so many guests return we will be joining them.
Meet some lovely people especially frank and Joan from Newcastle enjoyed our daily chats around the pool. If you get to read this Joan we did come down at 8 to say goodbye but sadly we missed you . Maybe we will see you there again sometime.
Thank you again Silva ,Alexandra,Fotis and Leo .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 31cal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

This family run hotel could not do enough for us. Our girl aged 12 was taken ill and they called the dr and were prepared to run us any where at any time. The hotel is very clean and well kept around the pool and gardens. will definately return to the clio. excellent excellent excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarah4666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Like a lot of contributors, this wasn't our first time to the Clio Hotel, however this was the first time we've ever been back to the same place for our summer holiday. We normally like to see different places, but the staff at this hotel make your holiday so relaxing that we couldn't resist it. From the pickup and welcoming drink on arrival to the hugs and kisses on departure there is nothing that is too much trouble to the family and staff, they are simply great. Silver serves the best food on the island, Fotis makes sure that your stay is as comfortable as possible, Leonardo is always willing to help arrange a trip or boat or car hire and Sophia (sorry, can't work out how to type a theta symbol) is keen to teach you how to order wine in Greek.

Recommendations: book direct through the hotel; half board is fantastic value - the food is superb; Greek night is great entertainment; take the train tour up to Pigadakia - it looks cheesy, but when you come back you realise why everyone waves (possibly due to the free village wine); take a trip to Limnionas - great snorkelling.
Watch out for: bus ride in to Zakynthos town is only €1.70 each way per person, but the 10:30 bus gets you there for around 11:00 and the next bus back is not until 17:00 - not too bad, but most of the shops shut for a couple of hours during the early afternoon so you will see a lot of your fellow bus passengers as you all painfully plod the hot streets looking for something to do (I believe a taxi is around €22-25 each way).

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Sean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was our second stay at the Clio in Alykes and we had another brilliant time.

When we left last year we booked again the day after we got home and are so glad we did. This time we stayed 14 days and booked direct with the hotel allowing us to get the transfer with the family at the hotel and the air conditioning in included in the price.

The kids were happy the whole holiday meeting up with children they made friends with last year who were also repeat visitiors to the hotel. We were welcomed again with drinks and a fresh platter of fruit the same as last year and the children were given a present each of a soft toy from Silver which is such a nice touch.

We stayed bed and breakfast which was buffet style and more than adequate for us and on the day we fancied a cooked breakfast just ordered from the menu. We also ate at the hotel for lunch and for dinner several times and the portions are very generous and the food is good.

The accommodation is very clean as is the pool. Another very good holiday we would not hesitate to recommend this hotel and know we will return again.

Thanks to Silver, Fotis, Leonardo and the rest of the family at the Clio.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Family rooms which are very spacious and on the 1st or Second floor we have stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank teaharebear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is my seventh holiday in Zante, fourth for my husband and our two girls (now 14 & 17) and the third time we have stayed at the Clio. We would not stay anywhere else. Family run, there is always a warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. We arrived at 05:45, (the hotel had arranged a taxi to collect us from the airport) and Silva waiting for us with drinks and fruit. We stayed for 10 days and Silva took us back to the airport. I had booked our flights in December and then booked our family room direct with the hotel, and the Clio provided our transfers. There is a lovely pool, with nice comfy sun loungers where we spent the first couple of days relaxing and swimming and there are stunning views across the hills. It is a short walk to the beach and centre of Alykes - the sea is warm and great for swimming and snorkeling. The Greek night on Friday was great fun and good value, the meal was really tasty. I have no hesitation in recommending the Clio to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at the Clio for the second time last week. The hotel was very clean all over. The pool loungers were so comfortable. Unfortunately my husband had an accident on the first night of our holiday and had to go to hospital. Silver the owner and his family were wonderful they picked us up from the hospital and took us the next day to pick up the pescriptions. They were really caring and came to our room to check my husband was ok. I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel to anyone staying in Alykes.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have lovely views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JenLittlehampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
10.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
6.7 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 49 in Tsilivi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
5.9 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 49 in Tsilivi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#1 of 12 in Zakynthos Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
10.4 mi away
Contessa Hotel
Contessa Hotel
#1 of 27 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
9.9 mi away
Louis Zante Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clio Hotel

Property: Clio Hotel
Address: Alykes 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clio Hotel Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing