We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hotel hold my best holiday memories :)”
Review of Koukounaria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koukounaria Hotel
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Aberporth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hotel hold my best holiday memories :)”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Well..where to start. I love this hotel and have loved it for as long as i can remember. Have been here over 15 times with my mum and dad and some friends and have never had a bad experience :) Only a stones throw away from the village of Alikanas and just 2 minutes out of Alykes. Dont think we will ever stop visiting. Keep up the good work. From the Bradleys x

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kizzi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    89
    34
    8
    10
See reviews for
207
107
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
formby
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel over the years, and it gets better and better every year. The hotel area is clean and as the sun goes down the smell of the night flowers and trees is wonderful. It is a family run hotel that delivers a wonderful service in a part of the world that feels magical for myself and family. There is a restaurant at the hotel " Lino Bistro" which delivers local food that is very tasty with good service and always a smile. All in all we believe that this is an excellent place to stay, also pool area with a large pool and children's area with a lovely outdoor jacuzzi The poolside snack bar and blues bar is a lovely place to enjoy your lunch and in the evening nice place to sit and watch the sun go down over the mountain .

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank formbyfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked a weeks stay at Koukounaria Hotel through Thomas Cook the last week in September for me, my wife and also a friend from Australia. I wanted to find out information about car hire, airport pick up and half board so I emailed the hotel direct. I got a timely response from the very lovely Claudia with all the information I needed and also a detailed note explaining the extra costs when booking through Thomas Cook. Next time I will book ddirect with the hotel.

We arrived in the early hours to be greeted by Yanni and we were driven to the hotel in no time.The amazing smell of the night jasmine when we reached the hotel is something we will always remember. Eleni greeted us warmly at the reception desk and were quickly checked in. Yanni took our luggage to our beautiful rooms and we were asleep before the Thomas Cook bus dropped off the other guests :=)

We woke up to brilliant sunshine and amazing views of the pool and country setting and headed down for our very tasty breakfast. My wife went into the fantastic pool for her morning swim routine (swam a mile every day). She told me it was one of the cleanest pools at any resort she had stayed at and also found the temperature and pool length perfect for doing laps.

We headed down to the beautiful beach and spent a great afternoon hanging out, the water is really warm and great to swim in. My Australian friend has some mobility problems but had no problem with the walk to and from the beach. Walked back up to the hotel for a relaxing drink by the pool and had a great chat with Tassos who was a really attentive barman. Back up to our room for a wee nap and then headed down to dinner. We booked the half board and what a great deal it is ! Mina runs the Bistro and does such a great job ! The food is amazing and authentic Greek cuisine. It was the last week of the season so we were given free wine, starters and desert.......great service and always with a smile. Some of the best food I've had in Greece, always fresh and really big portions.

We booked a car for 3 days at a cost of 80 euro's and got to see Zakynthos at our own pace and we also knew where we were going every day due to the great detailed directions that the hotel gave us in a handout, we loved it !! The car was great to drive and spotless when we got it.

This family run hotel is very clean and such a relaxing place to stay, the staff are really helpfull and friendly......always smiling and saying hello when you meet them. There is a reason that they have so many repeat guests as everyone is treated like family !!

We found the mozzies to be quite hungry when we were there so bring repellant. You hear the roosters, geese etc so bringing earplugs might be a good idea if you are a light sleeper.

We did the train ride to the mountains and had a great time, good wine, good food and olive oil ! we bought olive oil and brought it back home to Canada as it was that good.We just ran out of it too :=(

The Thomas Cook Rep Sharon was such a lovely girl and really helpfull, she arranged for my friend to get a return flight seat with extra room. We paid her and were all set. It was well worth the extra cost.

Thanks to lovely Claudia, Eleni,Effie,Yanni, Tassos and the gang for treating us like part of their family and we plan on returning 2013 or 2014.

Stephen, Tracy and Margaret.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank SteveTracy_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here in 2012 and loved every second of it! It was our first time on the island of Zakynthos. The rooms were nice, service good and weather brilliant! Close to the beach. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have stayed at the Koukounaria three times now, once with my two teenaged daughters, once with my husband and once on my own and each time has been a sheer delight. The rooms are well equipped and spotless, as is the whole hotel. The location is ideal and the grounds are kept immaculate with an array of fruit trees, palms and not forgetting the beautiful smell of night jasmine when the sun goes down. Elena, John, Mina, Claudia and Effy are warm and genuine people and Elena and John in particular showed me great kindness I'll never forget. The pool area is well served and the pool itself is ideal for children and serious swimmers, there are two smaller pools for younger children. The bistro run by the lovely Mina serves the most delicious food you will eat in Alykes in a stylish and relaxing atmosphere.

In short, the Koukounaria is the perfect retreat for families, couples or even the solitary traveller and I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kbouchier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koukounaria, Manager at Koukounaria Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear K.,

thank you ever so much for your beautiful review! We really appreciate that you spent some time to share your impressions of our hotel with the "TripAdvisor community".
We wish you and your family a beautiful winter and hope to see you also next year again!
All the best from the Koukounaria-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

22 of us travelled to Zante for a family holiday to celebrate my Mothers 60th birthday. We stayed in the Koukounaria Hotel, some for 1 week+some for 2 weeks.
The hotel is beautiful,spacious and clean..the staff are amazing! Nothing was too much trouble.
Claudia on reception organised my Mothers birthday, she arranged a huge cake, fireworks (compliments of the hotel!) banners,streamers,flowers+a room upgrade.My Mother said it was the best birthday she'd ever had!!!
Thank-you Claudia!! xx
We were half board and the food was amazing.. I am now a moussaka addict! Thanks to Mina and her fabulous food I will never be thin :)
You must pop upstairs next to the Lino Bistro to find Effie's little secret haven where she'll make you the best pancakes known to man..and if you don't clear your plate there will be trouble! haha

On the down side.. because we'd booked through Thomas Cook all the extra's had to be paid for seperately+it worked out extremely expensive.. our room was for 5 people so it had 2 air con units in... it worked out almost 200 euro's for 2 weeks..you had to pay extra for the t.v,safe,air con,kettle+hairdryer... only if you'd booked through Thomas Cook!
The alcohol worked out quite expensive too..it was 4.90 for a shot+then about another 2 euro's for the coke to go with it. The best alternative was to drink cocktails made by Tassos they were 4.90 each+gorgeous!
The Koukounaria is a quiet hotel so if it's night life you're after this isn't the hotel for you.
The pools were lovely+clean+the kids loved just playing in the pool all day+a couple of nights there was a pool party on so they got to stay in half the night too!

Room Tip: if you want quiet then don't ask for a room in the pool building it gets rather noisy on a night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarrassFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koukounaria, Manager at Koukounaria Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Barrass Family,

thank you very much for your detailed review and for your photos. This helps us to improve our services where necessary and it helps future guests to have "the whole picture" of our hotel and what we offer.
We are really proud and happy that your birthday surprise for your mother was such a success, bless her. Please send our regards to her.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again in our Koukounaria.

Greetings to everyone, take care

Eleni, Mina, Claudia & the team of Koukounaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

What a fantastic place to stay! Beautiful surroundings of olive groves and cyprus trees, with the mountains in the west and the Island of Kefalonia in the distance to the north east. A five minute stroll to the very clean, sandy beach in the village of Alykes.
We stayed at the end of September, so everything was quite quiet, but thats what we wanted. Everyday, the temperature was up in the 30's. Word of warning though are the in the mozzies! They are silent and tiny. Take a plug in insecticide with you and keep the bathroom window shut.
The room was cleaned and and bathroom serviced every day. The beds are a bit hard though. Beautiful big swimming pool that is not over chlorinated surrounded by a clean sun lounging area.
6 packs of 1 litre bottled water are available in the lobby at 2 euros at all times and you can hire a kettle, safe key and aircon remote as a package for 30 euro.
We tried the restaraunts in the village, but they were blaring pop music or sky sports. However, the on-site hotel Bistro is superb. The food is delicious and in good portions. Great environment to chat over your meal with light jazz music in background and is excellent value for money.
You will not be disappointed staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
koukounaria, Manager at Koukounaria Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Tim,

thank you for your nice contribution on TripAdvisor. Your review is a beautiful description of the relaxed atmosphere somebody will find in our hotel.
Also Mina says hello and thanks you for your valuable comment about the restaurant.

It would be nice to see you next year again. We wish you a beautiful and peaceful winter.

The Manager & team of Koukounaria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
0.7 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
9.8 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#4 of 27 in Argassi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
5.8 mi away
Mabely Grand Hotel
Mabely Grand Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kampi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Eco Resort Zefyros
Eco Resort Zefyros
#3 of 5 in Tragaki
4.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
0.2 mi away
Montes Apartments & Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koukounaria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koukounaria Hotel

Property: Koukounaria Hotel
Address: Katastari, Alykes 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Koukounaria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 4star hotel with total 78 studios, apartments and deluxe suites is situated in a beautiful lush green environment of colorful flowers and very old pine trees, with stunning sea and mountain views, just a few minutes walk (300m) from the center of Alykes and the wide, child friendly sandy beach with its shallow waters. We have impressed our guests, couples and families, of whom many are coming back for years, with our high quality services within a relaxed and quiet atmosphere. You will hear the village roosters, goats, swallow parents feeding their babies and many more village sounds in the morning; the smell of jasmine will captivate you in the evening, and at the same time you will enjoy 4-star services in a family environment. We are a little different than the usual 4-star hotels: You will not find staff with the typical uniforms and serious faces - we are a large family who is committed to serve their guests and we love to do this with a smile and a personal touch. Every guest is like a friend of the family that we haven't seen for a long time: we will offer the traditional Zakynthian warm hospitality. We want you to feel comfortable, relaxed and want you to get to know the Zakynthian kitchen, just enjoy your stay at the KOUKOUNARIA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Koukounaria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koukounaria Zakynthos
Koukounaria Hotel Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing