We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect setting for my proposal”
Review of Maria Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Apartments
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

The Maria has a certain vibe that is typical of the resort of alikes.The hosts Theo Billy and Alex are so friendly and work extremely hard to ensure everyone enjoys their stay to the full.it as been suggested that loud music is of some concern, but I can assure you that we and others around us had no difficulty at all with sleeping.good sized well maintained pool was welcoming , the weather constantly in the mid 30's.our room was basic but cozy and clean due to the hard working maids who changed beds and towels every two days and emptied bins daily.the Maria has the most wonderful hillside back drop .the Maria is no more than a steady 15 minute walk to the sea front and nearest supermarket.I would strongly recommend a visite to this wonderfully run hotel.We will be back next year it is that infectious and will always have a special place in my heart as the place were I proposed to my future wife, before ending up in the pool fully clothed haha!Dave Mandy and Georgia from Barnsley.....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunny63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 325 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

After reading some reviews we were a bit apprehensive! But we had already booked so no going back! Well what can I say? Absolutely fantastic. We stopped in a refurbished room which was really good standard. Ok so the rooms weren't cleaned EVERY DAY and so what! But our beds were always made and the bins emptied every day. The cleaners were really friendly and the main guys theo, billy and laid back alex really made it for us! Top guys! The walk to the main bars and restaurants are about 20 mins away but we enjoyed th STROLL especially after all that fab greek food! But if u wanted a lazy night there's always a horse n cart to ride you back! We never had a bad meal and there's no hassle from the restaurants at all. All in all one of the locations and hotel's we have ever been to and we are booking up for next year! One last thing, take some toilet roll as you only get one!!! But it is self catering!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taraBurtonOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Maria studios are a perfect base for a beach holiday in Alykes. A 15 min walk on the FLAT takes you to the beautiful blue flag beach, likewise this is the time it takes to get to the supermarket or into town. Our room 24 was on the ground floor and was spacious, spotlessly clean and comfortable. The ladies do a fantastic job cleaning not only the rooms but the entire place. The pool was a decent size and sunloungers were easy to acquire. The bar had just the right amont of funtime and quiet time, some visitors are quieter and some are louder but that is the English abroad for you. Billy, Alex and Theo were attentive hosts and ensured that all customers had a good time, with the occasional Greek night, Karaoke and quiz nights. In the village you can hire bike, mopeds, quad and cars but take head due to the crisis with the banking system in greece few places take credit cards, most business rely on cast only, that way they know the will have their money for all their hard work! There are 2 cast machines in the resort more or less opposite each other, we were able to take money out of both, however one rate was 2.14 euro to £! the other was 1.06!! All in all it was a superb holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 2 week stay at the Maria. We enjoyed everything about the holiday and are looking to go back next year. The walk down to the town and beach is about 15minutes, but seems longer in the midday sun. However of an evening its a lovely little walk. We also hired a car for a few days to see the island which was beautiful. The apartment itself was fine. Quite spacious and very clean. The cleaners were lovely women and came in every day. We had air con as tried one night without and couldn't sleep. Theo, Billy and Alex were great. Very friendly and very helpful. Would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FayeKin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Very clean and the owners are excellent and helpful..good entertainment at night..15min walk to town and beach..pool very clean and plenty off sun beds..would go back again..recommend it 100%.. Yamas lads..tommy&jordan&Megan from Scotland...

Room Tip: If you want space then ask for bottom floor studios as they are bigger..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kents2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

stayed at the maria's june 28th until july 12th and what a great two weeks it was. theo,billy &alex are perfect hosts and cant do enough for you. the room [ we had one of the larger rooms ] was very spacious,clean and everything worked just fine and the balcony was massive. had some great nights in the bar to with some new found friends. would recommend this hotel 100%. The only thing which was a bit of a pain was the walk into the town about 20 mins, but we just got on with it. hoping to return next year. yamas lads steve & maria west brom

Room Tip: all rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

These apartments are used by both Thomson and Thomas Cook. We sensed the Thomson rep was a bit peeved when we arrived early morning that there were no staff or info to help us with what room we were in, but he found one with keys in.

Yes, the rooms are basic and not that big, but are clean. The cleaning staff deserve a special mention, as being very good and friendly. The hand-held shower within a funny collapsing shower curtain affair is a tad inconvenient, as is the lack of hot water in the evenings, but you get used to it. Let's get the bog roll issue out of the way...we had 1 between 2 people for a 2 week stay. Of course you can buy some (but do you want to be worrying about this on holiday?), but rather bizarrely, the cleaners will likely take pity on you and leave some kitchen roll sheets if you run out! We started off without a kettle or any glasses, whilst others we spoke to had these items, but lacked a corkscrew or more than 1 pan, for example. Provision of kitchen utensils is pretty variable and likely not checked often. There is only a 2 hob affair to cook with, so you're best eating out (which can be done at a very reasonable cost, with generous portions, and all tastes catered for).

The worst part of staying here was the noise from the bar. This may depend what apartment you end up in, but we were near the side door, which they left open all night initially, due to the smoke in the bar, and staff also parked mopeds/motorbikes right outside our bedroom, which they started up at 4.30am. As others have mentioned, the group of blokes that have been going there in June for the last 10yr take priority, so if they want to drink, sing and shout in the bar till 4.30am, that is fine with the staff :( The layout of the rooms is a problem compared to other places, as rooms are quite close to the bar, and the pictures we saw were misleading in terms of the overall size/layout of the bar/pool area. Other than these really annoying and selfish blokes ruining our sleep (with poor management from the people running the bar), the location is lovely, with a view at the rear of the mountains, complete with cockerel noises. Air con is a bit dear at 50 euros for a week, and 90 for a fortnight. If you're in a top apartment, you'll need it, so factor this into your holiday cost.

We hired a quad from Nikos (top bloke), which helped us to see a bit more of the island. Don't miss the train trip to the Greek Night run by Spiros (fantastic chap!), and also check out the little museum he has up there (and his wine). Please stop and say hello to the lovely black Labrador that is chained up on the right hand side as you near the apartments from town - this poor dog is absolutely gorgeous and just wants a cuddle and a fuss.

The people, food, and general vibe of Alykes are fantastic. The beach is really not that far away at all - maybe 15min walk. You wont be walking fast though due to the heat! Apollo just up the road do decent grub, as do a beach-side place at the start of the 'strip'. In fact, most places do lovely food, and I say this as a fussy veggie with a carnivorous partner.

Overally, I'd definitely go back to Zante, but would not stay here just in case the bar was noisy again. Hope this has been helpful.

Room Tip: As far away from the bar as you can get! Ground floor rooms more noisy and less privacy, but cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KCPHYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
0.8 mi away
Ionian Star Hotel
Ionian Star Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alykes
142 reviews
1.5 mi away
Plessas Palace Hotel
Plessas Palace Hotel
#6 of 8 in Alykanas
442 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Grapevines Hotel
Grapevines Hotel
#4 of 8 in Alykanas
182 reviews
9.8 mi away
Alexander Hotel
Alexander Hotel
#57 of 73 in Laganas
504 reviews
1.3 mi away
Valais Hotel
Valais Hotel
#3 of 8 in Alykanas
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Apartments

Address: | Katastari, Alykes 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Price Range: $84 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 139
Also Known As:
Maria Apartments Hotel Alykes
Maria Apartments Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing