We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sooo relaxing”
Review of Potamitis Studios

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Potamitis Studios
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

George & Andriani are the perfect hosts, providing help & advice when needed & letting us just relax, eat & drink the excellent home cooked food (which even suited fussy Richard) wine & beer in an unhurried, friendly atmosphere. We have no complaints at all. The other guests were equally chilled. A perfect wind down. We loved it so much we have booked the first plane back next year. 26.10.12

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tytwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 345 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

we decided late too go back again this year for a week(had 10 days in May)in October as this is when we will go next year. temperature mid to high twenty's. as usual very relaxing holiday with everything at hand,George(Giorgo)and Andriana,ensure that the rooms,kitchen,pool and pool area plus the bar are spotlessly clean with excellent help from the lovely Hilda. we have now been 5 times and wished we had found the studios earlier.if you want an adventure holiday or lots of trips than the island is not perhaps the place for you,but if you like relaxing or walking on an island that feels from the past,with lots of smallholdings all around the local area and a beach that is extremely large and the sand and sea very clean indeed,as well as relaxing by the pool and having all you require at the bar plus very well cooked wholesome food either Greek or British, than this is definitely the place for you, with plenty of space round the pool,know need for towel hogging here. I've got too know George and Andriana quite well as we speak too them a lot especially in the evenings after dinner and as well as being very friendly and approachable,they are so generous in so many ways. those who write reviews about Potamitis studios,that are not so complimentary should understand that it is a 3 star punching above its weigh and that every year they get Thomson's Gold award for best in the area.i could go on waxing lyrically about the studios,but i miss being there and don't want too dwell any further. i will leave by saying Yammas to George,Andriana,Hilda and Vicky.

Room Tip: There are lots of good rooms here, but rooms 2-6 are in a very convenient area. i would stay in any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dscrape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Returned from 2 weeks at Potamitis excellant room, pool, and bar my sister in law had a faulty shower and kettle told George and thay were changed the same day.We tried a Greek beer called Fix and asked George if he could get some in no prob he had them in the next day. We did not find George had any favourites as we only eat there a few times..We went in the Iris bar most nights but we found the Bis Bar down on the beach I think it was the only locals bar in the resort and the owner Takis and the locals made us very welcome I can recommend this place both for night and day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bc1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was our first visit to Zante and we are so pleased we picked the Potamitis apartments. We welcomed by George the owner who explained a few things about the apartments and took as to our room. The room was clean and had a good range of equipment. Our only complaint would be the shower which as previous guest have stated flooded the bathroom. We ate at the Potamitis on a number of occasions for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Adrianna's cooking is first class and much beter than any restaurants in the town. The pool area is very clean with plenty of sunbeds.
George, Adrianna and family are excellent hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. We wil certainly be back in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tylagarw-Taf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I went to the Potamitis Studios, mainly due to the excellent reviews we had read on Trip Advisor. Having never visited Zakynthos before, we were keen to benefit from other peoples experiences and to take advice.

The holiday started with a bit of a disaster - we were unable to land at Zakynthos airport due to thunder storms, so diverted to Athens instead. This could have been awful but, to give Thomson Holidays their due, they put us up in a 5* hotel and fed us dinner / breakfast. No complaints there; we eventually got to Zakynthos around 11:30 the following morning.

We had an hours transfer as we were the last drop, however this gave us an opportunity to see some of the other places on the island and, since it was pouring with rain, we weren't desperate to get to the place anyway. When we arrived at the Potamitis Studios, we walked into the bar / reception and received an almighty cheer from the others sat around the bar - they were all betting if we would make it at all! Great reception and some lovely people - Brian and Lesley in particular stand out with their jokes. Brian has a wicked sense of humour...

The room (number 3) was next to the pool on the ground floor and was basic but adequate. A small kitchen area with kettle and toaster; there is a small electric hob however we only managed to use this once (boiled eggs) and, frankly, is of little use. But the toaster / kettle / fridge means you can have a pleasant enough breakfast of toast, cereal, coffee, etc., or you can use the breakfast facility available in the bar. Around €5.50 for a 'full English' and it did look very good. The fridge is also extremely handy for the odd bottle of wine in the evening!

The bed itself (double) was very hard - we ended up putting two blankets under the sheet to 'cushion' our hips. But this is true of most beds in Greece - we have stayed at the 5* Mitsis Grande in Rhodes and the bed could have come straight off the set of 'The Flintstones' movie. There are conveniently placed reading lights and little bedside tables that hold your morning cuppa; all in all, as expected and a bit more spacious than we thought. Hair dryer / safe / air conditioning all available, although the last two are chargeable. We paid €20.00 for the safe for the 10 days and €40.00 for the air conditioning for the last six days. A bit pricey but then the holiday itself was very good value - swings and roundabouts, as they say.

Our one area of concern was the bathroom - very functional, with a shower, toilet, sink, mirror, etc. However, the shower is the type that sprays water onto the floor, where a drain soaks up the water. A bit of a 'wet room' situation, however the tiles themselves were lethal! Very slippery when wet, so much so that I slipped over on the first day. A hanging towel saved me from falling onto the floor; after this, we took turns at using the bathroom and using the mop hanging up outside to wipe it down, to make it safer for the next one. Some non-slip tiles would sort this problem in an instant.

Finally, we had a nice little balcony - unlike many others, ours was self contained and you get a washing line with a few pegs - extremely handy for your swim suit and towels. A lot of the rooms share a communal balcony but, in some ways, this could prove to be a bonus - I can imagine tables being pushed together and an instant party being held. Very good security system on the patio doors and you felt very safe in the entire resort. For the 10 days we were in Alykes, we never saw or experienced any form of trouble from those in the resort. Costa-del-Sol it is not!

You are a good 10 minute walk from the centre of Alykes, along a nice little road with a few bars and a supermarket on the way. I would advise that you ALWAYS walk on the left; the Greek drivers were mostly fine but there were a few who used this road as a training ground for the next Grand Prix, shooting around corners at 70mph+. At least if you walk on the left, you can see them coming and get out of the way. A local chicken was not so lucky and we gingerly stepped around the remains in the middle of the road.

Speaking of chickens.....we had heard that there were chickens crowing most mornings and, being 'country folk', were not that concerned. However, these ones started at 3:00 am, having a small respite then coming back with a vengeance from 6:00 am onwards! This set off the neighbouring dogs and their howling would continue uninterrupted for an hour or more each morning. With patio doors shut, inner doors shut and curtains drawn, it was difficult to sleep through. We took the air conditioning offer not so much for the cooling effect (you can only go down to 23C), more for the fact that it drowned out the noise of the chickens! Once we had this, we slept much better.

Alykes itself grows on you. The beach is, frankly, stunning. Very shallow, clear water, very warm and with a sandy base. If you like snorkelling (as I do), then you can go amongst some rocky jetties and there are abundant fish, some in beautiful colours. We had five days purely walking around the town and neighbouring Alykanas (again, a very nice resort if a bit 'noisier'), then spending some lovely afternoons on the beach or having a leisurely lunch in the myriad of bars or tavernas that are scattered along the front. The sun beds are very reasonable - €5.00 for two beds and an umbrella for the whole day, not so close together than you feel like a sardine in a tin. I have been to St Lucia and other 'exotic' locations and, to be honest, this is probably the best beach I have ever been to. You will not be disappointed.

The Potamitis Studios were better than expected on many levels - we enjoyed the occasional meal around the pool in the evening, as this was convenient and friendly. The pool area itself was very clean and tidy, with reasonable prices at the bar. The pool itself was nice, however the chlorine content was very high - I like to swim underwater and simply couldn't, as the chlorine made this a bit painful. But very nice to sit around and relax.

One area we were disappointed in was that we had read, on previous reviews, that George would not offer you an extended stay in the apartment if your flight was leaving later in the day, unless you were a 'regular' visitor. This didn't make sense as surely the intention would be to entice you back with exemplary service. So the first day we asked if an extension could be arranged, only to be told that it would not be possible to say until one day before our departure. When that day came, we were told that there were no rooms available and we would have to use the 'communal' WC behind the bar, although this did not include the shower which was locked. We had to be out of the apartment by 09:30 and, although we had a nice day down on the beach, eventually we had to get ready to go home and, without a shower available for washing hair, etc., we had a bit of a struggle getting cleaned and dressed for the return journey. However, a couple who had been before WERE given a room and the chap was very pleased to tell me that George had even laid on some fresh towels so they could have a 'refreshing shower' before they left. Hmmm.

All in all, a good holiday. Zakynthos will not suit everyone, it is a lot quieter than many Greek islands but that is part of the charm. The beaches are lovely and the water is exceptionally clear, as some of the photos show. Would we return to Zakynthos? Probably. Would we stay at the Potamitis Studios again? Probably not - but more because of their location than anything else. For some people, the remoteness and quiet surroundings (except for the chickens!) would be half the attraction.

Room Tip: I would suggest away from the pool - the chickens at night are behind that block, whilst the other b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the potimitis studios for 1 week. We had a terrible flight there due to storms and was diverted to Athens until we could fly to Zante the following day. When we arrived at the studios 30 hrs late, we were greeted by George the owner with a big smile and a lovely warm welcome, he is so friendly and helpful. We instantly felt relaxed. It's a lovely place to stay and Andriannas cooking is amazing. We will be back next year hopefully with no diversions :-). Lynne and Mark room 2

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Millygucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

This was our 5th vist to the wonderful Potamitis Studios and we were again made very welcome by George, Adrianna and the family. I cannot honestly find any negatives of my holiday as the rooms are spotlessly clean and the atmosphere and frendliness of George and his staff are second to none, also the homemade food at the studios was excellent. See you soon, looking forward to our next visit already!!!!

Room Tip: All great rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janice V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
0.5 mi away
Ionian Star Hotel
Ionian Star Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alykes
142 reviews
1.1 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
0.2 mi away
Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Potamitis Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Potamitis Studios

Address: Alykes (Alikes) Zante, Alykes 291 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Potamitis Studios Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece
Potamitis Studios Hotel Alykes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing