We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic pub, great food, very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bell Rock Tavern - CLOSED

Bell Rock Tavern
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Gill and Eddie Lange, both artists, took over the Bell Rock in February of this year 2013. They have re-connected this traditional pub to the Harbour through re-opening the original front entrance bringing in natural light and giving views to the harbour. The maritime feel continues on the menu with the Bell Rock's trade mark delicious dishes of fresh Scottish mussels and Haddock and Chips as well as lots of other choices. A home to regular Thursday evenings of lively Folk Music the Bell Rock also hosted a large Folk Music weekend last Easter and is about to launch it's first Real Ale and Music weekend 2 - 5 August in conjunction with CAMRA.Family friendly and we welcome well behaved dogs too!! Our Terrace has a great view to the harbour and over the mouth of the River Tay.We are a traditional Scottish community pub that aims to be professional yet supremely informal
1 review
“Fantastic pub, great food, very welcoming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I eat there often with my family the food is great. We love eating on the terrace looking over the river tay eating Mussels and drinking wine. Staff are very welcoming.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynnport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    21
    9
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What's happened to the Bell?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Since the current landlords have been in the pub we have enjoyed quite a few lovely meals. Great selection on the menu and the Sunday roast and mussels deserve a particular mention. However after 3 visits in the last 2 months I doubt we will be back. The standard of food is now very disappointing, the menu remains the same but the food is nowhere near the standard of previous visits. For us though the most disappointing thing is the change in the atmosphere - gone is the friendly warm welcome to be replaced with staff who look as though they are there under duress. Service now is lacklustre at best - very slow and not a smile in sight. I had hoped that my first bad experience was just a blip but 3 seems to hint of a pattern off things to come.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dizzy2963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had planned a small family Saturday eve out for meal a couple of weeks back, and trying to find somewhere different for our usual spots, my sister had come across the BellRock on line, so we decided to give it a try.
Its not to far a drive a over the Tay bridge for us to get there, so booked a table for 630/700, for 10 of us.
Knew where to find it, as its perfectly situated beside the harbour, and although it being the end of March, and last day of winter, am sure on a summers evening it will be lovely.
The main restaurant is upstairs above bar, and on entering found we were the only people there.
A large room, clean, quirky, with numerous tables, small bar, and could see through to kitchen where chef was working, from our table.
Greeted by young man (James) seated and took our drinks order while we looked at menu.
Menu was limited, but good selection of what I would class as "pub grub".
Starters were Soup, Haggis Balls or Pate. All under £5
Mains included, Fish, Mac & Cheese, Steak & Red Wine Pie, Scampi, Burgers, Brisket Chilli to name a few. Everything was under £10.
They also had Mussels, a half or whole kilo. £6 & £12
We ordered soup,haggis,& 3 of us had mussels, and then had fish,which was huge, scampi, chilli, steak&wine.
Everything was WONDERFUL, hot, fresh, perfectly cooked, no" frillys" as I like to call them, leaves and bits on plates, but good quality well cooked food.Large portions of the mussels !!
Hats off to the young chef in kitchen, who was by himself, each course all came out together.
Our waiter James, was very pleasant, and had told us it was his first night there, so was sorry if he seemed a bit nervous, but he did a great job .
Finished off with Home Made Apple Crumble, Choc Fudge Cake, Ice Creams, again simple and tasty.
We were I admit slightly apprehensive the fact that we were the only people there, but the quality of food and service soon dispelled our fears.
We also noticed a large bbq sitting in the far corner, and found that it was used outside on the large sun terrace area adjacent to the room in the warmer weather, allowing people stunning views of harbour area and across to Broughty Ferry.
The Bell Tavern is a "diamond in the rough" but definetly well worth a visit, we will be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anner282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
286 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Food standard has not been maintained, in our opinion.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Went again to The Bell to meet friends in early January but the meals were disappointing. When the new owners took over, the food was very good but our last two forays here have not been so good. The fish was greay and solid and the batter was floury, the chicken burger was tasteless with no sauce or anything on it. Chips are always nice - but frozen variety. The piles of salad and coleslaw do nothing for the meal and the vegetarian options were not very exciting. I know they can do much better. Maybe it was an off night - pity it was when we were there. Prices are good though and the barmaid did a sterling job serving the bar, taking orders and delivering the meals. Let's get back to the standards of opening week?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heather_suds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“For Whom The Bell Tolls”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Have been visiting this nicely-situated pub through several years and incarnations , some best forgotten. Very often visits have been marred not by poor food or service, but by disagreeable faces behind the bar and comments made by the owners about other customers just departed in full earshot of those of us remaining. The most recent change of ownership has resulted in a much improved bar lay-out and décor and an old door re-opened which has done much for the brightness and flow of custom in the bar. However, the bar staff were still not marked for their cheerfulness or welcoming smiles. But visiting this past weekend, when in passing I sighted friends in the bar, I found helpful and smiling staff, a new real ale specially brewed for the Tavern [ and very good it is too] and the best fish and chips I've tasted in a long time, all very reasonably priced. There was a nice buzz in the bar and lounge and I thought, has it finally come right? I do believe it has.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bell Rock Tavern also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing