We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Holiday.”
Review of Clio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Clio Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Alykes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
north wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Relaxing Holiday.”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here back in June and had a peaceful and relaxing time. The weather was wonderful and not too hot so we were able to chill in the peaceful pool area. We had a lovely welcome with a platter of fresh fruit, free drink each,and a bottle of water to take to the room, a really lovely touch.
The room was very spacious and clean and my only complaint would be the bird noise right outside the room early in the morning!! Alykes itself is a nice resort with some really good restaurants, in one week we only had one poor meal. Prices for food and drink were very good everywhere you went. I have been on two cruises this year and even though I enjoyed them they are not that relaxing as you are out every day and there always seems to be something to do, but our time at The Clio was one of total relaxation and we are planning on returning next year, something I have never done before. Thank you to all the family for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vegas21uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    40
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
143
195
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tyrone
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing week at the Clio hotel. Everything about the hotel is positive. The family who run it are friendly and so hard working. They obviously take great pride in maintaining this spotlessly clean hotel. The rooms are nice, cleaned daily, with good showers and cooking appliances. The pool area is great: best sunbeds we've ever used! They are very comfortable and the location is so peaceful, so relaxing by the pool is just perfect. It's about a 5-10 minute walk to the beach and resort centre, and it's a pleasant stroll. We ate in the hotel once in the evening, as we like to get out and about and see other places. The food was good, and the portions were massive.
We would recommend the Clio hotel to anyone who is looking for a pleasant, friendly and relaxing base for exploring beautiful Zakynthos. We will definitely return to Clio next year :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aideen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just returned from a week staying at Clio Hotel. Rooms were spotlessly clean and serviced daily, also thought it was good that air con, TV and room safe were included in price of the room. Nice pool area/bar and the hotel is a 5-10 min walk from beach, tavernas bars and shops.
Loved the hotel, Alykes and Zante, great holiday!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spurs505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

An exceptional family run establishment where nothing was too much trouble for my wife and I. I had the best ( and possibly the biggest) steak I have ever had. My brother and sister in law, who were also staying there were joned by my sister and brother in law who who were in a less than satisfactory accommodation by the camp site and they were also surprised by the service, the family atmosphere and the welcome we received every day from the whole family. They are changing to the Clio for next year.
Papa the chef took real pleasure in ensuring that we had a fantastic time. The sun beds were of a suprior standard and despite the initial rain they did not take too long to dry out. Bedding and towels were changed every other day and the rooms cleaned to a high standard every day - thank you Helena. When we arrived we were treated to a complimentery fresh fruit platter and a drink while the check in was taken care of. The family also helped with the subterfuge surrounding the surprise of our arrival as the rest of the family were not expecting to see us. When we also took over part of the dining area for a special meal they also assisted with the decoration of the tables with Scottish bunting. I cannot stress highly enough that it was the family who made our stay so memorable. It is not often that the owner of the hotel will carry your cases down to the pick up point for your transfer. He also offered the use of his sons car - a beautiful Citroen convertable that was parked near by - free of chage. We met some fantastic people and hope to meet them again on our return.
To nearly quote Arnie Swartseniegger - We'll be back.
Chris and Dave - ( room 12 ) 17-27th Sept '12

Room Tip: Our room - 12, opened up to a view of the mountains, some things you just cannot buy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank purrr123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welling, Kent
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is a lovely hotel, very clean and comfortable with large well equiped rooms. Breakfast was good enough for us and food in general was very good. The only fly in the ointment was the fact that the fantastic sunbeds (best I've ever experienced in any hotel) were absolutely soaking wet due to the heavy storms of that weekend. We consequently spent most of the first few days on the beach as the beds around the pool were taking an age to dry. I know we have no control of the weather but everybody knew the rain was coming and a simple stacking away or covering of the beds would have solved the problem. This was our only problem and I would have given 5 stars if it wasn't for the beds. Fotis is a lovely, attentive man and along with his family run an exceptional hotel. I would go back and definetely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HillyWelling_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just arrived back from our second visit to the Clio Ht Alykes Zante . A little oasis at the back of the village.The rooms are modern and spotless,thanks to Helena the lovely lady who cleans them.A beautiful pool area with sunbeds to die for.Last but not least the wonderful family who are the owners and look after you fantasticly, and for whom nothing is to much trouble.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Just returned from two weeks half board at the Clio Hotel. Having stayed in countless hotels around the world in the last forty years, this hotel has to be the one which I most felt at home with. The staff and family were so kind, helpful and attentive.
This is not a luxury hotel, but the studio rooms are spacious enough for two. Refrigerator, electric kettle, excellent and controllable individual air conditioning, balcony, TV, room safe, wardrobe and good room lighting are all provided. The bathrooms are basic but more than adequate, with sliding doors to the shower enclosure. Plenty of hot water always available.

Being on half board, there was a fixed menu every evening. The food turned out to be exceptional value compared with local restaurants. The food was mostly meat based served with potatoes / chips, various side dishes including a large dish of salad. The meat was always tasty and tender, excellently cooked and always hot.

Breakfast was typically continental, with bread, sliced meats and cheese, yogurt, honey etc.

There were always spare comfortable sunbeds around the swimming pool at anytime of the day, and the place never felt crowded.

The hotel is a five to ten minute stroll from the beach and most shops in Alykes which has most facilities including a decent supermarket “Montes”. Note that there is no pharmacy in Alykes, and the doctors have been known to charge inflated prices for simple medical treatment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smolenskoy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
10.2 mi away
Venus Hotel & Suites
Venus Hotel & Suites
#1 of 30 in Kalamaki
1,214 reviews
5.7 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
666 reviews
6.7 mi away
Balcony Hotel
Balcony Hotel
#2 of 51 in Tsilivi
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Contessina Hotel
Contessina Hotel
#3 of 51 in Tsilivi
1,251 reviews
10.1 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#6 of 27 in Argassi
255 reviews
1.0 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 7 in Alykanas
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clio Hotel

Property: Clio Hotel
Address: Alykes 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Clio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Clio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clio Hotel Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing