We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alykes Garden Village
Nearby Hotels
$44
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Ionian Star Hotel(Alykes)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (359)
Filter reviews
359 results
Traveler rating
238
79
25
10
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
238
79
25
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoscars barair conpool areapine coneminute walkonsite shopnext yearplenty of sunbedsself cateringtwo weeksper dayadditional costgreat holidaythe pool snack barthe crossroadsnothing is too much troublefamily run
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
277 - 282 of 359 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

i booked this as a cheapo easy jet deal, didnt know what to expect but feared the worst - how wrong was i .... the reception we got was fantastic & soula, jimi & the mum ( wonderful lady ) these lovely people went out of their way to help me & my partner, even when she picked up an eye infection - jimi took us into alykanas to the medics/ doctors to have it treated :-)
i cannot speak highly enough of the garden village. the food is excellent & all the staff are A1
we will be deffo going back.

ps, alykes is a fantastic resort as well

Room Tip: i think you wont find a bad room, water heat is on a first come basis
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tractorboy790
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a great little place to stay if you are looking for basic, cheap, self catering. Our beds and room was cleaned every day and we had enough cooking utensils etc... to be able to eat comfortably within the room. The room was large with a balcony which had a great view too. We stayed with Katerina in Alykes 2 part. We went to the beach most days which is NOT 20 minutes walk its more like 10 and its nice if you aren't old or have loads of kids. There are lots of bars and tavernas on the way and 5 mins down the road is the IRIS bar which has mini golf, which we loved. although the music in this bar was a bit pop for us but a good atmosphere in there and nice owners. We are both 30 and a couple who stayed here. We loved the beach and stayed with Kev most days as he was lovely and will bring you anything you like on the beach. This was 5 euro for 2 beds and a canape. You can walk further round and get breakfast or lunch at several cafes then the sun beds are free. There are loads of restaurants to choose from we loved sugarbush for breakfast and bingo mon/wed/ sat nights were great fun, fidelo's amazing for dinner, pizza restaurant by supermarket for lunch dinner. You can hire a quad for 15 euro a day probably cheaper if you haggle. Best excursion I've ever done was to hire a boat (boat went 20 miles an hour) 50 euros it was like a speed boat and we went up to the blue caves in this but stopped off at 3 beaches with no one on which looked like the caribean turquise water and white beach amazing didnt want to take the boat back and we did all the large boats the year before to the shipwreck also good but you go where they tell you and pay ridiculous amount for food on it where as we had champayne and lunch where we wanted and when love love loved it! So romantic and beautiful. There is also a few beautiful villages near by but we didnt go. We stayed here for 2 weeks and could have easily done another 2, and thats a first as I normally want to go home after 10 days and have done every other year. All in all this is a basic self catering beautiful village with lots to do and near by with amazing locals who gave us a lift to the beach once or twice which was fab. Am going back in May next year. We paid 400 for 2 for 2 weeks through icelolly.

Room Tip: Villa here amazing speak to Katerina she is a lovely lady who works hard.. xxx
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Having booked this holiday as a late deal, we arrived expecting little but were pleasantly supprised by the quality of the hotel/appartments. As others have meantioned we were offered our room early for an extra 30 euros which is a bit stingy on behalf of Jimmy and we refused this, instead waiting until midday. We expected this however having read other reviews so packed or towel and swimming stuff at the top of our luggage and simply relaxed around the pool for the morning. We were also asked if we wanted air con for 75 euros a week, which i though rediculously expensive and did not have, but is about what most of the other hotels in the area charge, having spoken to other holiday makers. (note: aircon is never included in booking price unless booked through Jimmy so dont expect it if booked through tour oporator!)

The appartment block itself is really nice and clean as was our room, which was spacious and had everything we needed. We were lucky to be put in the new appartments so cannot comment on the older apartments, although they looked ok from the outside. The views from the balcony looked over the surrounding fields and mountains and were beautiful! The only problem with this was the dog from next door barking at 4 in the morning, we took earplugs and it was not that bad. People with a pool view said they couldnt really hear it much.....the chickens were not a problem at all when we were there (early sep). The pool area is really nice too, plenty of sunbeds and space around a good sized pool.

The location in terms to Alykes is about a 10 min walk (15 in heat of day) but we enjoyed the walk (not much further than the hotels behind the salt flats) and there is a close supermarket if you walk te opposite way towards katastari.

Alykes itself is a lovely resort, plenty of fantastic restaurants.....fidelios, ambrosia, asteria, ponderosa and the food is amazing at all of them. We enjoyed drinks at the iris bar (on the way from hotel to alykes) where the owners and chris are really friendly, also crazy golf here and football shown on big screen.

The beach itself is easily one of the best on zante, much nicer than tsilivi beach and far far less crowded. i would definatly recomend Alykes as the best resort to come to on Zante, we are a 27 year old couple and enjoyed the layed back atmosphere and friendliness of locals and other holiday makers. If you prefer a more lively place, plenty of bars, kareoke etc, probably not the place for you.

As a final word on the accomodation i would say that we were very happy with our stay here, the location is beaufull and we would probably stay here again. For what we paid, brilliant value for money!

Room Tip: Ask to be put in the newer appartment block, if you are a light sleeper a pool view would be best due to the annoying dog next door.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alistair14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

After reading all the positive reviews on here myself and my boyfriend were really excited for our stay at Alykes Garden Village. After a delayed night flight (consequently being exhausted on arrival), Jimmy promptly asked for 30euro's before we were even out of the taxi to get in our room an hour early - which we declined to pay and wait till midday. This didn't bode well..

Then we were ushered to a side apartments by Katarina which we assumed were another complex. In comparison to the main complex (which all the photo's are of) it was dated, tired and very basic. We were then told we could only use the pool if we bought something at the snack bar, the air condition was an additional 75euro's and the safety deposit box was an additional 30euro's for the ten day holiday. Obviously we were gobsmacked as we thought we had paid for all of this previously (we had paid extra when booking to be upgraded to a nicer room, good view, air con and safety box included). Trying to explain this to Katarina was like talking to a brick wall, she said we could have it all if we paid again for it. Obviously we weren't prepared to do this but were willing to compromise if she was and hash out an agreement - she was not willing to do this! I found her to be aggressive, confrontational and very unhelpful. I ended up in tears because of her and I am not a person to easily get upset. Out of principle we didn't want to give the hotel another cent so avoided dining there or purchasing anything out of the basic shop.

Also dogs barked all night which is obviously annoying. OH and the shower curtain smelt of damp.

The walk to the beach/resort is lengthy - a good 20 minutes with minimal street lighting. Luckily we had a torch with us but at night it is very dangerous as it is a busy road but has no pavements - unsuitable for families or elderly.

I wouldn't return in a rush - but on a positive note the Greek people were so lovely and friendly. :) I would recommend hiring a quad bike (S&G Rental in neighboring town Alykanas is best - 40 minute walk). We explored the island and found little beaches. The Shipwreck excursion is overated but the Blue Caves are worth a trip - the water is absolutely turquoise and crystal clear.

Alykes is a lovely resort just would not go back to Aykes Garden Village! Pay a little more and stay closer to the main resort.

Room Tip: Lower rooms complained of stray cats wandering in.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lauren_H_1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

another great holiday, just got back last week, went last year,booked for next year, love the place, love the family, lovely pool, you are made to feel like part of the family, we got the walk to the beach down to 10 mins, (easy). hired a quad for the second week, went round the island, met the people, saw great views and it was such fun.this place is so family orientated, go and see for yourself,the beach is lovely also.

Room Tip: a view of the mountains
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turkeychester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews