We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent time”
Review of Maria Apartments

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alykes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maria Apartments
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Just back from Alykes and the Maria. Once again it was a superb holiday. Billy, Theo and Alex were on top form and they are part of the whole holiday experience..

The resort seemed quieter than usual but I noticed that many of the holiday makers were all 'repeat offenders'. The weather was brilliant and the locals were as friendly as ever.

I highly reccommend the Maria as a great place to stay and I will be back in September. Thank you lads. See you soon. Yammas.

Paul and Marion

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thecatinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 325 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Arrived back from Maria 2 days ago and cannot express how much I enjoyed my stay. Theo, billy and Alex are not only the nicest people I could wish to have in charge of a hotel I stay in but are extremely hard working. They made our holiday. Alykes was quiet the first week but the hotel bar was always busy with other people that were like family by the end. I'd take many of the bad reviews with a pinch of salt. I was always asleep when the bar was still open and I had no problem with noise. We have already got a quote to return next year from our travel agent because it is such an enjoyable place to stay and I feel homesick from Maria already.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bullgoggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

My husband and I have only just got home from Maria yesturday. We had the best time ever. Theo, Billy, Alex and the cleaners were so nice and helpfull. Our reps left us on the bus at the hotel before ours and said she could'nt come with us ( which was a bit embarrasing as there was only 2 of us on the bus ) and we arrived alone. The minute we pulled up outside Billy came running out to greet us and carried my heavy suitcase to our room. He was'nt looking for any tips just being helpfull as most greek poeple are. Our room was nicely decorated and simple with cooking facillities, fridge, sink and a kettle. All the rooms have been recently decorated. The snack bar is open from 8.30am to 11.00pm and the bar is open all day and night if you are up for it ! Most nights we were in bed by 12.00 and the bar and karaoke was on until the small hours. We didnt hear a thing from the bar as the rooms all have double glazing. The walk into tow takes about 15 minutes tops and there are some supermarkets and bars even closer. If you are looking for a holiday thats cheap, relaxing, picturesque and has a bar and pool THEN THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU !!! We will definately be back. Soooooooonnn !!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

we have just returned from here and are very impressed with the accommodation. They have just refurbished half of the hotel, we were fortunate to be staying in this side ( booked with Thomson ) The rooms are very modern and so is the bathroom. We were surprised to have a kettle already in the room, the only thing missing was a Tv. The guys whom run this hotel are fantastic and make every effort to ensure you have a great stay. The hotel was very quiet but this made a great base for a peaceful relaxing holiday. The only negative is the fridges are very noisy and they do need to be turned off on an evening although next doors can be heard. The supermarket is a 10 min stroll away no hardship here lol. I would return to this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 9 and 10,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank telletubbies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2011

We love Alykes and try to get there twice a year. We stayed in the Maria in September for the third time. We have also stayed at Nikos just around the corner. What may be lacking in the rooms is certainly compensated for by the enthusiasm and warmth of the lads. Theo, Billy, Phil and Alex are great hosts. Most of the rooms have been revamped and are excellent. Stayed above the bar last time and had no problems with noise.

The resort is exactly what we are looking for on holiday. Lovely restaurants and decent bars. The locals are very, very friendly and I would recommend the resort and the Maria.

Have booked already for June 2012.

See you then lads. Paul and Marion.

Yammas

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank thecatinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

my boyfriend and I went here in september 2011.
The website we booked through offered self catering or bed and breakfast, so we opted for bed and breakfast. When we got there however, evidently they had no record of this. They checked it, and said that though they can see we had paid for it, they don't actually offer it. So said we could have 3 euros each off brekkie per day. but in the mean time we had already bought two more expensive breakfasts being told not to worry about the cost, which we were made to pay for.
Although it was september, it was still boiling, air conditioning necessary. it was 40 euros for the week, not too bad. but ours leaked all over the apartment, and when we told them this, they said we would need to wait for the technician to take a look (who turned out to be the chef from the kitchen!) he then made a sham of a fix and in fact exploded water all over the room and then the air con was broken altogether. i put my foot down and insisted we change room, which they said was ok (but couldnt believe after all this faff they still charged us for the breakfasts we were never supposed to pay for)

the pool is totally fine, plenty of deck chairs. The guys who run it are perfectly nice if you have no problems, but get a little intimidating if you have to make a complaint.

the location is fine, 10mins walk to shops and restaurants and beach.

I would definitely recommend Alykes, it is a lovely area with a beautiful beach and plenty of restaurants, not many bars, but a few. we also did the turtle boat tour, which was great. but would definitely not recommend staying here. it is for a holiday on a budget, but i would say spring a little more money and stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: check what room you have, the double glazed doors keep out the music from the bar, which is open ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nicky-Jo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We had two weeks in Early September at the Maria Apartments in Alykes and cannot recommend it highly enough! The Hotel is maintained extremely well and was throughly cleaned every day. The guys that work in the bar were all very friendly and willing to help with any problems that people had. Most nights the hotel ran theme nights which were alot of fun although sometimes the Karaoke went on a tad too long for some peoples liking. The pool area and the sun loungers were immaculate and there was always plenty of loungers for everyone. The town of Alykes is very nice with lots of shops, bars and resturants which catered for all tastes, our favourite resturants were Ambrosia in the town and Paradise which was located on one of the main roads into the town from the hotel. All in all this is probably the best holiday we have both had and we look forward to booking up to stay in the Maria Apartments again in 2012.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timmytime_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
1.7 mi away
Zante Village
Zante Village
#13 of 13 in Alykes
271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Koukounaria Aparthotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Clio Hotel
Clio Hotel
#1 of 8 in Alykes
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
Hotel Karras
Hotel Karras
#52 of 68 in Laganas
201 reviews
0.6 mi away
Avra Studios
Avra Studios
#46 of 109 in Zakynthos
121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Evan's Studios
Evan's Studios
#4 of 8 in Alykes
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria Apartments

Address: | Katastari, Alykes 29090, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Number of rooms: 139
Also Known As:
Maria Apartments Hotel Alykes
Maria Apartments Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing