We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STORMINGLY AWESOME PLACE!”
Review of Maria Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Apartments
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“STORMINGLY AWESOME PLACE!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have just returned from the best holiday I have ever had EVER!! The Maria is just an outstanding place to stay, the boys are so really friendly and truly welcoming,even after the sometimes 22hr shifts they undertake - I doubt many of us would be so happy to do the hours they do just to make all the guests happy. They talk to you as a human being rather than in boring 'professional' talk and as a result had the whole bar laughing every night! The cleaners are just the same even with the long hours they do aswell. The place really is home from home! I have read bad reviews from other visitors on here and really cannot believe how people can say these things! The girls do a FABULOUS job! We had endless supply of loo roll, sheets were changed every other day along with sparkling white towels and every morning were greeted with a smile and a good morning! They even folded my pyjamas for me! They even came out in a torrential downpour to let us into our room as we stupidly locked ourselves out bless them and after Billy asked whether we wanted some towels whilst we waited to stop the onset of hypothermia! We stayed right by the bar entrance and had a perfect night's sleep every night, it was sad at times to close the curtain when you could see the party just about to kick off but sleep had to come ready for the fun and games the following day! The pool and pool side are spotless and big enough but small enough to have a giggle with all the other guests over the other side. The food is super super delish and oh my word, the hot chocolate is to die for! As for the group of 'regulars' taking over, we loved the place so much at night, we always went back for a 'nightcap' as there was no other place we wanted to be. Alex, Theo and Billy are such warm welcoming hosts and always encourage everyone to mingle and join in, this is how we met so many new people and made so many new friends.

People are on holiday which to most normally means people let their hair down, loosen up and have a good old chuckle and blast! If you feel uncomfortable and unwilling to mingle in the delightfully warm atmosphere then perhaps the Maria is not for you and maybe should consider a solo trek to the North Pole??

As with any holiday, your holiday is what you make it and Theo, Alex and Billy made it so amazingly wonderful and a real blast that we are already booked to go back and see them in June next year. Its going to be a hard long nine months ahead but I am grinning at the thought of going to see all the lovely people the. Keep it up guys and girls - you are the best! Yammas!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelster78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    48
    37
    14
    19
See reviews for
97
142
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

we had a brilliant holiday at the maria hotel got back just a few days ago and are already booked for next year
we went as a couple and did not feel out of place with the larger groups who i hasten to say do not get "priority treatment" as previoulsy mentioned in previous reviews
the hotel itself is spotlessly clean from the pool area to the grounds and the bar you couldnt fault it the cleaners there work from morning to night and do a great job the food is really nice good portions and reasonably priced all cooked fresh by alex
the rooms are typicially greek in style we had a small kitchenette but only used it for tea and toast
regarding the noise some previous reviews mentioned...... we were in room 21 ( a ground floor room) opposite the bar we didnt hear anything .... the atmosphere is brilliant so laid back, and chilled out which im sure is down to billy theo and alex who work blinkin hard and will gladly have a chat and a laugh with everyone - everyone was made to feel welcome
greek night at the hotel is a must for 13€ a head for a bbq with free flowing wine and greek dancing it was a great night
the hotel isnt on the main strip but was within easy walking distance to all shops,bars,restaurants and the beach, this was made easier by cutting through the salt flats than wlking the whole way round and it was all on the flat we walked this in the heat of the day and had no problems at all on looking at the astoria,apollo and potamos hotels in the same area i would say the maria wins hands down for atmosphere and cleanliness

over all we had a brilliant holiday and would highly recommend this hotel - and are booked for 2014

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnalou1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous holiday in Alykes staying at the Maria - can't stress enough how good the hotel is. Billy Theo and Alex can't do enough for you and are always on hand to tend to your every need. The hotel is kept spotless clean in all areas. Never had a problem with anything Would like to thank everyone for making our holiday so special. We would recommend the hotel to anyone. Yes its a walk to the beach/village but it is flat all the way so take it at your own pace and enjoy it!!
Thanks once agail to everyone and hope to see you all again soon. x
Yammas!1
Margaret and Andres
Sheffield

Room Tip: High floor great views!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesseymarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

just returned to rainy cold england after a wonderful week with the boys of the Maria.in Alykes zante, Such a lovely place to chill out and feel really relaxed. the hotel has a wonderful atmosphere which I am sure is instilled from the brilliant staff there, it is very clean and well organised, the food is really good and the pool is kept immaculately clean, Billy Theo Alex and their wonderful girls do a great job in keeping you comfortable and welcome.. My daughter and I spent the entire week smiling with all the other lovely guests that booked in at that time, My third trip there was just as good as the first and probably for the fourth time next year,, yamass and thankyou again KAY AND KELLY FROM GUILDFORD. SEPT 18TH 2013

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kathryn w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Just come back from our 2 wk hols. One word sums it up FANTASTIC........ Accommodation great, location good, food fabulous (Yammas Alex), pool clean and very inviting in the heat with plenty of sun beds, girls do a brill job and work really hard looking after rooms daily. Beds changed and fresh towels every other day. Air Con a must in high season. Lots of reviews said about bar noise - can honestly say didn't hear any (room located right opposite bar). Every review I had read before our hols praised Billy, Theo and Alex and we couldn't wait to meet the famous trio - we weren't dissapointed as they were brill, perfect hosts and a joy to get to know. Walk into town and beach took 10 - 15 mins at a slow pace because of heat but a pleasant walk (better to go in eve when cooler if carrying shopping) Local restaurants were great and really reasonable (visited Paradise 3 times). Only been back 2 days and we can't wait to come back next year. Had a brilliant holiday at the lovely Maria Studios. Yammas boys and hopefully see you all soon. Luv 'The Hornjeph's X

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hornjephs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Pleasant accommodation in rural surroundings - a fifteen minute stroll to the town across the salt lakes. Choice of supermarkets in town. Rooms clean and well maintained with regular change of sheets and towels. Self catering facilities very basic (as with most Greek apartments) but crockery a bit deficient. We probably could have asked for more. Very friendly and efficient service in reception/bar area which sold good snack food.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaydnG60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed early August for a week and had a pleasant stay. Yes, all you hear about the noise, bar and toilet rolls are correct however we did not let this ruin our stay. The rooms were very very basic but very clean, the towels were soft and the beds comfortable. The pool was clean with plenty of sunbeds.
The pool bar was the best I think we have experienced on a self catering holiday with a comprehensive menu and drinks list and very welcoming. The pool bar does open at night and stays open very very late, I heard people still partying at 3.am! Some nights were noisier than others dependent on the group of people in there. In fairness we did sleep with our windows open for fresh air as we have done for the last 20 years in Greece, and never experienced a problem so parents with young families or light sleepers may need to pay for air conditioning so you can close your windows.
The hosts were friendly and greeted everyone with a smile in true typical Greek style.
We met some lovely people and we met some other people, the apartments accommodated a variety of people from all walks of life.
The walk to the beach took about 10 minutes and the beach and sea were lovely, very family friendly and you could walk out quite a while before getting too deep.
We enjoyed the Apollo restaurant and ate there nearly every night. The food and service were excellent and the surroundings lovely at night.
All in all a nice holiday - would we go back? probably not however what suits one doesn't suit another, so if choosing this hotel go with an open mind and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D12CKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
1.7 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
247 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#4 of 7 in Alykanas
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koukounaria Hotel
Koukounaria Hotel
#2 of 28 in Alykes
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Panorama Studios Apartments
0.6 mi away
Avra Studios
Avra Studios
#29 of 108 in Zakynthos
112 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hotel Karras
Hotel Karras
#52 of 65 in Laganas
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Apartments

Property: Maria Apartments
Address: | Katastari, Alykes 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 139
Also Known As:
Maria Apartments Hotel Alykes
Maria Apartments Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing