We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Astoria
Nearby Hotels
$172
$30
bedfinder
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Ionian Star Hotel(Alykes)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (140)
Filter reviews
140 results
Traveler rating
64
36
20
13
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
64
36
20
13
7
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 140 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The hotel's location is the best to relax and to start trips to other villages on the island or to the town (Zakynthos), because it is calm and quiet and the bus station is in the front of the entrance. The hotel has an own beach, which is really small, it's enough only for few persons. But there are a lot of very beautiful beaches with 2sunbeds+umbrella for 5EUR.

Bad: the lady in the restaurant was not really friendly in the mornings (actually a bit rude almost with everyone), but the other family members and staff was really nice and friendly with everybody. The breakfast is not bad, but it was boring for us to eat eggs and beans everyday and the sausage was terrible.

The room was very good, clean and it had a balcony with beautiful view! It was cleaned evey day. It was a really good surprise to have a fridge! It's a really useful and helpful equipment.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maramili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We have just returned from a two week holiday at The Astoria in Alykes which we booked only a week before flying out. We have had an excellent time. The hotel suited our needs perfectly. We had a room with a large balcony which faced the road, hills and salt flats which gave us a good vantage point in observing the daily life of Alykes. The breakfasts at The Astoria are really good compared with those of many other Greek hotels we've stayed in; there is plenty of variety including cereals, eggs, beans, ham, yogurt, fruit, pancakes, muffins, toast. The evening meals were excellent value for money and the quality of the ingredients and the cooking were such that we had seven meals there although in previous visits to Greece we have made a point of eating out at a different place every day to enjoy the variety of Greek culinary delights.
We walked along the beach every day and our favourite sunbathing spot was by the Oasis bar where the sun beds are well spaced out and the Oasis has toilets that are well maintained and kept clean. The waitress there serves excellent frappés!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Brenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Location close to the sea pretty well perfect.
Beach are is small however so can feel crowded but Alykes beach really is excellent with its soft sand.
The hotel is very well run.
Stayed B&B basis and the breakfast was very good in terms of being in Greece.
Rooms with the sea views are not exactly spacious but are clean. Towels changed daily but bedding was not changed in the week stay we had.
Seaward side the rooms are quiet.
Fridge on the balcony - good idea.
Room decor is basic and tbh fairly dated.
The bathroom fittings were functional but old.Badly needs a refurb in all honesty... well the room we had anyway.
The air con (which you pay an extra 6 euro per night - high season you need this) was very noisy so I suspect needed a service.. a winter time job!
Attention to detail... some stair carpet rods required daily fixing.
Attention to detail .. replenish the rooms with tea/ coffee/ milks /tissues/soaps

The onward development of Alykes with new build hotels - possible all inclusive ones - will find the Astoria lacking.
Some small improvements should give the Astoria a kick out of the 90s and guarantee a good future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Pedalster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Astoria Beach Hotel and we had a great time. Usually rooms in Greece are quite small and basic, however, the rooms are quite spacious and cleaned daily. There is a fridge which again is unusual in some hotels and there is even an 'ice machine' on each landing for you to use when you have a cold drink on your balcony. The food at the hotel is exceptional and even the breakfast had more choice than most continental breakfasts that we have had before. Some previous reviews were moaning about the 'birds nests' on some of the balconies, well we saw these and it was amazing to see the starlings feeding their babies and we even watched them take their first flight. There were numerous guests who had returned year after year, one couple have returned for the last 30 years which is testament to the hotel owners. This hotel is in a great location, with a great relaxing atmosphere, and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Traceydudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Astoria three times and have really enjoyed ourselves. Maria and all the staff are very friendly, the restaurant is excellent and Harry is a great waiter. The rooms are cleaned every day, beds changed every day also. And you are guarenteed a good nights sleep away from the towns night time fun.
Really recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room as soon as possible
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews