We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zante Village All inclusive”
Review of Zante Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zante Village
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Well, the overall stay was ok. We were there for 2 weeks all inclusive and was surprised to find that although 4 star hotel, you were not allowed to take towels from your room to the swimming pool area, you couldnt hire any either, you had to go 'buy them'. There is a shop attached to the hotel where there is a very grumpy man who doesnt speak English - we had to buy the towels from there as after trekking all the way up and down the shops in the town, he was the cheapest - and boy didnt he make us feel small - in his Greek language but you got the gist! The rooms are ok. The shower water takes forever to go down the bath in the morning or evening and sometimes the water was not hot. The food was ok, as we were there for 2 weeks we had the same food twice, they have the same every week! Also the evening entertainment was lacking. There were no kettles in the room either, so if you wanted a cup of tea or coffee you had to wait until 8 am when breakfast started and you couldnt get any hot water anywhere after midnight. If you were all inclusive you had to wear a yellow band round your wrist at all times and you were only allowed drinks from the bottom shelf - in plastic cups!!! The staff however were great especially Iglika who ran the pool bar and the girls on reception and also the girls who clean the rooms. Sheets and towels changed twice a week. Also the mattresses are SOOOOO hard, we did managed to get softer pillows after the first night but no joy with the mattress. There were 4 internet computers to use which you had to pay for but two were out of order and the other two were soooooo slow that the money just ticked away and you didnt actually get to where you wanted to go in time.

I would have to say that I would not go back to this hotel, I would rent an apartment and go self catering - the food isnt THAT expensive. Saying that, met some nice people there, the pool was ok and the area was ok.

Room Tip: I would try and get a top floor room as plumbing noise very loud from attached rooms and you can hea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueH7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 271 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2012

Same food all week pork pork pork and rice under cooked and I believe the food was just re cooked and not aimed at the British. We were staying AI and after two days we ripped our bands off and just went out because the drink was watered down and as for the food I feed my dog better so if you stay at this hotel make sure your self catering!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sbkb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent 1 week at the Zante village all inclusive 23/9 to 30/9 when we arrived we were given a large twin room but asked to be put into a double said they didn't have any at first but they managed to find us one and had to wait for the room to be prepared which we didnt mind doing,room was adequate size for my hubby and myself. The holiday in its self is what we wanted a peaceful week of doing nothing every where is clean pool is freezing but once your in its not too bad, staff were friendly, entertainment wasn't great but we weren't to bothered as we went for walks in the evening, food was ok but not great, always found something to eat at breakfast and lunch but evening meals didn't always appeal to us so we ate out on several evenings especially as there are quite a few pasta dishes and my hubby doesn't eat pasta or rice and got fed up with chips, and considering we didn't pay a lot for the holiday it didn't break the bank to eat out as the meals in the village were cheap we would recommend memories restaurant very nice food and very friendly staff, I think more than a week there would be too much as there is not a lot to do but suited us down to the ground

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bridget G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

we stayed at zante villiage hotel for a week 18th september /25th of september after reading reveiews for the last few months we were worried but the zante villiage is so clean maids were fantastic couldnt fault the rooms pool area so big and clean reception very freindly and helpful everyone was so nice entertainment not great but still ok greek night was a bit of fun food was not too bad always found something to eat quiet enjoyable on most occasions staff worked really hard restaraunt well looked after very nice cant fault the hotel its lovely if your looking for five star then pay out to go to a five star we found it value for what we paid its a relaxing holiday but you do need transport if you want to go further affeild we hired out quads excerlent 15 euro a day petrol goes a long way also the minibus to the beach brilliant good luck enjoy your holiday its what you make of it sandy b

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sandy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

we have jsut returned from this hotel on Monday 24th September 2012all inclusive where we spent 1 week 4 of us myself, husband daughter 22 and son 17 we have no completes to the room as it was well spaceous for us and very clean with a pool view sufficient sun beds large pool which was very cold even though it was very warm for time of year meals always had something to eat as my daughter is a very fussy eater and she ate well pool bar staff very efficient and friendly especially Spiros and Igleika entertainment not great but meeting poeple and talking make your own time pass would recomend this hotel and would certainly return 1 thing i would say would be for them to inform you what dishes are in the restaurant at meal times

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annmarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Lovely hotel, very clean and rooms a good size with bath and shower, balcony, we were on 3rd floor which was a pain as no lifts. It is all inclusive or half board, we went half board which was more than enough. If i was there for longer than a week i would be sick of the food, mainly Greek which is fine but repetative. Entertainment was rubbish as a Greek night on one night then bingo or a quiz every other night and you didn't win anything . Massive clean pool with pool bar (a bit pricey). Receptionist very helpful. Not too many Brits there and did have our towels taken off our loungers by some other nationalities. Free shuttle bus to the beach and then 3 euros for loungers and a brolley, 7 euros at other parts of the beach. A short walk into town where it's fairly lively but this walk is a killer in the heat. Lovely horse and cart rides back to hotel for £10 euros. If i was younger and didn't want to just chill, i would have been disappointed as the hotel lacks atmosphere and that holiday vibe. All in all very happy but we won't be going back as would prefer to be nearer the beach and i think a large hotel like Zante village should have entertainment. Air-con was free but i don't think it made any difference

Room Tip: all the rooms have good views but ask for ground floor as we had to lump our cases up 3 floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Had a chance to read loads of reviews before we came so we arrived well informed, thank you all who took the time to write. Here is our take from the point of two adults and a toddler.

Looks great on approach compared to some the other places we dropped passengers off (would not do a shared coach again, so pricey, just get a taxi)

Receptions is big airy, ramped access available for pushchair or wheelchair...day to day you can access the main pool area via a side gate near car park.

Pleasant staff, checked in and were given a pretty informative guide sheet. Out back, nice big pool got a toddler area as well but its just empty for fountains, water toys etc. Pool has 3 main blocks around, us being block C we did the newcomer walk (around the pool with suitcases whilst everyone checks you out)

Got to room, straight into bathroom as I do, bit mouldy with bath tub and battered shower head, cobwebs in the window otherwise tolerable. Water takes a while to get warm sometimes in morning.
Room is adequate and adaptor is needed for the fridge but it's free if you are all inclusive, I found that the wall sockets did not work with some of our adapters. Hard to explain but If u stick your three pin into the adapter and you can see the third long pin then it probably wont work if your adapter has the third pin enclosed and can't be seen then they seem to work.
Also the power is controlled by the key fob so put key in slot and power comes on, stuff that takes a while to charge like cameras or iPads, you gotta do over night or leave key in, and climb over the balcony like I did a few times. Our black out/security screen was faulty and didn't lock and remember you have to close glass doors to activate the air con.

So to summarise the issues we had room wise was security screen / tv not working / air con remote dead batteries. Reported these and all but the security screen got fixed in a few hours which was good. Toilet flush broke too and got fixed quickly.

Right now I'm sat poolside with spare time on my hands writing this much because it's Tuesday, the hotel wifi went down on Saturday night and it's still not working...oh well will have to pop down to millennium bar, buy a milkshake and use their wifi.

Main concern had been food - downsides would be rubbery omelette at breakfast but everything changes up quite well, didn't mind the food on offer at all and a good selection on drinks. If you want snacking all you can make is a cheese and ham toastie between the set food times or get some ice cream, the usual flavours but no bowls just cones and no sauces available which some the other hotels do.
There is not much UK style toddlers friendly foods just chips....our lil one tried most things seemed to love the sliced sausages.

Caution: There are many cats about and apart from the usual rough handling equals a scratch or a slap, these cats have worms. Not taken anyone else's word for it I was giving one water, it jumped on lounger and a squirmy lil worm dropped from its butt onto the lounger, so beware with the kids. The black one has kittens and they are over the wall in the vineyard behind the social/bar area. She comes to find me every dinner time cause I fed her one time...people like me probably add to the worm situation. I actually dreamt I went round slipping them worming tablets last night; dream about rubbish when I get too much sleep! Dreamt I climbed the mountain in the distance too.

Area is very quiet, feels perfect as a 10 night kinda laze about, roughly a mile walk from the beach with a free bus from hotel at set times but you are only 20km from Zakinthos town and from Laganas, cost is about €28 one way to break free from Alykes if you want a change of scene.

Entertainment not that great for adults or toddlers
Table tennis, pool table, kiddies disco, bingo, quiz, greek dancing are about it.....oh the Greek dancing worth watching to the flaming finale! They could do more for the kids, feels so under staffed.

Would we come back? Hotel is alright not amazing, friendly enough characters but the area is pretty quiet so probably not.

Room Tip: Avoid Block C, smelly balcony at night, some kind of sewage smell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alykes
1.1 mi away
Ionian Star Hotel
Ionian Star Hotel
#2 of 13 in Alykes
142 reviews
1.2 mi away
Clear Horizon
Clear Horizon
#4 of 5 in Ammoudi
87 reviews
9.0 mi away
Captains Hotel
Captains Hotel
#10 of 26 in Argassi
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Xenos Kamara Beach
Xenos Kamara Beach
#3 of 26 in Argassi
290 reviews
10.7 mi away
Keri Village & Spa by Zante Plaza
4.2 mi away
Tui Sensimar Caravel Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zante Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zante Village

Address: Alykanas, Alykes 290 90, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Zakynthos > Alykes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Alykes
Price Range: $37 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zante Village 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zante Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zante Village Alykes, Zakynthos, Greece

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing