We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely accommodation in peaceful location.....”
Review of Maria Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Apartments
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Lovely accommodation in peaceful location.....”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Recently stayed at the Maria Hotel studios which I cannot praise too highly.They are located in a rural area about 15 minutes from the local supermarket and a further 5 minutes from the pretty sandy beach of Alykes.We were allocated a top floor studio which had wonderful views of the countryside,the Salt flats and the beach in the distance.It was so relaxing to sit on our spacious balcony sipping a cooling wine in the early evening.Some other balconies on the top floor seemed to be quite small but guests were still able to sit out and enjoy the views.All the studios also face the swimming pool.The studio we were in was recently refurbished and was kept very clean by the cheerful cleaning ladies who do a great job.Also the guys,Theo,Billy & Alex cannot do enough for you as they really want everyone to have a great time.This accommodation was just what we were looking for as it is so relaxing here.Many guests are repeat visitors.The Greek night was good fun & although the Greek dancers do not put pressure on guests to dance ,it is so much fun if you have a go and it's very easy when you get started ,helped along by the very nice Greek wine.We truly had a great holiday.We went to lots of different tavernas,Paradaisakio by the riverside is lovely as is the oldest taverna in Alykes which is Fantasia...fantastic stifado here.The bars are cool,we loved Yria,Spikeys & Costas bar on the beach with free sunbeds too.A good trip to go on is the little land train to Pigidakia village to sample Spiros wine and raisins,see his museum which is awesome and gives some idea of life here over the last hundred years (Zakynthos didn't have electricity until 1966) with so many quirky artefacts to see,you will have lots of fun on this trip.If you like walking,eating tasty fresh wholesome food and taking time out to relax then this is the place for you.

Room Tip: Ask for middle floor as some ground floor studios have lots of shrubbery there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swanseajen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    45
    36
    14
    17
See reviews for
90
138
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Brosgrove
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Just got back from the hotel Maria had the most relaxing holiday ever. The 3 lads Billy, Alex and Theo were so welcoming and friendly always had a cheery greeting and lovely smile. The food was lovely as were the drinks and the atmosphere in the bar was great with good music. The apartments were basic but had everything you needed. The rooms were kept spotless and the beds and towels changed regularly. The music from the bar was never a problem for us and the people we met there were friendly and chatted whenever we saw them. Would go back tomorrow if we could but next year will have to do.

Room Tip: We had room 33 on the second floor lovely view but might not be suitable for anyone unable to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindydoll2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a very relaxed chilled out holiday at the Maria and we will both defo return! For one of us this was the first time going self catering but I have to admit I loved every minute of it, Alex's food is very good and his fried eggs are to die for, we ate there a few nights but also wandered down into town which is a 10-15 min walk but hey your on holiday so whats the rush!!!

Billy Theo and Alex were very friendly and welcoming to all their guests not just returning ones! We would go in after tea to join the lovely people that we met here on holiday and have good banter with the boys. We have never been to such a friendly hotel with such fantastic staff and guests as everyone spoke, even if the boys were tired after a late night they would still manage a smile.

The three girls that do the cleaning do a great job, as for the comments about them going through guests belongings we had expensive phones mobiles etc and nothing was ever touched, keep up the good work girls as you play a good part at making the Maria what it is.

Hope to see you all soon and Yamas for a great holiday. Xx

Vicki & Annette
Scotland

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicster0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have just returned from the best holiday I have ever had EVER!! The Maria is just an outstanding place to stay, the boys are so really friendly and truly welcoming,even after the sometimes 22hr shifts they undertake - I doubt many of us would be so happy to do the hours they do just to make all the guests happy. They talk to you as a human being rather than in boring 'professional' talk and as a result had the whole bar laughing every night! The cleaners are just the same even with the long hours they do aswell. The place really is home from home! I have read bad reviews from other visitors on here and really cannot believe how people can say these things! The girls do a FABULOUS job! We had endless supply of loo roll, sheets were changed every other day along with sparkling white towels and every morning were greeted with a smile and a good morning! They even folded my pyjamas for me! They even came out in a torrential downpour to let us into our room as we stupidly locked ourselves out bless them and after Billy asked whether we wanted some towels whilst we waited to stop the onset of hypothermia! We stayed right by the bar entrance and had a perfect night's sleep every night, it was sad at times to close the curtain when you could see the party just about to kick off but sleep had to come ready for the fun and games the following day! The pool and pool side are spotless and big enough but small enough to have a giggle with all the other guests over the other side. The food is super super delish and oh my word, the hot chocolate is to die for! As for the group of 'regulars' taking over, we loved the place so much at night, we always went back for a 'nightcap' as there was no other place we wanted to be. Alex, Theo and Billy are such warm welcoming hosts and always encourage everyone to mingle and join in, this is how we met so many new people and made so many new friends.

People are on holiday which to most normally means people let their hair down, loosen up and have a good old chuckle and blast! If you feel uncomfortable and unwilling to mingle in the delightfully warm atmosphere then perhaps the Maria is not for you and maybe should consider a solo trek to the North Pole??

As with any holiday, your holiday is what you make it and Theo, Alex and Billy made it so amazingly wonderful and a real blast that we are already booked to go back and see them in June next year. Its going to be a hard long nine months ahead but I am grinning at the thought of going to see all the lovely people the. Keep it up guys and girls - you are the best! Yammas!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

we had a brilliant holiday at the maria hotel got back just a few days ago and are already booked for next year
we went as a couple and did not feel out of place with the larger groups who i hasten to say do not get "priority treatment" as previoulsy mentioned in previous reviews
the hotel itself is spotlessly clean from the pool area to the grounds and the bar you couldnt fault it the cleaners there work from morning to night and do a great job the food is really nice good portions and reasonably priced all cooked fresh by alex
the rooms are typicially greek in style we had a small kitchenette but only used it for tea and toast
regarding the noise some previous reviews mentioned...... we were in room 21 ( a ground floor room) opposite the bar we didnt hear anything .... the atmosphere is brilliant so laid back, and chilled out which im sure is down to billy theo and alex who work blinkin hard and will gladly have a chat and a laugh with everyone - everyone was made to feel welcome
greek night at the hotel is a must for 13€ a head for a bbq with free flowing wine and greek dancing it was a great night
the hotel isnt on the main strip but was within easy walking distance to all shops,bars,restaurants and the beach, this was made easier by cutting through the salt flats than wlking the whole way round and it was all on the flat we walked this in the heat of the day and had no problems at all on looking at the astoria,apollo and potamos hotels in the same area i would say the maria wins hands down for atmosphere and cleanliness

over all we had a brilliant holiday and would highly recommend this hotel - and are booked for 2014

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnalou1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous holiday in Alykes staying at the Maria - can't stress enough how good the hotel is. Billy Theo and Alex can't do enough for you and are always on hand to tend to your every need. The hotel is kept spotless clean in all areas. Never had a problem with anything Would like to thank everyone for making our holiday so special. We would recommend the hotel to anyone. Yes its a walk to the beach/village but it is flat all the way so take it at your own pace and enjoy it!!
Thanks once agail to everyone and hope to see you all again soon. x
Yammas!1
Margaret and Andres
Sheffield

Room Tip: High floor great views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesseymarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

just returned to rainy cold england after a wonderful week with the boys of the Maria.in Alykes zante, Such a lovely place to chill out and feel really relaxed. the hotel has a wonderful atmosphere which I am sure is instilled from the brilliant staff there, it is very clean and well organised, the food is really good and the pool is kept immaculately clean, Billy Theo Alex and their wonderful girls do a great job in keeping you comfortable and welcome.. My daughter and I spent the entire week smiling with all the other lovely guests that booked in at that time, My third trip there was just as good as the first and probably for the fourth time next year,, yamass and thankyou again KAY AND KELLY FROM GUILDFORD. SEPT 18TH 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
1.7 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#12 of 13 in Alykes
243 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#6 of 7 in Alykanas
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Alykes
398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avra Studios
Avra Studios
#27 of 106 in Zakynthos
111 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Karras
Hotel Karras
#52 of 65 in Laganas
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Apartments

Property: Maria Apartments
Address: | Katastari, Alykes 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 139
Also Known As:
Maria Apartments Hotel Alykes
Maria Apartments Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing