We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”
Review of Maria Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Apartments
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed early August for a week and had a pleasant stay. Yes, all you hear about the noise, bar and toilet rolls are correct however we did not let this ruin our stay. The rooms were very very basic but very clean, the towels were soft and the beds comfortable. The pool was clean with plenty of sunbeds.
The pool bar was the best I think we have experienced on a self catering holiday with a comprehensive menu and drinks list and very welcoming. The pool bar does open at night and stays open very very late, I heard people still partying at 3.am! Some nights were noisier than others dependent on the group of people in there. In fairness we did sleep with our windows open for fresh air as we have done for the last 20 years in Greece, and never experienced a problem so parents with young families or light sleepers may need to pay for air conditioning so you can close your windows.
The hosts were friendly and greeted everyone with a smile in true typical Greek style.
We met some lovely people and we met some other people, the apartments accommodated a variety of people from all walks of life.
The walk to the beach took about 10 minutes and the beach and sea were lovely, very family friendly and you could walk out quite a while before getting too deep.
We enjoyed the Apollo restaurant and ate there nearly every night. The food and service were excellent and the surroundings lovely at night.
All in all a nice holiday - would we go back? probably not however what suits one doesn't suit another, so if choosing this hotel go with an open mind and enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D12CKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 325 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2013

Having read a previous review on here from someone who seemed unhappy with the place I felt I would write my own... I returned yesterday from a week holiday with my family and I can say it is truly the best holiday I have been on and a massive part of that is because of the staff. All of the staff at the hotel are lovely and friendly and Billy, Theo and Alex are amazing! They got to know us all by name were very friendly, had a laugh with us and went out of their way to help. The cleaners are also amazing, I had no worries about leaving my valuables in my room and found that the room was always spotlessly clean and they even hung up my clothes for me which I had left on my bed! We met several other families who had been before and felt very welcomes by then so I do not agree with some reviews who say that the groups take over - I found that Maria Hotel had an extremely welcoming and friendly atmosphere and everyone could easily join in if they wished. I was happy with the location and found that the 15 minute walk was not a problem at all and it is mentioned in the brochures for the hotel so I don't think it is something someone can complain about if they have properly looked up the hotel before travelling. All in all my stay at the Maria Hotel was a fantastic experience and I cannot wait to return next year with the other familes we met! Or possibly even sooner! Brilliant holiday and thanks to everybody and the Maria!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alys D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

After reading all the reviews before we went I was looking forward to my holiday, I have been self catering before and knew it would be basic! When we arrived it was 0500 ish and no one was there to greet us, on entering the room I thought it was ok, however I had no kettle which I did ask for at the beginning of week one and still did not receive one by the end of my two week stay!! Luckily my friend was staying in the room next door who did have a kettle! There is two hobs and a fridge, no toaster, no grill, this was by far the most basic self catering I've ever stayed in ever!! The shower was a basin and handheld shower head which does become annoying after a while especially when there's no hot water but hey ho!! The cleaners did go in most days and they did change the towels and I got a change of a sheet at the end of week two! But were friendly, however I will back up the lady who mentioned her perfume as they did go through my jewellery and also they went through my friends vanity case!! Although nothing was taken I knew things had been looked through and I'm sure a jewellery box and vanity case don't need cleaning inside!!! The staff theo, billy and Alex were very friendly but very layed back bit too much for me. The prices are above average for example a can of pop costs 85 cents in the shop but the Maria charges 2.50 euro!! Rip off if you ask me! Same with water too! And most other things come to think of it! I have been to Zante two times previously and other places in Greece, so have obviously been to Greek nights, and I will say that the Greek night held at the Maria was not the best at all!! The food was good but when your told you get free wine you expect a jug on the table not a plastic cup of watered down rose, which you could taste the water! The beach and resort is about a ten minute walk even in the heat. I love Zante and would definitely come back but I would not stay at
the Maria again. It's too far out and too expensive but the people who stayed there were very friendly and we did make some
good friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julesbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Where do you start when you have just come back from possibly one of the best holidays ever !!

The glowing reviews were what drew us to this particular hotel, and they weren't wrong

Like any hotel the world over, there will be the occasional disgruntled reviewer - usually born out of a lack of research prior to booking or arrival

In the case of this hotel, it is exactly what it says; a 3 star family run hotel on a Greek island and priced as such

Yes, there are a few minor things that may cause the odd person an element of consternation - hand held showers and paying for aircon/safety deposit boxes - but this is a small, family run, 3 star hotel

That said, what the official star rating of this hotel does not take into account or do full justice to, is the cleanliness of the rooms, the friendliness/courtesy of the staff and the sense that you have truly become "one of the family" for the duration of your stay - whether you chose to fully participate in all the events laid on or have a quiet time by yourselves, everyone is treated the same

We arrived mid afternoon on a Friday and were greeted from the coach by Theo and shown to our room by Alex

We were at first surprised by the lack of formality around checking in, but soon realised that this is just one of the many things that makes the Maria Hotel so special

We realised that the aircon wasn't working properly late on in the day, and whilst an engineer wasn't available at that time, we were given a huge fan for the first night - the whole of the next day was spent ensuring that the problem was rectified, with regular updates on the progress of the repair

A recent review has commented on a number of things, but we stayed at the same as that particular family, and we have to say, that our experience was the polar opposite

The pool was immaculate - yes there were wasps; but hardly surprising, given the climate and the fact that there were people with fizzy drinks and ice creams around the pool - but we personally witnessed the pool being regularly cleaned out of any wasps that had fallen in

We stayed for Greek night and had an absolute blast - great food, local wine and specially brought in traditional dancers, who had the entire hotel up on their feet dancing - we were also treated to Maria, the owner's family, in attendance which really added to the occasion, especially when their Grandmother lead the proceedings in several dances - you wouldn't get this at a faceless, large-group hotel chain

With regard to the cleaners; we found them to be polite, courteous and diligent in their upkeep of our room and the shared public areas - never did we feel concerned for the safety of our possessions - in fact, we often found our clothes that had been strewn around the room, neatly folded on the bed or hung in the wardrobe

We found the non-central location of the hotel a real plus - not stuck on the roadside with constant traffic passing by whilst you try to relax by the pool. Yes it is a 15 minute walk to the main part of town, but if you get up early or wait until the sun has dipped behind the nearby hillside, this is no hardship, and is in fact a most pleasant walk, both before and after an evening out at one of the many fine restaurants on offer. If you don't feel like the walk back, you can always treat yourselves to a horse and cart ride back

Finally, and by no means the least important aspect of this hotel, is the warm and friendly reception of the staff (Theo, Billy & Alex)

We have stayed in many hotels around the world and nowhere else have the staff remembered us all by name without the aid of a computer - Theo, Billy & Alex made a point of getting to know us each personally

Some reviewers have commented on groups of people returning and "taking over the place" - we actually met one of these so called groups and were welcomed with open arms. Our kids made friends, we went to the water park together, socialised at the hotel and have probably made friends for life - it's these groups of people that return year after year to the Maria that stand testament to the quality of the experience on offer

We have already started to plan our return next year

Many thanks to Theo, Billy, Alex, Lilly and everyone else at the Maria Apartments

Yamas !!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fantastic Staff, everyone brilliant, easy to make friends, but many have said that there is only a minority in the bar that stay up till late, the latest is usually 3 in the morning and the music is turned off around 2. There is plenty of activities to do throughout you're stay. The bar staff especially are very friendly and easy to get a long with, the food is excellent and there is a wide range of food options for all.
If having fun, meeting new people and having a amazing holiday is you're thing, maria hotel is excellent for you!
The rooms are very clean and the cleaners are very friendly. Everyone is well looked after and i would recommend it to anyone!
YAMAS

Room Tip: lower floor rooms are very easy to access from beside the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jack s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I read the last review on Maria Apartments from a guest regards how much they disliked the place!!! I will write my own review when I return home, however really surprised with the review and the lady in question was sat with me and my family on Sunday evening and was saying how great the place was. The following day we, along with a large group of friends, chatting and not a word about anything negative and certainly no mention of the cleaners!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Having read all the previous reveiws we were really looking forward to our break away. We arrived early in the morning with a key in the door to our apartment and not a sign of anyone to welcome us. As there was 5 of us we expected a interconnecting door to the apartments but had separate rooms so never spent a night with my husband in 2 weeks! We spent the first couple of days round the pool which wasnt the cleanest of pools, I spotted a fake nail in the deep end and there were endless wasps around the pool and in the kids section , one day my husband counted 40?? The rooms are the most basic we have ever stayed in and not very clean my heart sank when we got there never seen so many hairs on the floor and shower tray ( and im a hairdresser) ! The walk is a nightmare with 3 children its a good 20 mins but like another person said in the heat its a killer and im pretty fit! We finally git a car for a week and oh my god it was a god send ti get away from that place! In fact we spent everyday at the hotel we stayed in last year! The final straw was when we arrived back one day and passed the cleaners on the stairs who reeked of my perfume, I went straight in to my apartment and sure enough the room reeked of it ! As my perfumewas at the bottom of my toiletry bag the cleaners obviousky though that they would help theirselves to it! I complained to Billy who said whats the big deal? They wouldnt do that i'll have a word? After this incident we really felt uncomfortable and just wanted to leave we complained to our rep who said that it was theft and he would try and move us. We locjed everything away after this as was so upset you dont expect this to happen on your hols! The cleaner eventually came clean (excuse the pun) and admitted to going through my things! What a joke! Then there was Greek night what a rip off cold food and one glass of vile rose served in plastic cup and topped up out of a water bottle, whats that all about?? No hot water a couple of nights , not good when trying to shower 3 kids in stone cold water! Saying that it wasn't really a shower but a tray with a tap!! On the plus side we did meet som lovely people but others liked the sound of their own voice and one chap was quite rude with a comment he made about my 8yr old daughtet! Basically if you want a tatty apartment which is too far out and your quite happy to be ripped off with their bar prices and thieving staff who cant keep their hands to theirselves then this is right up your street , the Island is absolutely beautiful but Maria Apartments forget it !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GuyRichards1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
0.8 mi away
Ionian Star Hotel
Ionian Star Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alykes
142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
442 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#4 of 8 in Alykanas
182 reviews
9.8 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#57 of 73 in Laganas
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Apartments

Address: | Katastari, Alykes 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Price Range: $84 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 139
Also Known As:
Maria Apartments Hotel Alykes
Maria Apartments Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing