We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel”
Review of Hotel Smari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Smari
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kopavogur
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

We arrived after midnight and checked in , room was clean although not full of mod cons, it does have a tv but no hair dryer but we were lent one from the desk Staff were friendly and breakfast was ok to start the day you do get eggs cooked different ways most days.
There is a shopping mall over the road, quite big for the amount of people using it where there are eating places, do not go to TGI Fridays it is bad and I mean bad, there is a chinese next door that is very good called Mings or Pizza Hut in the mall and I repeat do not go to TGI Fridays
Good hotel but a bit out of it if your a town person

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Smari
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 118 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

For Iceland standards this is very good! its not to far out from the city and a short walk to the bus stop and 1 direct bus is all it takes to reach Reykjavik. All the local excursions also pick you up from this hotel. The rooms are basic but good and very clean. Breakfast again is great everything you would need and some hot items. There are also a few places to eat next to the hotel including Chinese, Indian, Pizza etc & the tower restaurant is only a short walk away. If your looking to save £100's of pounds & have your own on-suite bathroom this is the place to stay. Will stay again if in the area. Brilliant thanks

Room Tip: all rooms very clean, also dont be worried as its not as far from the center as some reviews make ou...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pitchisshifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annajons86, Front Office Manager at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you so much for your review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and would consider us again if you manage to return to our beautiful country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Was the hotel outstanding as a place I would choose to get away from it all? No, but as far as a great place to hang up my coat and leave my bags and relax after sightseeing, yes. The hotel was off the freeway..so this could be a problem in the summer with the windows open...but the location is great. It is near a shopping mall with a grocery store...the room is nice...and the breakfast is adequate with eggs, oatmeal, yogurt, and waffles. Very accommodating and pleasant staff. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the freeway if during the summer....
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank twofidalgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annajons86, Front Office Manager at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and hope you will be able to return some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have just begun a trip around the world. I booked every hotel in every city based upon Trip Advisor Hotel Smari was my first stop of the journey. At first I was a bit concerned about the location as it is about 8 minutes by car from downtown, but my anxiety was quickly put to rest. The airport shuttle will take you straight to the hotel. The largest mall in Iceland is a 2 minute walk away. The rental car companies will deliver a car to the hotel at no charge. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very helpful and friendly. I came to Iceland to see the country so the small room, by North American standards, was not a problem. The breakfast buffet was excellent with meats, cheeses, pastries, juices, cereals, yogurts, and an endless supply of sunny side up eggs and waffles. Over 2 days I drove the rental car over 1000 km exploring the countryside. The trip north to Snæfellsjökull (Snæfell Glacier) National Park is breathtaking and you can even explore a Lava tube along the way. Next stop, Melbourne House Hotel in London, England.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TelegraphHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annajons86, Front Office Manager at Hotel Smari, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Thank you for your very generous words about our staff. We always try our best to make our guests feel comfortable and I am very happy that we succeeded in your case.
I must also add that you were such a delightful guest that it was impossible not to be cheerful around you. We wish you all the best on your trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

we have been in smari hotel 3 nights. the staff was friendly and generous. they helped us in everything we needed!
rooms are clean, big and has enough place to put everything. bathrooms are fine but the shower is a bit not comfortable but you can deal with it.
the hotel is located very far from reykjavik city center but luckily, you can buy from the reception a whole day tickets for the buses (for example- you have to take 2 buses in order to get to the bsi terminal). the breakfast was fine and the hotel is located near a big mall with a lot of restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liron_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We are a family of four who flew from Manchester to Reykjavik for a four night stay in this hotel. The staff makes this hotel! They are helpful, kind, and smiley. The hotel was very clean, the room was very neat, the breakfast was well made. The kitchen staff was very helpful, making us a packed breakfast when we had an early departure. We had a tiny problem that our refrigerator was not functioning at check in. They brought up a new one immediately. The bathroom is smallish, but was very clean and well done. No poor caulking job, nor any mildew. Our room faced the main road into Reykjavik. If you opened the tiny vent above the window you could hear the traffic quite clearly. When the vent is closed it was nearly silent. I am a light sleeper and I was not woken up by any traffic noise. We were there while the Sun was not setting until 11:30 pm and rising at 3:30am. The curtains were dark enough to allow our children to sleep. The Hotel is in the middle of some office buildings, some stores, some restaurants and a short walk to the biggest mall in Iceland. We had a car, so there was no problem using all of these amenities.

This hotel really fit our entire family's needs. Thanks Hotel Smari! Thanks Axel!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bakerquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I want to thank the staff at hotel smari for their kindness and their generosity. We were so impressed with the help you gave us when we arrived on showing us transport around the place and what tours to do. We had a problem on one of the days with a tour guide not turning up for me and my husband and the staff got straight onto the phone and found us a brilliant tour with the 4x4 superjeep offroad. Just want to thank you's all for our time there and for everything. we really appreciated it :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kopavogur
Kriunes Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kopavogur
292 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
536 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
528 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Smari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Smari

Address: Hlidasmari 13, Kopavogur 201, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Kopavogur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kopavogur
Price Range: $139 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Smari 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Smari is a three star hotel in the great capital area, Kopavogur, with well furnished rooms for business and leisure travellers who are looking for a comfortable stay in Iceland. We have 47 rooms with private bathrooms, TV, hot water kettle, coffee/tea, hairdryer and free WIFI. Free parking on site. Included is a continental breakfast served all mornings. The hotel is located in a business area with many shops and restaurants. The hotel staff is ready to assist guests with booking of excursions, rental cars and other travel arrangements. From Hotel Smari to Reykjavik center is 10 minutes by car and 20 minutes by bus. Our guests have free parking and easy access for buses. Our staff can arrange pick-up and drop-off from Keflavik International Airport and Reykjavik Bus Terminal on request. The hotel is located in a business area only 300 meters from Smaralind, the largest shopping mall in Iceland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Smari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Smari Iceland/Kopavogur - Reykjavik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing